We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yamnuska Scrambling Skills course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamnuska Mountain Adventures

Yamnuska Mountain Adventures
200, 50 Lincoln Park, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
403-678-9404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 Activities in Canmore
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Canada's premier mountain school and mountain guiding company. located in Canmore, Alberta we offer ice climbing, rock climbing, mountaineering, skiing and avalanche courses. We do day trips as well as multi day programs.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yamnuska Scrambling Skills course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great course, learned a lot about planning, routefinding and movement skills for scrambling. Course logistics were excellent and our guide was top notch. I was very fortunate to be on course with just one other person, so the resulting guide:client ratio of 1:2 was terrific for learning. My 3rd course with Yamnuska and I will likely take at least one more in future.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yoho Peaks Mountaineering!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from Yamnuska's Yoho Peaks trip - three nights and four days to hike some of the higher/glaciated peaks around Stanley Mitchell Hut in Yoho NP. The highlight was hiking up a glacier at night and seeing the sun rise from the top of The President, over 10,000 feet high. What a way to start Canada Day!

I'd done several previous courses with our guide, James Madden, and it was great to have another chance to learn from and experience the Rockies with him. His willingness to think a bit 'outside the box' to give us a chance at summitting the President resulted in a very memorable experience.

From the office staff to the guides, everyone at Yamnuska really goes above & beyond to be helpful and make the outdoor experience special. In particular, I've found that Yamnuska brings a very personal touch to the outdoors course/trip experience, from gracious answering questions about gear & trips/courses, to checking schedules in order to allow clients to select trips with specific guides and to having a fabulous in-house kitchen to prepare great mountain meals.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Multi-pitch Climbing Course - Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My friends and I recently participated in Yamnuska's new multi-pitch climbing course in Canmore. Everything about this course was excellent, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in getting into multi-pitch climbing. Our guide, Jason Billing, was a wonderful instructor, and by the end of the two-day course we felt very confident that we could begin to tackle some 5.9/5.10 pitches in the rockies. If you take this course, I would recommend having had some lead climbing and rappelling experience so that you can spend less time on the basics of climbing and more time on the logistics of multi-pitch. Happy climbing!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yamnuska - Bow To Yoho - Backcountry Ski Traverse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

6 days traverse from Bow to Yoho, with lots of backcountry skiing. One night at Bow Hut, one night camp, three nights at Stanley Mitchell Hut. This is a challenging trip, especially with the forecasted avalanche conditions.
The Yamnuska guides (Jesse and Craig) were exceptional, it’s fair to say that the trip exceeded my expectations. I will definitely go in more trips organized and guided by Yamnuska.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ice evolution course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I did the 5 day Ice evolution course and it was awesome. The course was adapted and tailored to our skill level as a group. I got more than I expected out of the course and am really happy with where my skills have progressed. Our guide Brent was fantastic and did an excellent job of selecting climbs and areas that were not hotspots for crowds. We almost always had the entire crag to ourselves. Fantastic experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamnuska Mountain Adventures also viewed

 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Yamnuska Mountain Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamnuska Mountain Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.