We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be nicer...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1016 9th Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1Z6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be nicer...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the Forest Suite at Canadian Artisans B&B for three nights in September and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was gorgeous, superbly equipped, and was an environment that we looked forward to relaxing in after a day of outdoor activities.

The unique and artistically constructed B&B is located on a quiet street, right next to a walking/biking path to the river and a very short walking distance from restaurants and shops in the lovely town of Canmore (not at all crowded and touristy like Banff).

The breakfasts were truly the best! There were many choices of abundant, fresh and nutritious food, as well as lovely ambiance and presentation. Hosts Bob and Val were so friendly, gracious and generous, orienting us to both the town and the surrounding area and suggesting interesting hikes and drives.

We have very fond memories of our stay at Canadian Artisans and only wish that we lived closer so that we could return more often.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place was a highlight of my travels. Here's why:

First off the hostess, Val. She really looked out for us. She gave us maps, chatted with us about our itineraries, and made good suggestions. She helped arrange reservations as we planned out our stay and really just genuinely put a lot of effort into making sure we had the best trip possible. I only regret that I missed out on her cooking!

The accommodations were awesome. We had a spacious room decorated in mountain decor. Val said that she and her husband had built the place themselves reusing wood from older places in Canmore. You could really sense that this was a place full of story.

The location was awesome as well. It's walking distance to tons of shops, restaurants as well as mountain trails. It was a perfect home base for our trips to Banff, Lake Louise and other spots in the region.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chose Canmore as a base for our first 3 nights in the Canadian Rockies and were very impressed with the town and whole area generally. After a long journey we were warmly welcomed by Val and Bob who proved to be excellent hosts during our stay. Our Forest suite room was first class and quirky! Very comfortable and well equipped. Val's breakfasts were simply superb and a work of art, every day being different.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We decided to stay in Canmore rather than the more popular and more expensive, crowded Banff. We chose Canadian Artisans because of its reviews and the fact that it stood out as being more unique than other accommodation in the area. We were not disappointed. As we drew up outside an excited Val, the owner, pointed to a pine marten in a tree by the house. Val is a lovely, friendly person who does her best to make you feel welcome in an unobtrusive way. Each day throughout our 4 night stay she enquired as we were leaving or returning how things were, was everything ok, could she offer any assistance etc. She made useful suggestions about places to visit etc. All in all a great hostess.
We opted not to have breakfast, preferring instead to self cater. The mini kitchen area was sufficient for our needs.
The room itself was really lovely - we chose the larger upstairs room and loved it. The architecture was superb. There were lots of little quirky details which added greatly to its character. The enormous built bed was seriously comfortable - very important after a long haul flight! The shower was, as stated by many others, wonderful.
The house is right by the woods and only a short walk to the river. We saw an Elk in the woods and there was evidence of bears - but didn't see any. It also wasn't far to walk into town but we always took the car.
We found the house very well located and travelled around visiting Banff, Lake Louise and Kananaskis (on Val's recommendation). The scenery was superb and the wildlife sightings were the most varied in our 24 day trip to Canada - beaver, elk, several grizzlies, black bears, moose, wild sheep and goats, 3 other types of deer and a number of birds of prey. A definite place to go if you want to see wildlife - binoculars essential!!
The Canmore tourist information staff were brilliantly helpful, local shops pleasant and varied. There was an excellent quilt shop in Canmore for the handicrafters. Far nicer and more pleasant than Banff which was very busy even though we were there very early summer. I can imagine it would be seriously crowded in high season and really difficult to park. I can definitely recommend this bed and breakfast as being amongst the prettiest places we've stayed in.

Room Tip: The top floor room offers a lot more privacy than the ground floor one but both rooms appear to be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Canadian Artisans Bed and Breakfast. Loved Valerie's breakfasts and all the romantic touches that she incorporated into our stay. There is really nothing to add that hasn't already been said by all the other reviews. Would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a special B & B to celebrate a special occasion of some kind!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you truly want to treat yourself and your favorite person for a romantic getaway in a beautiful part of our world......this is it! These two owners do it right and make you feel special and at home! The tree house suite is built with fine craftsmanship and detail. Breakfasts by Val are increadably delicious and always more than you can eat. This place gets a 10 in my book ....just wish we lived closer.

Patrick, Jacksonville, Florida

Room Tip: Two rooms available both awesome! No swimming pool or fitness center - not required in a B&B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

Lovely b&b, excellent service, unforgettable experience. We stay 3 days in a two weeks trip around Canada and it was the better accomodation at all, we'd like to thank Mrs.Valery for the kind and warm hospitality.

The top experience was the breakfast!!

















  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1016 9th Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1Z6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely designed and handcrafted by your hosts, each room is a 400 sq. ft. romantic sanctuary. There is natural light from 8 full length windows, private entrance, bar fridge and other amenities. The Treehouse suite boasts a double wet steam shower and king bed, while the Foresthouse offers a double whirlpool tub and queen bed. Complete with stained glass and hidden dragons, we are located on a quiet forested trail surprisingly close to downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.