We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, but no cigar!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Rockies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Rockies Resort to your Saves list
Grande Rockies Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LIMITED TIME: FREE MEAL
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Edmonton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Close, but no cigar!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a three day stay here in March 2015. This was once a nice place, but a lack of maintenance and poor planning when it was built make it average today. The room we stayed in had a steam shower. The doors on the shower had come off the track and at some time water had sprayed on the bathroom door frame, damaging it. A bit of moulding on the same frame was coming off. I am very tall and could not stand up straight in the shower (this is not unusual in Mexico, but in Canada????) The fake hardwood floor had many gouges in it. A dye pen would have concealed most of them, but no one had bothered. The king sized bed was nice, but so wide the night table, bolted to the wall, blocked the opening of the closet bifold door, which in turn blocked the set of drawers inside the closet making then useless. With the kitchen tap you could pull out the end to rinse off dishes. Unfortunately the end drooped out of its fitting because the counterweight under the sink was wrongly positioned. The cupboard door over the microwave would not close properly because it rubbed on the microwave door. The room was extremely hot and difficult to cool down because when you opened the patio door, the noise from the Trans Canada highway was extreme. The air-conditioning did not seem to be functioning this early in the season. Somebody needs to do a complete inspection of the rooms in this place and get maintenance to do their job!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that front onto the Trans Canada Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear BigCliff,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear about the challenges you faced with your room. That is certainly not the standard we hold ourselves too. Each room is given an inspection prior to guest arrivals by both housekeeping and maintenance. I will ensure that I follow up and pass along your comments to both. I'd love the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail. Please feel free to contact me either via email at brentb@bellstar.ca or by phone at 587-222-0700.

Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southern Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three weeks ago I booked a 2 bedroom suite. My husband and I planned our very busy work schedules around a much anticipated weekend away. Today I received a call from the hotel saying they had no space and would not accommodate my booking. Perhaps they need to re evaluate their policies and procedures around booking and reservation. Thanks for nothing.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Happy Albertan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I would love to discuss the situation further with you, so please feel free to reach out to me directly at 587-222-0700 or via email at brentb@bellstar.ca.

Sincerely,



Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed here for 2 days/nights with my husband and infant son. The hotel was very nice and extremely clean. We will definitely stay here again. We did however have a few small complaints. I booked via groupon and some of the information was a little misleading or omitted. We booked a non-suite room, at the time of booking I had no idea that these rooms were located in a separate building. Had I known this I would have paid the extra to be in a suite even though we did not require a kitchenette. We did however require a mini fridge but our room did not have one like stated on the website I booked through. Being in a separate building we did not get to fully enjoy all of the resort amenities (which we had to pay an extra fee for). The weather was quite chilly and the pool is located in the main building. This is a long, cold walk to carry an infant especially after they were just in the pool. For being a large family-friendly pool we expected there to be change rooms, especially to accommodate those that stayed in the separate building. There were no change rooms, only a small bathroom- which was extremely difficult to maneuver around in and change a baby before and after swimming (no change table or large counter top, had to use the floor). Since the weather was cold when we went we hoped to spend a lot of our time in the pool, we had no such luck. The pool was extremely cold, far too cold for a baby and very uncomfortable for an adult. We ended up going to the canmore rec centre to swim.

As I stated above we really enjoyed the hotel and its atmosphere but will be sure to book a suite in the main building when we return.

Room Tip: suite in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Nicole D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry that you had a challenge with the pool temperature, we do try to keep it at a very comfortable temperature for all our guests, so I will certainly follow up on this issue. The rooms in our boutique building while extremely comfortable do not come equipped with the full kitchen, in the future, we'd love to host you in our main building to experience the full condo style stay. If you'd like to discuss your stay in more detail, I'd love the opportunity and can be reached directly at 587-222-0700.


Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights at the Grande Rockies Resort this past weekend. I was alone with my two children when we checked in on Friday night. We checked in and our room was not at all ready. The television was totally disconnected and missing a cable to the VCR, the hide away bed had no sheets, quilt or pillows in the room, there was no blow dryer (which I found out after having a shower). I tried to call the front desk but they never answered, I probably tried over a dozen times. Each time I needed something I had to walk to the front desk to actually talk to someone. It took over 2 hours for our TV and VCR to be fixed and the only reason it was fixed was because I asked the person who dropped off the hide a bed sheets to look at it. The hide a bed was really uncomfortable and they didn't have any mattress toppers to make it better.

It was a really bad first impression. The room was large, the big kitchen was nice, but the lack of service will keep me from returning.

Room Tip: We had room 119. Wifi connected but nothing loaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SnowbirdCalgary,
Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback, it truly is appreciated when guests help us identify areas we can improve. I am sorry to hear about the challenges you had with TV and VCR, I am glad that it was eventually resolved for you. Unfortunately on a busy evenings like Friday night our staff certainly try to handle all calls and guests arriving, sometimes it does make it difficult to reach the front desk team. I'm glad you enjoyed the layout of the units, the large kitchen certainly makes traveling with a family easy. Each room has individual wi/fi and we have 16 access points for our common areas, so I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with yours. I have sent a request to our maintenance team to investigate further. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to send your feedback, and would love the opportunity to discuss in further detail. Please feel free to reach out directly at 587-222-0700 or by email at brentb@bellstar.ca.


Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family stayed here in a two bedroom suite, and the staff, room amenities, and experience could not be better. The location is also very convenient, near the highway, but no traffic at all in the room. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Stay in a one or two bedroom suite in the main building as they are newer and have excellent ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jonathan,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Fortunately all our rooms are quiet and unaffected by the highway! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore!

Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room wasn't ready when arrived and we had to wait in the lounge. The hotel staff said they would come get us when our room was ready (est. 20 minutes)...after 2 rounds of drinks and wings (over an hour), I finally went back the front desk, our room was ready.
When we mentioned to Wayne (lounge manager) what was happening, he offered free drinks and apologies.
The restaurant staff and food was also amazing for breakfast. Our room was ok.
Soooo the restaurant and their staff saved the trip.
The service of hotel staff is sub par.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Svobods,
I am truly sorry to hear about the wait for your room. I have followed up with our teams to ensure that this does not happen moving forward. I certainly appreciate your feedback on this matter. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the amazing service and menu at Habitat Restaurant. There truly is a menu item for everybody at Habitat! I'd welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at 587-222-0700 or by email at brentb@bellstar.ca.

Sincerely,


Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This vacation property has amazing views of the rockies, gas fireplaces, big decks with BBQs and luxury bedding. The main lobby has a wonderful restaurant and bar area that overlooks pool. You can watch the kids while relaxing in the lounge. Staff is polite and helpful. Loved staying here.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Renee E,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm truly glad that you enjoyed our rooms and the fantastic lounge and restaurant area. It's a perfect way for every member of your family to enjoy themselves! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore.

Sincerely,

Brent Batten
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Rockies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Rockies Resort

Address: 901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#9 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Rockies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grande Rockies Resort – a unique resort hotel in Canmore, Alberta. Set amidst the majestic mountains of Banff National Park, the resort offers the incredible standards and service of a luxury boutique hotel and the personal comforts of a grand vacation home.The Grande Rockies Resort in Canmore features more than 136 boutique, one and two bedroom luxury hotel suites and penthouses, most complete with fully-featured kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, spa-inspired bathrooms and designer décor & amenities. At your service night and day is a full team of hotel & restaurant professionals capable of handling any request.Superbly situated in the foothills of the Rockies right in the alpine village of Canmore, Grande Rockies Resort is ideal for golf, ski and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Or, simply hang out by the indoor pool with waterslide, kids pool and hot tub or get active in the fabulous fitness centre.Corporations will appreciate Grande Rockies Resort's well-appointed meeting and conference facilities, serviced by our team of conference specialists and culinary experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grande Rockies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Rockies Hotel Canmore
Grande Rockies Resort Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Rockies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.