We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Rockies Resort

Save Saved
You added Grande Rockies Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Rockies Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Alberta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my second stay at this property and I will be back! Booked in a suite in the main building - the steam shower in the room is such a luxurious touch! Fully equipped fitness center, pool and outdoor hot tub. Suites have comfy big beds, full kitchens, washer & dryer, and a balcony with a BBQ. The restaurant is pricey but the food is fantastic and so is waiter Christian. Pleasant staff are very attentive and any issues are addressed efficiently. Wonderfully relaxing stay. Wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort and for thinking of us for future stays!

We are so pleased to hear you were able to enjoy all the amenities provided throughout the resort. Our Pool Area and Fitness Centre is great for those wanting to keep up with their fitness routines or even for those who just would like to relax in the hot tub. Our Vera Wang beds are wonderful and we receive many great comments about our beds.

The food at Habitat Restaurant is fantastic and Christian is a valued member of the team! There are many great new options on the menu for you to try during your next visit!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    95
    37
    29
    11
See reviews for
116
112
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to Grand Rockies with some family members and it was a top class resort! The service and amenities are excellent. The pool had a great water slide and an indoor and outdoor spa hot tub that was extremely fun for the kids and relaxing for all. The restaurant had very friendly servers and the food was extremely delicious. Overall it was one of the best resorts I have stayed in, in a long time. Can't wait for our next trip back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort. Our Pool Area is always a big hit for the young and the young at heart! The indoor/outdoor hot tub is a great way to relax at the end of a long day hiking, skiing or even shopping in town. We have a fantastic team at Habitat Restaurant and yes, the food is delicious! There are many new favourites – next time you will have to try our Game Changer Burger which is receiving rave reviews from all who try.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very good hotel to stay without breaking the bank. Whilst my wife and I traveled to Canmore for a wedding, my wife desired a hotel with a spa like feel, I wanted a more traditional bare bones "ski-holiday" hotel. Grande Rockies Resort covers both easily. Our suite was large and very well laid out. A very useful open kitchen complete with all cooking and dining needs was the hub of activity for most of the time we were in the suite. Our living room offered lots of sitting areas, and we gladly hosted pre-drinks for friends. The bedroom was cozy, featured a deluxe king massive duvet that my lover and I could both sausage roll around ourselves. Flat screens in both bedroom and dining rooms, meant we had the game on during a tasty breakfast in bed. The shower is a technological masterpiece with back, foot massage and steam options. Really good.

Room Tip: The front desk staff are extremely friendly and their advice on activities was spot on, ask them for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort. I am so pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your suite to the full extent! Our suites do offer a spacious living and kitchen area – both great for entertaining. We receive many positive reviews about our beds and our showers!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice place, nice service. Restaurant was good. Had a few issues though. Pool was a separate building from our room. My wife and I went just came back in October. Problem, no change room near pool, so poor planning on the building. at least a seat in the bathroom to get a swimsuit on!! Not bad for the summer but if its cold the pool is useless. Also our room 293 the bathroom fan was caked in dust, actually gross considering the price of the hotel. We have decided not to return again.

Room Tip: Get a suite you'll have better access, witnessed another couple with same complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms were just ok, nothing special like some of the other condos in the area. We rented 3 rooms, two 1 bedrooms and one 2 bedroom. Two of the rooms were facing the extremely busy and noisy highway. It was so noisy we couldn't have the doors open. The third room was facing the parking lot. There are much nicer condo resorts in Canmore away from the busy highway that we won't be back to this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a couple for a business retreat. Our room was beautiful with a one bedroom suite but quite a few light bulbs were out. Check in went smoothly but the front desk was hidden behind a wall! Pool area was great, I know our kids would have loved it if they were with us. Hot tub was indoor/outdoor so I loved that! The shower in the room was confusing at first but easier once you figured all the controls out! House keeping always seemed to be around but didn't seem to ever really finish our room. At one point, they left disposable latex gloves on our bedroom dresser, the stove and microwave open and towels on the kitchen counter...kind of odd!? The parking door didn't always work with the key card entry so had to back out a couple times. Habitat food and service were great. Overall it was a nice hotel though and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just stayed 1 might at the Grande Rockies Resort in a 1 bedroom suite. Arriving at the hotel we found the front desk agent behind a big wall situated where you check in. Once we checked in we went straight to the pool/ waterslide area. First impression was it really looked like it needed a good cleaning..We have a 4 and 2 year old and found the kids waterslide to be too powerful. My daughter was too scared to even go down it once and the mushroom on the website also was a little too much water for either of my kids to go under. We mostly hung out in the big pool instead. My husband and I both went down the waterslide and was surprised that it is a tunnel that goes completely pitch black when you are going down..kinda scary for me even. So overall I was a little disappointed in the whole pool/waterslide area. Room were very modern and loved the décor..again looked like there is not much attention to cleaning details. The best part of your evening was dinner at Habitat. The service was excellent and the food amazing..kids meals were great too! Overall I think if they improve on the cleaning, I would stay there again. Mostly to be able to dine at Habitat again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grande Rockies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Rockies Resort

Address: 901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#8 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Rockies Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grande Rockies Resort – a unique resort hotel in Canmore, Alberta. Set amidst the majestic mountains of Banff National Park, the resort offers the incredible standards and service of a luxury boutique hotel and the personal comforts of a grand vacation home.The Grande Rockies Resort in Canmore features more than 136 boutique, one and two bedroom luxury hotel suites and penthouses, most complete with fully-featured kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, spa-inspired bathrooms and designer décor & amenities. At your service night and day is a full team of hotel & restaurant professionals capable of handling any request.Superbly situated in the foothills of the Rockies right in the alpine village of Canmore, Grande Rockies Resort is ideal for golf, ski and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Or, simply hang out by the indoor pool with waterslide, kids pool and hot tub or get active in the fabulous fitness centre.Corporations will appreciate Grande Rockies Resort's well-appointed meeting and conference facilities, serviced by our team of conference specialists and culinary experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grande Rockies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Rockies Hotel Canmore
Grande Rockies Resort Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Rockies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.