We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had lots of potential!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Rockies Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Rockies Resort to your Saves list
Grande Rockies Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LIMITED TIME: FREE MEAL
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had lots of potential!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to this hotel on Good Friday of the Easter weekend. We had booked a one bedroom with kitchenette. Unfortunately they were over sold. Staff was very helpful and did their best to accommodate and apologize for the mix up. Elyse was fantastic and did what ever she could to help us out.So we ended up getting a one bedroom executive suite in the boutique portion of the hotel! The boutique room was actually quite large and was nice and clean.

The biggest disappointment was that it was quite a beautiful hotel and recently updated but not maintained very well. Our shower did not drain properly so we had to cut showers short before it over flowed. Light bulbs were burnt out. There were no extra sheets in the bedroom for the pull out bed. No coffee in the room for the keurig. So details were over looked.

The pool area was not well maintained. The deck was dirty with hair and dirt. The pool itself had dirt in it. The outdoor portion of the hot tub was also dirty with an empty bottle of wine in the corner. There was a water cooler in the corner, but no water! At one point in the afternoon the kids pool was too cold for my son to go in and the hot tub was just warm!

The food in he habitat restaurant was very good!

Overall they were extremely short staffed...as well...especially on the Friday.

It's too bas the hotel seemed to have so much potential, it looks nice newly renovated, great for kids with the waterslide and kids pool but it just wasn't maintained!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Headrush2013,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. We certainly try to address any maintenance concerns immediately to ensure that your stay is not impacted by an item like a shower not draining or a light bulb burning out. I will most definitely follow up with our teams in that regard. Our pool area is currently undergoing annual maintenance and will be re-opening with a fresh look. I'd love the opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail and can be reached directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca.

Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    10
    14
    9
See reviews for
30
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We travel to Canmore once or twice a year for a family holiday. I will preface this by saying that we usually stay at another property in the area but we thought we'd try something different this time. We decided to stay at this resort specifically, because of the pool and water slide.

However, when we arrived the whole pool area was under maintenance. We were not informed of this when we checked in, my husband discovered it later that evening. Also, the elevator was broken on two out of the three days that we were there. Not exactly ideal when staying with an infant and a small child (and all of our belongings). I understand that these things happen, but it certainly but a damper on our stay.

As far as cleanliness, it was just okay. Our patio windows were full of handprints and there was a box of empty wine bottles on our patio. The walls are fairly dinged up, and the coffee table was very wobbly and not sturdy.

I don't know, but I've stayed in other properties that were better stocked, cleaner and maintained. I just feel that we didn't really get the value for what we paid. In the end, we did get a small discount because of the pool.

We left one of our items behind, and my husband talked to housekeeping and was told they they would return his call the next day. That was over a week ago.

Overall, it was just okay. It would be fine if we were travelling without our kids, but I think we will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Sparkerj,
I am sorry to hear about the issues you faced while you were with us. We certainly have attempted to contact each arriving guest well in advance of our pool being closed for annual maintenance until the first week in May, as well as posting it on our website and booking partners, I'm sorry that this wasn't communicated to you until after you were in house. I'd love the opportunity to discuss your stay and to resolve your missing item issue, please contact me directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca.


Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice stay here. Overall good amenities, but I'd say something about the layout just generally felt off. Weirdly planned out. A big rabbit warren of condos. Had to drive around though condo maze to find parkade entrance . Pool had waterslide and indoor/ outdoor hot tub and kids area. Outdoor hot tub a bit weird as surrounded very closely by balconies from units. Viewing area for pool from hotel bar overlooking giant frog kids area. Suites nicely decorated but tiny kitchens, living rooms. Good bedding and comfy beds. Underground parking good. Barbecues on balconies. Laundry in unit which was good but strangely crammed beside shower in main bathroom. The thing that stood out in my mind about this place was the bizarre automated showers! They talked, had all kinds of features, very weird! If you go to Canmore a lot I would stay here once just to experience them. The kids loved them! Laughed their heads off and played with them for ages! Husband hated, as took a long time to figure out how to just turn on regular shower.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Weliketofly,
Thanks for sharing your feedback on the property. I am glad to hear that your kids got some entertainment out of the shower features! The indoor/outdoor hot tub and the rest of the pool area are certainly a great way for a family or just an individual to relax! Thank you again for your feedback and we'd love to host you for your next trip to the Bow Valley.


Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britsh Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a late check-in and that all went fine and friendly. It was a long way to our room - the place is much bigger than it looked when we drove up to it.

Our room was not like a normal hotel room but like a small apartment - full kitchen area, separate bedroom, large balcony and living room. We were on the highway side so thought the noise would be bad but it wasn't unless you had the windows open.

The bed was good - not perfect but good, in room coffee was great, the room was quite warm even though it was cool outside and the thermostat was set to cool. Nice bathroom with a 'steam shower'. I did use the shower but did not figure out how to work all the options in it - rather confusing.

We did not use the pool but it looked lovely. The fitness room was very basic and a few machines had out-of-order signs on them. Great upscale restaurant on site.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear WestWind12,
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the in room amenities. The hotel offers rooms that range from the condominium style like you experienced to a standard hotel room to our luxurious penthouse units, so there is a room type for everyone! I am looking forward to hosting you next time you're in the Canmore Area.


Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were seven of us going to a wedding in B.C. We stayed two nights at the Grande Rockie Resort. We were pleased with our accommodation The beds were comfortable and the suites clean and well equipped. The elevator was not working for part of Friday but we just used the stairs. The pool was great, especially enjoyed the indoor/outdoor hot tub. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Heather,
Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to hear of your experience with us. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Canmore area.


Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albert, Ab
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family has been to this resort multiple times in the past. This will most likely be our last. Not sure what has happened here as it use to be a great spot but not anymore. We showed up at 4 on our check in day which is right on time for check in. They asked for an extra 25 to 30 minutes to finish the room We had no issue with this and went and did some last minute grocery shopping that we planned to do there anyway. we got back 45 minutes later and were told the room still wasn't ready and that they required about 25 minutes. They did offer us our key so we could use the pool while we wait. we went for a walk instead. We were finally able to check in at 5:30. An hour and a half after the posted check in times. Upon check in we did notice that the room was lacking the usual attention to detail we were use to with this resort. It looked like the cleaning was VERY rushed!! We made the best of it. The very next morning our toilet overflowed. We called the front desk and they sent maintenance right away. The maintenance guy fixed it right away. He actually found that 3 bars of soap had been flushed down the toilet and he had to remove the toilet to fix it. This made quite a mess. He was great about it though and cleaned up what he could. He also said that he would contact the front desk and let them know it needed a cleaning and should be prioritized. We left shortly after. After going in to town to walk around and have lunch we came back about 4.5 hours later to find that nothing had been done. I went to the front desk to inquire and they said it had been cleaned according to their list. I told them it still had to be done but our daughter was down for a nap. We agreed that I would let them know as soon as she woke up and that it would then be prioritized. When my daughter woke up we went down and informed them we were leaving for Banff. The promised it would be clean when we got back. We spent a few hours in Banff and came back. This time we found that the towels had been picked up off the floor but the floor was still covered in dried toilet paper and who knows what else. As well as the shower since this is where he put the toilet when he removed it. Again I went back down and they swore it was cleaned. They finally sent somebody up to inspect while we were there. The guy that came up was quite embarrassed with what he saw. He went and got stuff to clean it himself. After this the biggest issue was just having to call to even have your garbage changed. it sure is too bad! This was a great place before!! Overall it has slipped all across the board!!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Brad G,
Thanks for sharing your feedback and concerns with us, I'm certainly disappointed to hear about your experience as that is not the standard we strive for at the Grande Rockies.. I'd love the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail and would sincerely appreciate you giving me a call directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca.



Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort is at an excellent location, just about 20 minutes from Banff. Each room had a well stocked kitchen, an open balcony with furniture and a barbeque, clean rooms and bathrooms with spa-style showers. The pool is quite nice as well. All of this made this a lovely place to stay.

There were some downers though. The underground parking was probably built on the assumption that everyone drives a Ford Fiesta or smaller. The spots are really cramped and it is next to impossible to fit two SUVs in a twin space, let alone trucks.

The rooms are not well ventilated and despite being April and +2C outside, we felt quite suffocated.

The barbeque ignition did not work and they could not help with it, and we never got the extra bed we were promised, so we made do with the sofa bed. The bartender only swings by the bar every 15 minutes. The food was OK but nothing special. The TV did not have a USB port which seemed a little dated to us.

All in all despite all this we would go again. If you are not picky, the room amenities and the location are fantastic and whether you spend a day in or head our anywhere in a 50km radius, you are in for a great day, and the stay is great value. Other than the ventilation, the points I've mentioned here are quite understandable for the price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JDanish,
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and am sorry you had a few challenges with the extra bed and the size of the parkade. I have passed along your comments to our teams to ensure that moving forward this issue is addressed. I'd love to discuss your stay in more detail if you'd like to give me a call directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca.


Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Rockies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Rockies Resort

Address: 901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#9 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Rockies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grande Rockies Resort – a unique resort hotel in Canmore, Alberta. Set amidst the majestic mountains of Banff National Park, the resort offers the incredible standards and service of a luxury boutique hotel and the personal comforts of a grand vacation home.The Grande Rockies Resort in Canmore features more than 136 boutique, one and two bedroom luxury hotel suites and penthouses, most complete with fully-featured kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, spa-inspired bathrooms and designer décor & amenities. At your service night and day is a full team of hotel & restaurant professionals capable of handling any request.Superbly situated in the foothills of the Rockies right in the alpine village of Canmore, Grande Rockies Resort is ideal for golf, ski and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Or, simply hang out by the indoor pool with waterslide, kids pool and hot tub or get active in the fabulous fitness centre.Corporations will appreciate Grande Rockies Resort's well-appointed meeting and conference facilities, serviced by our team of conference specialists and culinary experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grande Rockies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Rockies Hotel Canmore
Grande Rockies Resort Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Rockies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.