We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Condo Style Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Rockies Resort

Save Saved
You added Grande Rockies Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Rockies Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice Condo Style Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Overall a nice place to stay. We appreciated the space in the 2 bedroom condo we stayed in. It was nice to have a BBQ on our balcony, plus a washer/dryer in-suite to use for free. On the surface, it is avery stylish hotel, however found lots of broken and damaged items in our room - shower, flooring, cupboards, unpainted patched wall in bathroom, etc. For the price you pay, it would be nice for the hotel to pay attention to these details. Also, the hotel has to figure out who they are catering to. They are not quite there to be a luxury hotel and do not have the amenities for families. It seems to be a more draw for 20 year olds who want to share a suite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort and for choosing the Grande Rockies Resort while in Canmore.

Our suites are very spacious and it is great to have all the amenities of home while vacationing! We would love the opportunity to follow up with you directly regarding the broken / damaged items in your suite. My email address is nicole.cooper@granderockies.com or my direct telephone number is 403-679-5218.

Thank you again for choosing the Grande Rockies Resort during your trip to Canmore!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    97
    39
    32
    12
See reviews for
120
116
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Grande Rockies Resort in Canmore, AB is an excellent choice for a holiday in the Rockies. The condos were clean, comfortable and very inviting! We had 4 rooms, all very close and the kids could visit together.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort and for choosing the Grande Rockies Resort while in Canmore.

Our suites are very comfortable, inviting and very clean! It’s great to be able to have all your suites close by when travelling with friends/family, our lock off suites offer a feeling of a three bedroom suite while everyone still having their own space.

Thank you again for allowing us to be a part of your family holiday!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

my husband and i decided to take a road trip for our anniversary....off to the mountains we go ! What a beautiful hotel this is. Such friendly staff and great food.Really enjoyed the outside hottub as well.
Had the 3 course meal one evening in the restaurant...it was awesome,the food tatsed perfect and the atmosphere so relaxed.
lets not forget the room...OMG how great was that !! My own kitchen ( not that i cooked ), soft big bed, and the shower was actually a sauna/steam shower with.....a phone and radio inside ! massage jets all over the shower, and a seat to relax while the water massages your back and feet if needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort and for choosing the Grande Rockies Resort to celebrate your 20th anniversary while in Canmore!

I am so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy all our amenities during your stay with us! Our full kitchen, Vera Wang beds and our Spa Showers are great and we always receive fantastic reviews on them.

Thank you again for allowing us to be a part of your 20th anniversary celebration and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assiniboia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for five days and the room was worth it. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The kitchen was well stocked with dining and cooking utensils and the dishwasher was appreciated. The view was fantastic and our little one had fun in the pool but the waterside was a little too fast.

My only complaints about the resort was the resort fee that was not explained, the squeaking bedroom door that woke up our daughter every time we opened or closed it, and the key card that wouldn't stay working for more then a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort and for choosing the Grande Rockies for your stay while in Canmore!

We do offer fantastic views of surrounding Mountain Ranges and I am so glad to hear your little one enjoyed her time in our Pool Area! Always a great way to spend an afternoon.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Don't usually stay in Canmore, so I can't really compare it to other places.
We had a pretty standard room with king bed. It was clean and comfortable. It was also really quiet. I had seen a number of kids in the swimming pool and at the front desk and was a bit concerned that we'd be bothered by kids running up and down the halls or howling in their room, but this did not happen, so we were happy. Had a terrific sleep.

Front desk folks were very friendly and helpful. This place has a high end restaurant, which we didn't want - so we ate at the bar/lounge instead. It was great. Bar attendant was great, food was also a very reasonable price and tasted great., Wiine suggestions were good too!

This place is also in a good location - it's on the "town" side, as opposed to being on the other side of the highway. We were able to walk to the event in town that had brought us to Canmore in the first place.

I'd stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort and for choosing the Grande Rockies for your stay while in Canmore. Our beds are terrific and we receive only positive comments on them! Habitat Restaurant and Lounge is great and the team provides great recommendations for wine pairing!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Rockies hotel in march 2013, and had a blast! The pool/splash park/water slide, and indoor/outdoor hot tub were loved by all from age 1 to 40+.
Our room was a 2 bedroom suite with a fully loaded kitchen, living room, blue ray player, and my favorite, a soaker tub, that had jets from all angles, and a stereo to drown out the kids.
Friends joined us for the trip and the Operations manager (Don Griffiths) kindly helped us coordinate joining rooms, we could open the front doors and safely let the kids roam free.
The front desk was extremely helpful in directing us to local restaurants, and play areas, also provided us with dvd's to entertain the kids.
Upon leaving we had a delicious breakfast at the in house restaurant.
Will stay there next time we visit Canmore, and recommend you do the same.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite was perfect for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort. We are so pleased to hear you had a blast during your recent stay with us! It definitely seems like you enjoyed all the amenities The Grande Rockies has to offer – the pool and waterslide area, Habitat Restaurant, our lock off suites and of course our famous bathrooms!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom March 15 and 16, 2013. The resort is in a good location in Canmore. The condo was small but had everything we needed - full kitchen, living room with a fireplace, TVs in both the living room and bedroom. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The only drawbacks are that the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on next door. We kept the kitchen fan on all night just to drown out the neighbours. In addition to this, the bathroom is not well-appointed at all. It is located off the kitchen and there is no access to it from the bedroom. Very strange. On checkout I noticed there was a $20 resort fee that we were charged. Why not just add it to the cost of the room and save everyone the annoyance of the extra charge?

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort. I am pleased to hear that your guestroom offered everything needed for a weekend away! Our Resort Fee should have been explained to you upon arrival at the Resort and I apologize if this did not happen.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Cooper
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Rockies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Rockies Resort

Address: 901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#8 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Rockies Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grande Rockies Resort – a unique resort hotel in Canmore, Alberta. Set amidst the majestic mountains of Banff National Park, the resort offers the incredible standards and service of a luxury boutique hotel and the personal comforts of a grand vacation home.The Grande Rockies Resort in Canmore features more than 136 boutique, one and two bedroom luxury hotel suites and penthouses, most complete with fully-featured kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, spa-inspired bathrooms and designer décor & amenities. At your service night and day is a full team of hotel & restaurant professionals capable of handling any request.Superbly situated in the foothills of the Rockies right in the alpine village of Canmore, Grande Rockies Resort is ideal for golf, ski and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Or, simply hang out by the indoor pool with waterslide, kids pool and hot tub or get active in the fabulous fitness centre.Corporations will appreciate Grande Rockies Resort's well-appointed meeting and conference facilities, serviced by our team of conference specialists and culinary experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grande Rockies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Rockies Hotel Canmore
Grande Rockies Resort Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Rockies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.