We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week at christmas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Creek Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“week at christmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a nice experience here. The room we had was a 2 bed apartment. It was very quiet - didnt mind the trains. The room is needing a refresh, chipped furniture and trim. Lighting in bedrooms bad and had to make some comprimises with heat. One bedroom very hot and one bedroom cold. The staff were awesome, brought us blankets for the cold room. The cleaning staff were fantastic. Loved the 3 hotpools. Always had one to ourselves. Had a fire alarm evac-
The staff didn't seem to know what to do. After the fire dept came it was determined to be a false alarm. The manager assured us the staff would get some emergency training.
Although the spa and restaurant are not owned by the hotel, we tried them both. The spa was nice and the restaurant not.
All in all a great place for the money. Just have to look over a few things to enjoy the pluses.
When comparing (there is so many choices) consider the heated underground parking. That was fabulous. Arrived at -30 and it was nice to always get into a warm vehicle and no scrapping windshields.

Room Tip: I think all are good- trains were not a concern. Maybe choose top floor as we had issues with stompi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for spending your Christmas Holidays with us!! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves!! Sorry for the false alarm but that does happen on occasion, good to know the alarms work!! We have had all of our new staff emergency trained so thank you for helping us with that by your comments. We appreciate all!!! So thank you again!!! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    78
    40
    12
    9
See reviews for
89
145
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've stayed here twice and the first time was outstanding - I would've rated it a high 5 out of 5. This last time made me so angry with the hotel that I will not be going back. We booked several rooms for a family Christmas celebration and we changed our dates from when we originally wanted to go specifically because the hotel said that we could have our rooms all together on these certain days, or at least on the same floor, which was of upmost importance to us. All of our rooms were supposed to be on the 2nd floor, but when we got there one room was not only on a different floor, but as far away from the other rooms as possible. Despite my desperate pleas to change rooms so our family could be together the hotel staff did nothing - didn't even offer a discount for their error. We would've stayed at another hotel if they would've at least had the courtesy to inform us beforehand that we were being 'bumped' and wouldn't be together.
We were also told our rooms would all have king beds, but that wasn't true either - we had a queen bed and a very small suite. Not impressed.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you choose because you'll be bumped if a condo owner decides to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just for one night this past weekend - our first getaway just the two of us since having our first child 15 months ago. Our first impressions were very good. Our room was very nice, the bed was very nice, the hot tubs were wonderful. We went out for dinner, and then everything went wrong.

We came back from dinner about 10:40 pm. My card didn't work to enter the underground parking. Fortunately, it wasn't yet 11 (which is when the front desk shuts down for the night), so someone was still at the front desk to let us in. We went up to our room, and as we approached it, we started smelling gas. We entered the room and were immediately overwhelmed by the smell of gas. To me it smelled like gasoline. It stung our eyes and noses, and gave us headaches instantly. We quickly stepped out and went to the front desk. Again, thank goodness it wasn't yet 11, or we'd have been stuck (either outside, or sleeping in a gas-filled room). The desk clerk was very helpful, and immediately gave us another room.

We grabbed our stuff out of our old room as quickly as we could, opened the patio door to let it air out, and then went up to our new room. My wife called down to catch the desk clerk before she left to let her know that we left the door open in our original room, so that it wouldn't get left open all night. We also asked why it was so hot in our new room, as the thermostat (which someone had lowered to 12 celsius) said that it was 25 degrees in the room! We were assured it would cool off soon.

The new room was not nearly as nice. The alarm clock wouldn't turn on, and there was no big deep tub like the original room had. Nor was there a balcony.

Well, we slept in that room, in Canmore in December, with the window wide open all night. In the morning, it was up to 26 degrees. And all of the clothes in our suitcase smelled like gas.

We mentioned all this at the front desk the next morning (same clerk as the night before). She apologized for the inconvenience, but that's it. No discount, no nothing. It was not a pleasant stay, and they did nothing to make us ever want to come back or recommend it to anyone.

And all I can think is what would we have done if we'd gotten back from dinner after 11? I guess I'd be writing reviews of two hotels.

Room Tip: Your choice between sweltering heat or headaches from the smell of gas. There are pros and cons to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for writing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that you smelled gas in your suite (our fireplaces are electrical ) and with some further investigating we found out that the Esso located just down the street were replacing their gas pumps so the whole area unfortunately was permeated with a gas smell. Unfortunately that is out of our control.
I would like to see you try staying with us again when visiting Canmore so if you would like to discuss this please do not hesitate to contact me. judy@waymarker.ca

I hope to hear from you soon and we wish you very Happy Holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I struggle on whether or not I should give a this lodge a 3 or a 4 rating. The pricing was reasonable. We arrived in Canmore late Friday and couldn't find the Lodge, it is tucked away. We phone for directions and did not get an adequate response so we just had to figure it out on our own. Eventually, we stop at their affiliated spa and they directed us to the Lodge.

Front desk staff was professional and friendly. Restaurant was great, good service and good food. The hotel was pretty and the view from our room was beautiful. The rooms were well designed and attractive (except the shower was very small and sinks very shallow). Beds are comfortable enough. Our Satellite tv didn't work, no remote in room so I asked for one which was delivered but after following the directions a number of times it didn't work. No movies on tv had to go to front desk to rent them. We didn't bother.

The room wasn't as clean as I would have liked. It was dusty and there was dead flies behind end tables (open concept) in living room. White stuff on floor in one of the bathrooms which I think was toothpaste from a previous stay. One of the toilets handle stuck. Alarm clocks were hard to set and didn't work. Also, they were having problems with one of the elevators and they are very slow. Not much to do at the hotel.

We did try out the Rapunzels Spa, which is their 'sister' spa , It was excellent. Best massage I had in a long time! Pedicure was good too. I think this place is a must. I had Chris for my massage therapist and he was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate you doing so. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are sorry to hear that you had a hard time finding us so I will look over our directions on our confirmation letters and see where we can improve. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Well if the view wasnt enough for a 5* review I can add some comments about our wonderful stay.
We were visiting friends in Alberta and they took us to this lodge for a fun night. In adorable Canmore, just outside Banff..,We were amazed at the price of this room for where it is and what it is. We had a 2 bdrm, 2 bath suite with a gigantic balcony, full kitchen and on top of all that superb quality, modern brand new decor and design.
Amazing beds and might I say again the VIEW was breath taking. This room was nicer than our home, the hotel overall was high end, 3 hot tubs outside, a spa and small fitness room.

The only downfall was the front desk is only open 7-11. So one night we couldn't get back in the hotel at all. Had to go down through underground parking. Really overall though, that was a small problem in a magical stay!!

Oh an by the way after a few days vacationing in Alberta we all went back to The Lodge for another night!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!!! We hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first time visiting the Canmore area and after staying in a more homely lodging the night before the Silver Creek Lodge was a nice change. Honestly I don't think there's a room in the entire hotel that doesn't have a view of the mountains. When you enter the hotel it had a very modern, sexy feel and it was the same for the room we stayed in. We stayed in a very spacious one king bed hotel room and the view of the mountains was amazing! Everything you need and more: living room w/sink, large bedroom with walk in closet, dimming lights, electric fireplace and even an alarm clock with an iPod/iPhone dock. It felt like we got more than what we paid for in terms of value.
At night we didn't want to go out so we dined in the Wild Orchid Asian Bistro. The restaurant was good/very good not great, a little pricy if you don't want anything too expensive. But the apps were great. I would recommend looking at other restaurants if you want more bang for your buck, but if you're looking to relax and don't mind dishing out a little more money, the Wild Orchid Asian Bistro is a good choice with a great view.
In terms of amenities we didn't have a chance to use the hot tubs - there are only 3 available and usually only 4-6 people can fit comfortably and it was busy whenever we would pass by. If you don't mind the company of strangers, I'm sure this won't be a problem for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Silver Creek is as exactly as you describe so thank you so much for sharing this!!! We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Front desk service was just ok. Very clean and modern suites complete with faux fireplaces and a rainfall shower. Beautiful views of the mountains. The insuite washer and dryer was a nice surprise as well as a full kitchen. For the price it is definitely worth the stay. The spa facility in the lower level was a nice treat and the 3 outdoor hot tubs are great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you found time to soak in our hot tubs......we hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
#9 Family Hotel in Canmore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Canmore
Silver Creek Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.