We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poutine poutine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Patate

La Belle Patate
Bay #4, 102 Boulder Crescent, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L2, Canada
+1 403-678-0077
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking
Description: Great selection of Poutines made with fresh squeaky cheese curds, double cooked fries and a delicious vegetable based gravy. Old fashioned Montreal smoked meat sandwich served on rye with a side of kosher pickle :) Aged Alberta beef subs. Moist, Steamed dogs, dressed to perfection :) Authentic Colt Spruce Beer Come and get a taste of home :D
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Poutine poutine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friend says this is the REAL deal, just like Montreal poutine! AND already wants to go back for more!
The burger was great as were the veggie poutine and the chicken/peas poutine.
I am not a big poutine fan BUT i did enjoy this/ converted.
Busy place...friendly service, owner was helping clearing tables and taking orders to tables & take out orders were steady.
Located in the industrial area of Canmore. Look for it! Worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    61
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing food, owners and staff make you feel like family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Always a pleasure. Brought my fiancé for her first time, she was hesitant about adding anything to poutine, however she is firmly a believer!
It's nice coming in and being remembered as the guy who always wears canucks gear!
Thanks guys, stand out bunch!
'Ian' 'meat lovers' and 'Smoked meat' are my favorites!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best poutine and burgers in Alberta.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Squeaky cheese curds, juicy home made patties, coming back to try a smoked meat sandwich. Merci Uncle Tom

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great authentic poutine experience in Canmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stumbled upon La Belle Patate while searching for a quick lunch while in Canmore. It was everything we expected. The traditional poutine was excellent. You can select your portion size for the poutine, which is nice, as my wife and I shared one. The Montreal smoked meat sandwich was very good and filling.

It seems to be a very popular place on a weekend at lunch, so be prepared to wait for a place to sit, and also for your food.

We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Finally found the poutine I was searching for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Living in California, it's hard to get good poutine. So on my trip to the Canadian rockies, I ordered it 4 times in a week. The first three were disappointing - shredded cheddar cheese instead of curds even! This was my last attempt on the way back to Calgary.

Located in a bit of an industrial area, you wouldn't expect a restaurant, but it was no problem finding it. The owner was extremely friendly and the poutine was great - exactly like you'd find in montreal. My wife even tried a spruce beer - fun stuff. Totally worth a stop off the highway!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Patate also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to La Belle Patate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Patate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.