We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay after the floods.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of StoneRidge Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added StoneRidge Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Lincoln Park, Canmore, Alberta T1W3E9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 7, Save 25%!
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay after the floods.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here in a two bedroomed suite for three nights in July 2013. The hotel was recovering from major problems caused by the recent flooding. Our suite was a good size with two ensuite bedrooms, the second bedroom ensuite also had a door out to the lounge/kitchen area. We found the apartment to be very well appointed and had everything we required, it was serviced daily and beds made and towels etc. replaced. The pool area was not 100% ready for use, although guests were using it. As an alternative we were offered free vouchers to the nearby leisure centre or if we did not want them they offered a reduction in our room rate. The position was little further out of town than we expected and was a drive rather than a walk. However we would recommend
this accommodation, we had pool views but some rooms had lovely mountain views.

Room Tip: Roadside if you want a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear MikeBrawn,

We always appreciate guest feedback, but even more so from Senior Contributors to TripAdvisor! Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel for your recent trip to the Rockies. The recent floods in Alberta were a big blow to a lot of areas, some of which have yet to recover and are still under water and debris. We were very fortunate to have such a strong, hardworking team and, despite the set back, have been able to reopen in record time! The pool and hot tub are open again and available for guests to enjoy.

We know that the UK is quite far away, but we also know that you are usually avid skiers. We hope you may return soon, perhaps for a ski trip. We have amazing skiing here in the Rockies at world class ski resorts. Couple that with the warm fireplace of our cozy guestrooms and I'm sure an excellent and memorable time would be had by all!

Thank you again for choosing the Stoneridge Mountain Resort!

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    147
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
243
244
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Stoneridge in July 2013 after thoroughly enjoying a winter holiday at this location early this year. The Stoneridge is very family friendly, the pool is wonderful and the staff are always very accomodating. We booked last minute and as this resort was originally full, stayed the Falcon Crest next door. Although it was also a great location, the kids (8,7 and 6) wanted to stay back at the Stoneridge for the pool. The staff at the Falcon Crest and Stoneridge worked together to get us a room for our last day/night in Canmore. The only drawback was that our room at Stoneridge was very noisy (201), but it was explained to us that we were given the room as it was a last minute request. As it was for only one night, it was understandable, but I wouldn't want to be given this room if I had a choice. The patio is right on the guest parking/check in lot, and cars are left idling while guests check in. The bedroom window opens up onto the neighbor's balcony. Could be awkward if blinds aren't closed! The room itself is huge though, lots of room to spread out. Our air conditioning didn't work, the front desk staff came and looked at it, as did a maintainence individual, no one was able to fix it, which meant a bit of a warm evening - and made it necessary to open the bedroom window (room may have been quieter with it closed). I am sure that if I had commented on it, something would have been done, but we checked out the following morning.
I know that the Stoneridge prides itself on customer service, and I certainly appreciate their efforts. We visit Canmore often, and we will stay at the Stoneridge again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear TBeck,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such detailed feedback and also for choosing to stay with us again at the Stoneridge Mountain Resort. I'm sorry you experienced some issues with the room we assigned.

As I recall, the hotel was full that night and perhaps we didn't have an alternate room available. We certainly do not want you to be dissatisfied with your stay and while you didn't make a comment to us that evening, I still Believe we should have been able to do something for you. If this ever happens again in a future stay, please let us know right away as your complete satisfaction is paramount to us.

It seems you enjoyed yourselves nonetheless and I am very happy to hear you will be back. Thank you again for your very valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a 1-bedroom unit for 4 nights and loved it. It was close to town and to the highway into Banff. The suite was immaculate with a full kitchen, a BBQ on the balcony and washer/dryer.

We would definitely recommend this resort and will be staying here again as a base to the Canadian Rockies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear bella290,

From such a world traveler as yourself this is high praise indeed! I'm very jealous of your trips to Greece. It sounds like you had a wonderful time there. I am equally as happy that you chose to explore Canada's backyard and made the Stoneridge Mountain Resort a part of your Canadian Rockies Adventure.

We hope this won't be the last trip either! There is so much to see and do in Canmore and the National Parks. A lot of folks are thinking that the recent flooding made this area a no go zone for the summer, but I think you will agree that is completely the opposite! Everything is in pristine condition, the weather has been fabulous as of late. Lovely and cool in the mornings and warm during the day. The hotel's pool is very busy these days to say the least!

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again some day soon. Perhaps a ski trip?

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itasca, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I wanted to share this thank you letter I wrote to the General Manager of the StoneRidge resort. Let me preface this by saying, that my family and I were staying at the StoneRidge in Canmore when the terrible floods happened in June of 2013.

John,

My wife, children and I stayed at the StoneRidge Resort June 14 until the flood hit on the 20th. Just to give you a little background. We left that Thursday morning of the 20th on a Brewster expedition to Banff to go to the ice fields. We were detained in Banff because of the flood, and could not make it back to Canmore until Saturday.

I'm writing you to let you know how impressed and gracious we are with all of your staff(especially Stephanie). While we were unaccounted for in Banff, Stephanie tracked us down, made sure that my family and I were safe, and that were were updated with the situation at all times. Your staff made sure that when we were able to get back to Canmore. We were helped with getting all of our luggage, and relocated to your sister property. Your staff went out of their way to make sure we were all safe, and taken care of. We really appreciate that.

We had a great time staying at StoneRidge, and loved the property. Even though our vacation was interrupted by the floods, we felt safe and secure knowing that your staff was looking out for us the whole time.

I just wanted to let you know how much we valued that effort, and that we appreciated everything that your staff did for us. Stephanie went way above the call of duty to look out for our safety and comfort through the whole ordeal.

We really appreciate it.

Thank you very much.

Take care,

Don

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Don A,

I can't tell you how much this very personal and heartfelt letter has meant to the entire team here at the Stoneridge Mountain Resort!

It is always wonderful when one of our own do something so memorable that the guest remembers their name and recognizes them for such great service in a public forum such as Trip Advisor. Stephanie is a very essential part of our Front Desk team and is mentioned regularly by guests like yourselves. She really leads the way in guest service for our team and is particularly good at anticipatory service. She seems to know what you need and has it done for you before you even knew you needed it!

We will be sure to pass on your comments to her and the team. Illinois is a ways away, but we really do hope you make it back for a repeat visit sooner than later!

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic apartment with excellent facilities. We came with our 2 teenage boys and the 2 bedroom was perfect for us. We had a beautiful view (which we did pay extra for). To have the view though you will be on the main road - busy and noisy with the rail line opposite too. It didn't bother us as we live on a main road so used to traffic noise, but might if you are looking for peace and tranquillity! Great balcony with BBQ - we loved it all. Unfortunately the pool was out of use due to the recent floods, but we did have the option of a 10% discount or free passes to the local leisure centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Gail M,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We were especially happy to be able to host you and so many other guests so soon after the recent Canmore flood and the entire team wanted to thank you for coming to stay!

We have truly been impressed with the response we have received from all our guests given the unenviable position we found ourselves in. The team here appreciate the understanding you have shown and it also was a bit fortuitous in the sense that it allowed us to show off Canmore's newest landmark, Elevation Place. We hope you enjoyed the water slide and the lazy river!

Thank you again for coming out to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Stone ridge twice and would definitely stay again. We stayed in a three bedroom unit and had a great time. Then units were well stocked, very clean and roomy and our unit looked right at the Three Sisters. The staff is always helpful and friendly. What a lovely mountain experience.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great, either looking at the Three Sisters or over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear dlb54321,

Thank you for sharing your guest experience and for choosing the Stoneridge Mountain Resort. The three bedroom guestrooms are the largest and most spacious we offer and feel just as comfortable as home. A lot of our staff read comments on TripAdvisor daily so you can be assured your comments regarding our helpful and friendly service have already reached a wide audience in the hotel!

Edmonton is not too far away so we hope we can welcome you back again some day soon!

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staff is friendly and helpful. Resort is well located and close to Hwy 1 for Banff. Unit is clean and well furnished with 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and laundry facility. It is nicely decorated and well suits a group of six adults. Just as comfy as home. We all appreciated our stay in Stoneridge. The resort gave us a free upgrade to mountain view. The view is good but the train track across the road might be noisy at night when the train passes by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Halima C,

Thank you for joining TripAdvisor and sharing your guest experience with other visitors to our TripAdvisor page. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities so much. Indeed the railway can sometimes seem noisy, but it has been a part of daily life in the Bow Valley for over a hundred years, and I think like most here, I barely even know it is there I have become so used to it!

It can be fun too, just to know that Canmore found its beginnings with the discovery of rich coal seams that fed the coal fires of the early steam engines. Canmore for so many long years was known as a mining town, that is until 1979 when Canmore Mines Ltd. closed its doors. Now a popular tourist destination that rivals even Banff, the trains still pass through Canmore, and although they all run on diesel these days, they serve as a reminder of our rich and proud past. I wonder if the Stoneridge Mountain Resort would even be here if it weren't for the railway...it is interesting to entertain those thoughts from time to time.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you return with your family for another visit to the majestic Canadian Rockies!

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to StoneRidge Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneRidge Mountain Resort

Address: 30 Lincoln Park, Canmore, Alberta T1W3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#2 Family Hotel in Canmore
#3 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — StoneRidge Mountain Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite luxury condominium resort hotel nestled in the Canadian Rockies. 5-minute drive to Banff National Park. All suites incl. Full gourmet kitchen, fireplace, 42" & 32" HDTV’s, Ipod stereo, electronic safe, in Suite laundry & gas BBQ. Outdoor Heated pool, Hot Tub and Fitness Center. Available Wi-Fi and heated underground parking. Meeting, Banquet and Reception rooms available. Ridge Cafe (licenced)open daily serving up light meals, baked goods and specialty coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your StoneRidge Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneridge Mountain Hotel Canmore
StoneRidge Mountain Resort Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage StoneRidge Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.