We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you letter to the General Manager” 5 of 5 stars
Review of StoneRidge Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added StoneRidge Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Lincoln Park, Canmore, Alberta T1W3E9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3RD NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Itasca, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thank you letter to the General Manager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I wanted to share this thank you letter I wrote to the General Manager of the StoneRidge resort. Let me preface this by saying, that my family and I were staying at the StoneRidge in Canmore when the terrible floods happened in June of 2013.

John,

My wife, children and I stayed at the StoneRidge Resort June 14 until the flood hit on the 20th. Just to give you a little background. We left that Thursday morning of the 20th on a Brewster expedition to Banff to go to the ice fields. We were detained in Banff because of the flood, and could not make it back to Canmore until Saturday.

I'm writing you to let you know how impressed and gracious we are with all of your staff(especially Stephanie). While we were unaccounted for in Banff, Stephanie tracked us down, made sure that my family and I were safe, and that were were updated with the situation at all times. Your staff made sure that when we were able to get back to Canmore. We were helped with getting all of our luggage, and relocated to your sister property. Your staff went out of their way to make sure we were all safe, and taken care of. We really appreciate that.

We had a great time staying at StoneRidge, and loved the property. Even though our vacation was interrupted by the floods, we felt safe and secure knowing that your staff was looking out for us the whole time.

I just wanted to let you know how much we valued that effort, and that we appreciated everything that your staff did for us. Stephanie went way above the call of duty to look out for our safety and comfort through the whole ordeal.

We really appreciate it.

Thank you very much.

Take care,

Don

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Don A,

I can't tell you how much this very personal and heartfelt letter has meant to the entire team here at the Stoneridge Mountain Resort!

It is always wonderful when one of our own do something so memorable that the guest remembers their name and recognizes them for such great service in a public forum such as Trip Advisor. Stephanie is a very essential part of our Front Desk team and is mentioned regularly by guests like yourselves. She really leads the way in guest service for our team and is particularly good at anticipatory service. She seems to know what you need and has it done for you before you even knew you needed it!

We will be sure to pass on your comments to her and the team. Illinois is a ways away, but we really do hope you make it back for a repeat visit sooner than later!

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    119
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
205
213
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic apartment with excellent facilities. We came with our 2 teenage boys and the 2 bedroom was perfect for us. We had a beautiful view (which we did pay extra for). To have the view though you will be on the main road - busy and noisy with the rail line opposite too. It didn't bother us as we live on a main road so used to traffic noise, but might if you are looking for peace and tranquillity! Great balcony with BBQ - we loved it all. Unfortunately the pool was out of use due to the recent floods, but we did have the option of a 10% discount or free passes to the local leisure centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Gail M,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We were especially happy to be able to host you and so many other guests so soon after the recent Canmore flood and the entire team wanted to thank you for coming to stay!

We have truly been impressed with the response we have received from all our guests given the unenviable position we found ourselves in. The team here appreciate the understanding you have shown and it also was a bit fortuitous in the sense that it allowed us to show off Canmore's newest landmark, Elevation Place. We hope you enjoyed the water slide and the lazy river!

Thank you again for coming out to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Stone ridge twice and would definitely stay again. We stayed in a three bedroom unit and had a great time. Then units were well stocked, very clean and roomy and our unit looked right at the Three Sisters. The staff is always helpful and friendly. What a lovely mountain experience.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great, either looking at the Three Sisters or over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear dlb54321,

Thank you for sharing your guest experience and for choosing the Stoneridge Mountain Resort. The three bedroom guestrooms are the largest and most spacious we offer and feel just as comfortable as home. A lot of our staff read comments on TripAdvisor daily so you can be assured your comments regarding our helpful and friendly service have already reached a wide audience in the hotel!

Edmonton is not too far away so we hope we can welcome you back again some day soon!

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staff is friendly and helpful. Resort is well located and close to Hwy 1 for Banff. Unit is clean and well furnished with 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and laundry facility. It is nicely decorated and well suits a group of six adults. Just as comfy as home. We all appreciated our stay in Stoneridge. The resort gave us a free upgrade to mountain view. The view is good but the train track across the road might be noisy at night when the train passes by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Halima C,

Thank you for joining TripAdvisor and sharing your guest experience with other visitors to our TripAdvisor page. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities so much. Indeed the railway can sometimes seem noisy, but it has been a part of daily life in the Bow Valley for over a hundred years, and I think like most here, I barely even know it is there I have become so used to it!

It can be fun too, just to know that Canmore found its beginnings with the discovery of rich coal seams that fed the coal fires of the early steam engines. Canmore for so many long years was known as a mining town, that is until 1979 when Canmore Mines Ltd. closed its doors. Now a popular tourist destination that rivals even Banff, the trains still pass through Canmore, and although they all run on diesel these days, they serve as a reminder of our rich and proud past. I wonder if the Stoneridge Mountain Resort would even be here if it weren't for the railway...it is interesting to entertain those thoughts from time to time.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you return with your family for another visit to the majestic Canadian Rockies!

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom den room the week of June 10. The property is beautiful and the finishes are great. This is a great place to stay except for sleeping!!! The king size bed had no box springs just a thin mattress on a slab. It was the worst mattress we have ever slept on! The den had a pull out sofa with another 3 inch mattress that left coil marks on your back. I am shocked that the builders spent a great deal of money on upgrades yet totally neglected the beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Happybirthday,

Thank you for coming all the way from Chicago to stay at the Stoneridge Mountain Resort. I was very disappointed to hear about your restless sleep as we have gone to great lengths here at the hotel to ensure a restful sleep for all our guests.

It is true that our beds do not have a box spring, but that is because rather than the traditional three or four laths that usually cross the frame, we have a solid wood top. This mitigates the need for a box spring altogether and provides much better support.

I was concerned with your feedback so much that I personally went and measured the plush king bed mattress to find that it is 12 inches in depth. My mattress at home is only nine inches and of a standard size so I am confused by your comment stating it is thin. The hotel also replaced all the mattresses in every sofa bed with custom made mattresses in the last 6 months that are 6 inches in depth. Having said that, depth does not equal comfort and as professional hoteliers we know that each person is unique in their expectations.

Our award winning housekeeping team has a number of methods that they can employ to improve sleep quality so if by chance you are returning, or if during a future stay you encounter the same frustrations, we encourage you to call us at the Front Desk to inform us of your discomfort. Your satisfaction means everything to us.

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston,PA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom family suite and it was just perfect. We faced the road and had a gorgeous view of the mountains. The hotel was immaculate and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfy and the hotel was very quiet. The full kitchen and grill were a plus so that we could have a few meals in the room.
This was our first trip to Canada and hopefully won't be our last. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear littleworl,

Aston is a very long ways away, but we are very happy you made the trip to Canada and more so that you chose to stay at the Stoneridge Mountain Resort! We can see that your stay was so good that you went as far as joining TripAdvisor to share your experience! Thank you!

Your description of your stay experience with your family was very flattering and certainly highlighted all that is wonderful and unique about our property. Having that extra freedom to cook on the BBQ on the balcony of your suite almost makes you feel like your a Canadian living the mountain life, eh? We know you will be back again, if not to relive this unique Rockies experience, then to escape the heat of the south. Until then!

Sincerely,

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We were given a chance to stay at a two bedroom condo style accommodation.. the room was just gorgeous.. we also had the view of the mountains.. I would recommend this hotel to all the people I know!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoneridgeresort, General Manager at StoneRidge Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Tracy T,

Thank you for staying at the Stoneridge Mountain Resort and for taking the time to write a review for visitor's to our page on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to know that you were so impressed with your stay. Remember on a return visit to ask for our loyal guest rate and thank you for sharing your experience with your friends. We look forward to welcoming them too!

Sincerely

John Brownlee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to StoneRidge Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneRidge Mountain Resort

Also Known As:
Stoneridge Mountain Hotel
Stoneridge Mountain Hotel Canmore
StoneRidge Mountain Resort Canmore, Alberta
Address: 30 Lincoln Park, Canmore, Alberta T1W3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#2 Family Hotel in Canmore
#3 Business Hotel in Canmore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — StoneRidge Mountain Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite luxury condominium resort hotel nestled in the Canadian Rockies. 5-minute drive to Banff National Park. All suites incl. Full gourmet kitchen, fireplace, 42" & 32" HDTV’s, Ipod stereo, electronic safe, in Suite laundry & gas BBQ. Outdoor Heated pool, Hot Tub and Fitness Center. Available Wi-Fi and heated underground parking. Meeting, Banquet and Reception rooms available. Ridge Cafe (licenced)open daily serving up light meals, baked goods and specialty coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your StoneRidge Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage StoneRidge Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.