We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Patate

La Belle Patate
Bay #4, 102 Boulder Crescent, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L2, Canada
+1 403-678-0077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Great selection of Poutines made with fresh squeaky cheese curds, double cooked fries and a delicious vegetable based gravy. Old fashioned Montreal smoked meat sandwich served on rye with a side of kosher pickle :) Aged Alberta beef subs. Moist, Steamed dogs, dressed to perfection :) Authentic Colt Spruce Beer Come and get a taste of home :D
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Very good but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

ate here again today at around 1pm and then ate again about 930 pm - this was the first time I was hungry after a meat lovers medium that I really couldn't finish so can't really fault the quantity and it did taste really good but not convinced its the number 2 place in Canmore. The meats were tasty but would prefer a bit less gravy drowning the fries.

Great for quick and friendly and good hearty food but hardly healthy :-)

Rob

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    51
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant In Canmore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hands down best food around. They have a huge list of different kinds of authentic poutines. I had got the Supreme this last time around, sautéed mushrooms,onions,bacons, fries, gravy and cheese curds. My wife got the classic and it was still amazing. Little tricky to find but if you know your way around Canmore or have a GPS you will have no problem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Oh The Beautiful Potato !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our son discovered this gem when he travelled through on his way to a hockey tourney in Banff the winter.This summer when camping in Kananaskis he insisted we go have lunch there .Wow am I ever glad we did .We were a group of 6 people and we had, regular poutine , bacon ,mushroom and onion poutine and the Montreal smoked meat sandwich .All of the dishes were incredible !! I think the sandwich was the best smoked meat sandwich I have ever had . I loved that the cheese curd in the poutine was so fresh and authentic .When I was younger I lived in Quebec for a while and remember " Squeeky Cheese Curd " just like this . Service was awesome as well.We will definitely make this a regular stop when we are in Canmore or passing through.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great casual place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had dinner here while staying in Canmore after reading the reviews. It's not in the town center but about five minutes away in a random location. It's a very casual place where you order at the counter. There are about 6-7 tables and some counter seats which is why they do quite a bit of takeout business. We ate in.

Service was extremely friendly and the food is made to order. We tried the traditional poutine and I had a cheeseburger while my husband had the smoked meat sandwich. The poutine was delicious and I wish we had ordered the medium! My cheeseburger was quite tasty and I ordered it with everything on it minus the cole slaw...it had a lot going on but I enjoyed it. The smoked meat sandwich was overflowing; make sure you are hungry!

If you want a place where the locals go, this is it. We were really glad we checked it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Came for the Poutine and the Geocache!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a great little spot! Friendly staff and interesting Québecois décor (Go Habs! LOL) ... this place was absolutely hopping over the lunch rush! We had the massive Montreal smoked meat sandwiches and poutine - YUM! - and logged the nearby geocache too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Patate also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to La Belle Patate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Patate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.