We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Creek Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Summer Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were traveling in Alberta and were staying at several different hotels. By far the Silver Creek Lodge was the best. The lobby was inviting, the receptionist very friendly and informative. We really got into the architecture of the whole building complex. It was very well planned, very good materials were used, it was a feel about the whole place that was pleasant and comfortable. From the waterfalls at the entrance, the fire place in the lobby, the under ground parking, and our room was great! We really liked the full bath, platform bed, luxury bedding and towels, etc. It was a step above most hotels. I would imagine in the winter it would be even more inviting, as it seemed to be geared for that season most of all. We did have breakfast a few doors down the street, Craig's, and we had the most wonderful breakfast along with a great view of the mountains. We would go back to both, no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for writing such a glowing review about Silver Creek and for recognizing our special features both in the lobby and the guest suites!! We hope that you come back again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    77
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
89
140
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean. Regrettably we were given a room next to a wedding party (adjoining room) so we had no chance to sleep. There is no night reception so it is not easy to get a help for similar situations (you have to make a call to a security company). The lodge should have been more attentive on this when checking us in; or at least they could have warned us about the planned party... For the second night we could change rooms (got upgraded) but we were tired for that day. In the morning the lady at the reception did not handle the situation well, but a gentleman finally helped us.

Room Tip: Avoid adjoining rooms if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments, they help us improve our services and we are looking into a solution for better noise control for our very few adjoining suites.....I am glad that you were able to move to another suite and it was better!! We apologize for the noisy neighbours and were not expecting it to be that way!! Our security does handle these situations when called almost immediately!! We hope that you will try us again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at Silver Creek Lodge for a couple days in May. They let us check in early, staff was very friendly, room was huge, with separate bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, big washroom, 2 fireplaces (one in living area, other one in bedroom) and a balcony.
The view from the balcony is just spectacular; we were out front, above the restaurant, overlooking the mountains. Great way to end your day in Canmore!
Overall, awesome experience, we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you joysis for taking the time to write such a great review about us!!! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Silver Creek and will be back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I got a deal to stay here for two nights and go dog sledding. We paid $500 for the whole package and for a sleigh ride as well. Our room was beautiful and huge, full kitchen and a couch/living room area, beautiful bathroom, a king size bed and fire place out looking the beautiful, breathtaking Rocky Mountains. However while enjoying our mountain view all we could hear was the couple next door having their fun VERY loudly and clearly, all day long. We also heard other couples yelling and fighting so the rooms were not well sound proofed at all. However we did enjoy long soaks in the outdoor hot tubs each night and on our last morning which was very relaxing and enjoyable. We paid a package deal and am not sure if I would pay the full priced regular room rates but for a high class lodge it is beautiful and I would recommend it for a clean stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking advantage of our winter packages, we hope you enjoyed your sledding! Sometimes it is hard to control the loudness around the hallways and are sorry to hear that it was somewhat disruptive to your stay. We do hope that you will come back though and we would love to see you this summer or next winter!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked on agoda.com well in advance and got a good non-refundable rate.
The hotel is located adjacent to the freeway (Trans-Canada Hwy 1) but as we had a room on the opposite side of the hotel we had no road noise to speak of. However, our room had an adjoining room and the noise filtration from the neighbouring room was very problematic. Not only could we hear their television and their conversations, we could hear every word they said. Not only is the adjoining door quite light-weight, but there is a gap under the door of about three-quarters of an inch. Fortunately for us, the adjoining room was vacant on the 2nd night of our stay.
The room layout is excellent and the fireplace and kitchenette (with dishes and cutlery) were very nice. Drawbacks are that the kitchenette had poor lighting and the built-in desk also had no light source, such as a lamp. The bed was quite soft.
On check-in our thermostat was not working (needed a new battery) and this was fixed by hotel maintenance. However, the thermostat had very little control over the room temperature although we set the temperature as low as possible. It was quite hot when we were in Canmore but we couldn't get the room temperature below 23 degrees, which is quite warm, especially for sleeping.
The hotel has very appealing looking outdoor hot tubs, although we didn't use them. The secure underground parking was great.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the highway and try to get a non-adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Silver Creek and for taking the time to point out all aspects of your stay with us....this helps us improve our customer service and our guest's future stays with us so again thank you. We hope that you do come back and stay with us again and please do remind us to give you a non-adjoining suite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I LOVE this boutique hotel. The pluses: super customer service, very friendly staff, super clean rooms, very nice contemporary decor, easy access, they use aveda products (my fav). The spa is right there and nice. There are three really nice hot tubs. The rooms are really cool. They are not the typical hotel rooms. It's like a nice apartment. It has a kitchen not just a kitchenette, a laundry room, nice large bathroom. I felt like I was home away from home.
The negatives: the spare hide-a-bed mattress is really uncomfortable, it is close to the highway but that didn't bother me. It's not super loud.
That being said it's the customer service that won me over. Now a days with so many hotels to pick from that is what always wins me over (that and a clean room). They went above and beyond with anything we needed and were always very friendly. Love this place. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying and loving us! We try so hard to make our guest's stay the best they can be so I will be sure to pass this along to management and staff!!! So thank you again for such nice comments!! We hope you will be back in Canmore soon and staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the perfect place for us to stay, the views are great, the staff was friendly and we were within walking distance to the downtown. The spa, hot pools and restaurant were all very nice. The patio in the restaurant was awesome and after dinner and drinks it was only an elevator ride back to our rooms. The room were clean and well kept, we had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judyhr11, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad to hear that you used all the facilities!! We try our best on a daily basis to keep our guests happy so thank you!! See you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#9 Family Hotel in Canmore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Canmore
Silver Creek Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.