We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 'girls getaway'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Creek Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great 'girls getaway'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is pricey, but well worth it. Our two bed apartment was beautiful; 2 ensuites one with tub the other with shower, the kitchen was well fitted out and the fireplace lovely. The mountain views were stunning. The management was very accommodating and organized. However, bring your own movies as there isn't a movie channel on the TV and their selection is very limited.

We used the spa, and the staff there were lovely. We also ate in the restaurant...beautiful Sushi, and a good menu.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for staying with us with your girlfriends! I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff, they will be happy to know they helped in making your stay that much more enjoyable! We hope that you and your friends come back to visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    81
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
93
151
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Convenient location near Banff National Park. We stayed for just one night but it was very nice! Quiet room, lovely kitchen, great soaker tub and shower, comfy bed and clean. Our room had a nice view of the mountains. Room also had a washer and dryer. Beautiful with lots to see and do in the area. Nice breakfast in the bistro. Free wifi but not very good reception. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and making such nice comments about our suites. We really appreciate them and hope you come back to stay with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Though you certainly have to pay a bit more for your condo, this place is beautiful and overlooks the Three Sisters Mountain! It is nice to be outside the chaos of Main St Banff, though it is a bit of a drive. It is certainly a very nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our beautiful views from our suites. We appreciate the time you took to write this review and thank you. We hope to enjoy your company again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose this hotel/condo because of the reviews on tripadvisor and we enjoyed our stay overall.

Pros:
Room is spacious
Robes are fluffy
Kitchen area with fridge if you want to have/make breakfast in room
Aveda toiletries
Nice view of 3 sisters mountain range on the deck
Strong wifi in the rooms
Very deep soaking tub
Good size hot tub (although men and women have to enter separately through the locker room

Cons:
The only con, and this has nothing to do with the actual hotel is that if you are visiting the Rockies for the first time and are planning to see the major sites, Canmore is actually a bit away from everything. Canmore is also not in the national park so you have to pay for admission per day per person you enter the park ($10)

Driving distances:
Banff 15 mins
Lake Louis 45mins
Columbia ice fields 2 hours 20 minutes (without stopping)

Canmore is great if you've been to the area before and are just looking to relax, hike, bike but if you are planning to see the major sights, staying in banff or lake Louise is probably more convenient.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for visiting Canmore and choosing our property! We appreciate all of your descriptive comments you have written and we hope that when you do come back for a second time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I would have rated this hotel as excellent had they not forgotten to clean our room the last night of our stay. Other than that everything else was good. I was pleased they took the 10% discount I found after I had made the reservation. The room was very spacious and great for our dog. I highly recommend the Bodhi Tree Spa inside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We love our animals and understand that our guests like to travel with them...so thank you for staying in one of our pet friendly suites. We do apologize that your room was missed for your stay over service and thank you for letting us know. We hope to see you and your dog again when you visit Canmore!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sexsmith, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We go to Canmore every May long weekend for our anniversary and this the the 4th year in a row we have stayed here. It's not as updated as the newer accommodations but the price is more reasonable.

A big bonus for us is that they allow dogs in some of their units (we were allowed to keep ours outside which is important since she is a big husky. We had her tied to her kennel so she couldn't wander around).

However, we have been disappointed the last couple of times we have stayed here with the housekeeping and and hot tubs. There seems to always been a hot tub that isn't working. They also ran out of towels and robes so our room was not replenished - how is that possible?!

They have underground parking which is nice but it's hard to find room for trucks. Their stalls are in between pillars and the space is tight it pull out. If you have a taller vehicle, it does not fit in the underground parking.

Will we return? Absolutely! We will just bring our own towels next time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate it year after year with us!! We apologize for not having enough robes and towels to replenish your suite, this is not a common issue at our property. Unfortunately the hot tubs do need to be maintained as they do malfunction, so we apologize if that did inconvenience your special weekend!! We are working on trying to fix this issue. Thank you and we hope to see you next May Long Weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in four different hotels during our stay in the Canadian Rockies and this was by far our favorite place. The staff was very friendly and the lodge was well maintained inside and out. There was also ample underground parking. The room was large, clean and included a small kitchen area with a frig. We liked the location. It was close to the highway so it offered easy access to Banff and was also a short drive to Canmore’s eclectic city center with great restaurants and interesting stores. As was typical for the area, they did not have air conditioning, but the windows were big and the fan in the room kept us moderately comfortable. If you don’t mind driving into Banff or you are just visiting Canmore, this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at Silver Creek during your vacation. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your suite and our staff!! Canmore is very eclectic and we do have great restaurants, so thank you for mentioning that in your review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#9 Family Hotel in Canmore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Canmore
Silver Creek Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.