We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Day weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian

Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian to your Saves list
Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   91B Three Sisters Drive, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3A1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Family Day weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a nice condo complex, the pool area was great and it was awesome that it was heated so although it was snowing, everyone had a blast in the pool. The pool area is shared with the hotel/building next door so at times it was very crowded.

The unit itself was clean and really nice, having said that I wondered if I would have gotten a better deal with the Bellstar properties as the unit was very comparable to those properties but the price was the highest.

Couple tips bring plastic cups as our unit didn't have any which left us stuck and not able to bring drinks to the pool. Also, we had to leave the unit to BBQ and what we found was not great. A BBQ that didn't work plus a couple inches of frozen ice/snow right in front of it making it kind of slippery and dangerous. We just ended up going next door where the BBQs were much better!

Other than that a nice condo in Canmore great for the family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room is awesome. There are 2 separate bedrooms, each with its own bathroom and shower. The jacuzzi tub was a nice touch. It has kitchen and laundry facilities if that's your cup of tea. The pool and outdoor hot tub was excellent. The location is very quiet and beautiful and is very nice if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Canmore ( only about 2kms from downtown),
Check in was very easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent the weekend with our 2 teenagers and it is very clean, quiet and relaxing! Far enough removed from town that you don't have all traffic noise but close enough to pick up anything you need in a couple of minutes. This is our second visit and would definitely go back again! We have stayed in several different condo style accomodations in Canmore over the past few years and would definitely say this is the best one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We loved everything about this place, and hope to get back soon. It was perfect for our family (two adults and two pre-teens), but it would be fine for two families as well. Two nice bedrooms with lots of room and each with its own bathroom. TVs everywhere (great for those who are cable-deprived at home!), and very nice layout.

We were busy during our visit, with the kids' activities, so not much of a chance to check out the whole property, but the room was fabulous, the parking underground was easy and convenient, and the building was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

This review is a bit late but we enjoyed our stay here so much, I wanted to share it with others.

We stayed here with 2 children and grandparents. It is a quite loacation, away from the train and downtown of Canmore but only a 3 minute drive to town. If you love to take long quite, walks in the mountains this is a great spot. If you want to be albe to walk to shops and restaurants, don't stay here. This is actually our second time staying in this building, last time we booked through The Grand Canadian Resort. It is the same thing, Platinum Suites must just own a few units in the building. Check in was a little bit strange because we had to stop at Dead Man's Flats to get a key but it was smooth. The only issue I had was that they only gave us one key for four adults. This was a little inconvenient at times. They also forgot to give us dish soap but when we phoned they delivered it within a couple hours. Cosidering they were in dead man's flats, I thought this was pretty good.

Our suite was huge with two large bedrooms, a kitchen, dining area and living room. There is a great outdoor pool that is open all year. It was very clean and modern. It has been redecorated from when we stayed the last time. Free underground parking.

We will definitely stay here the next time we go to Canmore.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed 2 nights in Mar09 at the Platinum Suites, which is part of a larger complex called the Grand Canadian, located a few minutes from the Canmore town centre. Beautiful location right beneath the Three Sisters and other classic mountains of the Canmore area. Being located well off the main highway means you are a bit further from the town centre, but this is more than made up for by the fact that the place is so quiet with no traffic or train noise giving you that truly "out in the mountains" feel.

The rooms are superb with over 1100 sq ft of space including 2 bedrooms (one with king bed, jacuzzi, shower and full bathroom; the other with 2 queen beds and its own full bathroom), full modern kitchen with granite counters, 3 flat screen TV's, a big living and dining area with fireplace and a private balcony. Tons of space for a big family or multiple friends to sleep and live.

The complex itself has a great outdoor hot tub, heated pool and indoor hot tub, a fitness room, common BBQ area and library. The heated underground parking is also awesome to have in the winter.

Canmore itself is a virbant little town with interesting shops, spas and superb restaurants. Canmore itself is at the entrance to Banff National Park, so when staying there one benefit is that you don't need a Banff Park Pass and it's an easy day trip into Banff (20 min) or Lake Louise (1 hour) if you want to go there. Tons to do all 4 seasons, with great skiing nearby (Sunshine Village 30 minutes drive, Lake Louise ~1 hour, Mt. Norquay in Banff ~20 minutes; Nakiska ~30 minutes). The more adventurous can also try mountaineering or ice climbing. Summer offers world class golfing hiking, climbing, rafting and canoeing. Canmore is an outdoor paradise.

We love it out there and go back often, staying overnight when we can. And when we do, the Platinum Suites provided us with a perfect mountain getaway in the Canadian Rockies.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian

Address: 91B Three Sisters Drive, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Canmore in the heart of the Rocky mountains surrounded by unfettered forest, riveting rivers and majestic mountains, our 1100 square feet luxury condominium suites have a state-of-the-art kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room with fireplace and in-suite washer & dryer. Suites hold up to 6 persons. Cable television and high speed internet is in each suite. After a summer hike or winter ski in the nearby Olympic Nordiq Centre, relax in our heated outdoor pool with sauna and hot tub surrounded by majestic snow capped mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platinum Suites At The Grand Canadian Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platinum Suites at the Grand Canadian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.