We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between Average and Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Rockies Resort

Save Saved
You added Grande Rockies Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Rockies Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Between Average and Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a tough one to review. The resort is nicely appointed on the inside. High quality finishes make it very welcoming.

I spent 3 days at this resort, and because it was December, was subject to the higher room rates which is to be expected for Christmas/travel time.

Check In:

Very courteous welcome and reception by the front desk concierge. They are all smiles and positive energy. Very nice first impression. They are polite as they explain the amenities of the property and direct you to the heated underground parkade, giving you tips on where to park to minimize your walk to the correct elevator for your room.

The front desk was very accommodating throughout our stay. We required a corkscrew in our room, and it was immediately dispatched without delay. A positive sign in any hotel these days.

Rooms:

The steam showers are a welcome touch. Because of the two bedroom room, you receive both a tub/steam shower combo and a separate steam shower in the en suite. Rooms were very clean and seemed to be well maintained. I have heard of other rooms starting to show their age but I couldn't see very many signs of that in our room. Possibly just a lower traffic room or had been freshened up.

The kitchen is stocked with most of the things you would need or want to make your stay enjoyable. Grande Rockies Resort puts more trust in it's guests than some hotels/resorts do that charge twice the price.

My one complaint has nothing to do with the staff or the room, but the build quality. The walls adjacent to the hallways, and perhaps all the walls, are very thin. Noise from other guests permeates the room quite easily, to the point of being able to hear a conversation, word for word, outside of your room. Yes, you can also hear the tv in the room next. Fortunately those were the only bedroom sounds that came through the walls during our stay.

Room Service:

We sampled multiple items from the menu to try and get a good selection. The pizza is a good choice, also the Spicy Curry Chicken Fusilli is tasty. Food was delivered promptly and hot, even during late hours.

Overall:

Will the Grande Rockies Resort blow your socks off? If you're a seasoned traveler, than no. But it's not trying to, that's the beauty. It's not a 3 dressed up like a 9, it's more of a 7 dressed up like a 9. Decent feel, upgraded finishes at a semi-reasonable rate. Good for a low key trip to the Rockies without leaving the nicer things of home. Grande Rockies Resort is a series of hits with a few, minor misses, but then again what isn't. The room rate is fair, but is at the top of the range for a resort with it's look and feel. Time will tell if it's fit and finish hold up.

Room Tip: If you're upgrading your room to get a view, try and get on the top two floors. Otherwise your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    99
    40
    35
    15
See reviews for
124
118
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We slept here for two days. A lot of comfort, apartment was clean, shower experience with an in-build radio. If you can afford a little more, stay here. You will enjoy it and it makes the most of your holiday experience. We would love to return to Canmore one day and sleep in this place again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review on your past stay at our resort. I am glad that you enjoyed the 2 days that you stayed with us and that you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean. I am happy to hear that our resort made your holiday experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next visit to Canmore.
Thanks again for taking the time and posting this review.
Jason Guyitt
General Manager
Grande Rockies Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well, we stayed in this place for two nights on the NYE of 2013 in their two luxury bed-room suit.

Pros: the staff is great, the location is great, the pool is great, the view is amazing, rooms were very nice overall with warm fireplace and a little balcony.

Cons: started from an 1 hour check-in delay, so did not get in the room until 5 p.m; then the wi-fi was down for the entire stay. Called the desk, they said there was not much to be done. It would be not a big deal if our ethernet jack would not be missing in the room. Talked to two different people, both have promised that the issue will be fixed, but it had never been. So, we had no internet, ended up using their business room. And since we were visiting from the US, and we had to use roaming data for the phones.
Then in my bedroom the lamp cover from the ceiling light was missing, I let the stuff know, he said he would "take a note". So, the naked bulb blasted the light right in the face for three days. Which would be okay, if I would not pay $350 per night. Maybe we just got that unlucky there, but I will not stay there again.

So, in the end I would give them average to poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Grande Rockie Resort Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your past stay with us over New Years period. Thank you for recognizing that our staff are great and that you enjoyed the overall facalities. However I do apologize for the issues that you did encounter during your stay with our WIFI connectivity and your concerns with the check in delay. I would like the opportunity to discuss these concerns with you further detail at a time that works best for your schedule. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 403,679.5201 or jason.guyitt@granderockies.com and I am confident that I can address your concerns and have you wanting to return to our resort for future stays.
I look forward to speaking with you.
Kind Regards,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager
Grande Rockies Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I would highly recommend the Grande Rockies Resort. The ammenities, activities, and staff blew us all away.

Six of us (my 2 kids, husband, 2 parents and I) spent four days at the resort to escape the typical stressful Christmas. We arrived on Christmas Eve to a beautiful two bedroom apartment completely stocked and immaculately cleaned. It was spacious enough for the six of us; we were told that we got one of the largest suites. That evening, the hotel had plenty of activities planned including a Manager's Reception, a reading of 'Twas the Night Before Christmas and a visit from Santa. We were each given a free drink ticket for the reception and all of the children received a small gift from Santa. The lobby was beautifully decorated and it was impossible not to notice the smiling staff. For our entire stay, there were activities planned for the kids although we only participated in the Christmas Eve ones. (It was nice to know they were available though.)

The swimming pool was a huge hit. There was a small kiddie pool with a little slide, a large slide in a deeper pool, and a huge inside/outside hot tub. We spent hours in this pool. The lobby had a beautiful fireplace and we enjoyed reading books and visiting beside it.

The suite itself was ideal. The shower was unbelievable. It had massagers, music, and a steam machine. All appliances in the kitchen worked well and were stocked perfectly. Anytime we called down to the main desk, they were happy to help us with any extra glasses, cups, etc.

The staff were particularly impressive at this resort. One gentleman named Aaron was the friendliest, most helpful individual I have enountered in the service industry in years. A woman who appeared to be a manager or supervisor was also personable and very kind. Jane, a lovely woman who worked at the bar, made us all feel like we were at home. They all seemed genuinely happy to be there and pleased to help out in any way.

We didn't eat in the restauraunt on-site but we did hear from many people that the food and ambience were beautiful. We dined once across the parking lot at the Georgetown Inn and it was comfortable and lovely.

A lovely resort that we will be visiting again...

Room Tip: No suggestions. I doubt you could go wrong in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and knowing how we are performing. I am glad to hear that you and your family were able to take advantage of the hotels amenities and Christmas activities that were planned. I appreciate your comments regarding our staff, as this team elevates their daily performance to provide the best guest experience possible and it is great to hear that we are achieving our goal.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your review and we looking forward to having you back to the Grande Rockies Resort on your next visit to Canmore.
Kind Regards,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager
Grande Rockies Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripcanuck12
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was our first time at the Grande Rockies and we had a fabulous time. Rooms are very spacious, as many others have noted the pool is great, our little one enjoyed the waterslide (a lot). Now one thing is that it was built with Condo-owners in mind so the layout is such - ie long hallways and minimal decor in the hallways, but who cares, you don't vacation in the hallway.

The service is great - our little one lost $2.50 in one of the refreshment machines, and front desk went to the lounge and got him the can of ice tea he was wishing. Very attentive and responsive.

Also a very funky lounge/lobby.

Grande Rockies is a grand stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that your stay was fabulous and appreciate reading your comments that our service was responsive and attentive. We value your feedback and I have shared your great comments with my team.
As this was your first stay at our resort, we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Canmore.
Thanks again for posting this review.
Kind Regards,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager
Grande Rockies Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been here multiple times. The pool and swim in/out hot tub are amazing!

The rooms we always stay in have the steam shower with radio built in - My 6 year old LOVES this!

The food is OK there, although we order in from local places most of the time we are there...prices are better that way :)

Service was always good! Beds are comfy, I suggest getting a suite - 1 or 2 bedrooms!

I suggest it 100% if you have a family...

Room Tip: Choose a 1 or 2 bedroom suite to have a really comfortable stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your past stay at our resort. I appreciate hearing from our guests and pleased to hear that you are a repeat client of our's. The pool area and showers are great for guests of all ages and one of the many highlights that we have to offer.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next visit through Canmore.
Kind Regards,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager
Grande Rockies Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I delayed writing this review for some time.

My wife booked a special getaway for my birthday in canmore we booked last minute and where looking for a deal. The hotel placed us into their new wing , which was a bit small (reminded me of hotels in hong kong actually) however it was very new & very nicely done up. The room was a bit close to the road but you couldn't really hear it. The unit is not attached to the main building so you have to walk across the court yard to reach the pool and other features of the main hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Over all a pretty decent stay , I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Grande Rockies Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Grande Rockies Resort Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us last spring. It is never too late to post a review and we appreciate hearing from you. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our product and service met your expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Rockies on your next visit through Canmore.
Kind Regards,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Rockies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Rockies Resort

Address: 901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#8 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Rockies Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grande Rockies Resort – a unique resort hotel in Canmore, Alberta. Set amidst the majestic mountains of Banff National Park, the resort offers the incredible standards and service of a luxury boutique hotel and the personal comforts of a grand vacation home.The Grande Rockies Resort in Canmore features more than 136 boutique, one and two bedroom luxury hotel suites and penthouses, most complete with fully-featured kitchens, in-suite washer and dryer, spa-inspired bathrooms and designer décor & amenities. At your service night and day is a full team of hotel & restaurant professionals capable of handling any request.Superbly situated in the foothills of the Rockies right in the alpine village of Canmore, Grande Rockies Resort is ideal for golf, ski and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Or, simply hang out by the indoor pool with waterslide, kids pool and hot tub or get active in the fabulous fitness centre.Corporations will appreciate Grande Rockies Resort's well-appointed meeting and conference facilities, serviced by our team of conference specialists and culinary experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grande Rockies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Rockies Hotel Canmore
Grande Rockies Resort Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Rockies Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.