We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Rockies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Rockies Resort to your Saves list
Grande Rockies Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was ok. Our room was quite dusty. The bathroom design was not great, a little crowded in places and while the steam showers are nice, they are not exactly the simplest things to figure out. We had no instructions on how to use it in our room. The restaurant was not good, overcooked eggs, stale muffins, fruit was not fresh. It was not busy and easy to understand why. I have stayed in other similar resorts in Canmore that are much nicer and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    12
    15
    14
See reviews for
33
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leduc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Resort was great everything was clean and well taken care of. The girl that checked us in was awesome, she was very knowledgeable and helped us out with all of our questions. Habitat was great, the food was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Dolsonberg,
Thank you for sending your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to enjoy our amazing restaurant which is a five time winner of the trip advisor certificate of excellence. Our Guest Services Agent make every effort to ensure they provide you with all the information you need to have an exceptional resort experience. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again for your next trip to the rockies.

Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Second time staying at this resort. Thought we would give it a second chance and that was our second mistake. Service is brutal! Right from check in the staff seemed rude. I think they must be trained to be like that. Rooms were not very clean and there was some maintenance issues with the toom we stayed in. We checked 8n on Friday and there were two dirty glasses in the hallway outside our room. When we checked out Sunday they were still there. The pool was full of sand and can tell it dadnt been cleaned in some time. I don't recommend staying here. I can't belive Bellstar added this place to its chain and yes they will be the next ones to here about this dump.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Dave P,
Thanks for sending your feedback. Our pool is cleaned on a daily basis in the morning and evening to ensure it remains in fantastic condition, unfortunately a seal on our filter did wear out and has since been fixed by our maintenance team. Our front desk staff aim to provide exceptional customer service, so I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I'd love the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please feel free to contact me directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca.

Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff is rude and place us dirty. There is no way this place is worth $300 plus a night. Unit we were in had no cold water in the shower so could not be used. I can't believe Bellstar added this dump to its list of hotel resorts.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Maddog663,
Thanks for sending your feedback. Our staff strive to provide a high level of customer service. I will have our maintenance team look into the water temperature issue as we haven't to date had a report of any issues with our hot or cold water. If you'd like to discuss your concern further, please feel free to contact me directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca.

Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed over the May long weekend for this trip. We had stayed before and our kids loved the pool area. It's a decent resort and they had availability. I was very disappointed in their basic cleanliness and attention to detail. The entire time during our stay, there were soiled bed linens in the hall. About 50 large bags worth of them just piled in the hall next to bags of garbage. In addition, one of our neighbors had left their room service out and it was never taken away over the 3 day stay.

The pool was still pretty good but for some reason, they had no clean towels for the guests. We had to walk back to our room soaking wet.

I also had a problem with the bluray player. Well, the problem wasn't the player, it was that there is only 1 HDMI Cable. There are several cables behind the mounted tv so you have to play AV specialist and move the cable from the pvr to the bluray. I called about it and they never brought an additional HDMI cable. When I checked out, I mentioned it again and they said that yes, the rooms only have 1 HDMI cable and if you have a suite with 2 tvs (living room and bedroom), you have to move the HDMI cable from room to room. That is just plain stupid. Why purchase tvs, pvrs, bluray players, mount them and then cheap out on an extra HDMI cable?

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Evie82,

Thank you for sending us your feedback on your stay. In regards to linen being in the hallway, we do have it collected daily by our laundry provider who needs access to it from the main floor level, it is kept in bins and linen bags for their pickup. Our Food & Beverage team does multiple sweeps of the hallway to collect room service trays left outside guest rooms, so I will certainly pass your feedback on to them for follow up. I apologize that there were no pool towels available for you while you were enjoying the pool. Our housemen make every attempt to ensure that fresh pool towels are constantly kept in the pool area, but I will certainly look into the issue. Please feel free to contact me to discuss your concerns further at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca. Thank you again for sending your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at Grande Rockies in Canmore 2 or 3 times a year over the past 5 or 6 years and this has always been our first choice in Canmore. The location is great, the restaurant is superb and the rooms have been comfortable and well appointed.

Over the past few years, however, the standards and maintenance has started to slip and it has now fallen into disrepair enough that it's time to find somewhere else to stay. On this visit (Victoria Day Weekend) we find burned out lights, temperature control in shower doesn't work, no towels or housecoats when we checked in etc. On earlier visits we'd find small things out of order (e.g. Hairdryers, coffee pots etc.) but today we were told that, for the first time ever, there is a charge to have the room cleaned! This is new and, at $250 a night for the room, an outrageous money grab!

Going to try Stone Ridge next time.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ian L,
Thanks for providing your feedback. We do provide daily housekeeping service to replenish your towels, resupply your amenities and empty your garbage containers. Bellstar strongly supports being an active participant in protecting our environment as such we only do a full cleaning including bed linens every fourth day. In the event you'd like this service completed prior to the 4th day there is an additional charge added. I apologize for any confusion around this policy. I'd welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, if you'd like to reach me, please feel free to contact me directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca.

Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It all started with at check in having the manager continually answering the phone, interrupting me and making me wait while she is checking me in. We then get checked in and up to our room....what can i say. It looks like it has hosted some frat parties recently. I would accept the room if i was in a 30 year old hotel, but at $300 per night, this is unacceptable. Good news is though, we were told we could have a new room.... you try moving 2 small kids, their playpen etc. and all their belongings without help from the staff...
so instead we get $15/night credit...wow.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear ASMWalter,
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. During your stay after hearing of the challenges you had with your room, I did reach out to arrange a time for our staff to come address your issues and as you mentioned the items that needed addressing were completed for you the day of arrival. I apologize for any further issues you may have experienced during your stay and encourage you to contact me directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca to discuss them further.

Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grande Rockies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Rockies Resort

Address: 901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#8 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Rockies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grande Rockies Resort – a unique resort hotel in Canmore, Alberta. Set amidst the majestic mountains of Banff National Park, the resort offers the incredible standards and service of a luxury boutique hotel and the personal comforts of a grand vacation home.The Grande Rockies Resort in Canmore features more than 136 boutique, one and two bedroom luxury hotel suites and penthouses, most complete with fully-featured kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, spa-inspired bathrooms and designer décor & amenities. At your service night and day is a full team of hotel & restaurant professionals capable of handling any request.Superbly situated in the foothills of the Rockies right in the alpine village of Canmore, Grande Rockies Resort is ideal for golf, ski and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Or, simply hang out by the indoor pool with waterslide, kids pool and hot tub or get active in the fabulous fitness centre.Corporations will appreciate Grande Rockies Resort's well-appointed meeting and conference facilities, serviced by our team of conference specialists and culinary experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grande Rockies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Rockies Hotel Canmore
Grande Rockies Resort Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Rockies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.