We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Year vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Fall Early Bird
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Canmore
North Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Loved the hotel and all its features. We have rebooked to go back in September.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    119
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
179
149
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

The staff at the Blackstone was some of the best that I have ever dealt with. Very friendly and accomodating. The room was amazing with a fire place and granite counter tops everyewhere. The view from the room was nothing short of breath taking, being backed by a mountain. As far as location, it is great. Slightly off of the main road through town it is unaffected by the steady traffic that passes through on the way to Banff. I would definitely recommend it to a friend and will most certainly be back

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed at Blackstone for our honeymoon in November, and even before we arrived we were smitten with the place and the staff. I had called the reception the week before we went to arrange some champagne to be in our room on arrival, and Deryck, the manager, was extremely friendly and helpful. The lodge is situated in the gorgeous town of Canmore, which is full of lovely friendly people and scenery. There is a heated basement car park for residents, and on check in we were greeted by Deryck, who immediately remembered us and booked us in. The room was stunning, a gorgeous kitchen with breakfast bar, a dining table, living area, bathroom and cozy bedroom with a king size bed. We also had a balcony that had views of the surrounding mountains, including the three sisters - in fact all the windows had breath taking viewpoints.
Throughout our stay the staff were warm and helpful, suggesting lots of different activities, giving us vouchers for different attractions, and recommending great days out and restaraunts. The cleaning staff were charming and couldn't do enough to help.
Its an excellent base to explore the local area, we visited Banff, Banff National Park, Jasper, to name a few - and Canmore itself offers plenty of lovely food and things to do. The highlights of our week - both recommended by Blackstone, were dog sledding and eating at Silvertip Golf resort.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending Blackstone to anyone, we cannot wait to revisit, and will be staying there again without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

we had a 2 room suite with a large family room, tv in all the rooms, new appliances and all the kitchen tools you need for a family cook. A small poo and hottubs. Located close to groceries store, restaurants and with 1-1.30 hours drive to Banff, trails, Lake Louise...we did daily trips and came back for dinners...from Canmore there is a lot to do and the staff will give you good ideas and directions if needed. Great view of the Sisters mountains from both our balconies.

great for the outdoor lovers with a taste for luxury stays.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We went to Lake Louise and Banff and had the opportunity to spend 2 nights at this beautiful Resort- The view was breath taking, it is a true paradise. We had the opportunity to go down to the pool and use the world pool as well. There is a beautiful fire place in the centre of the room, outstanding kitchen, all the extremities of home..

Thanks Wes and Andre!!!

From Marsha Castanheiro and Giovanni Simone

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Modern and elegant. Very nice view and a real cozy environment. Quiet and peaceful. Nice location, close to a all your amenities. Really nice restaurants very close by. Nice heated pool and spa. Large Kitchen. Big size rooms with lots of room and comfortable beds along with outside balconies. Overall its a beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this Condo in May of 2009. We absolutely loved our experience. The location was tremendous with an amazing view of the Three Sisters Mountain Peaks right from the spacious Patio. The condo is well appointed with brand new decor and a perfect floor plan for two couples. The bedrooms are separated by the living room and kitchen, which is great for privacy.

The facility has all you need with underground parking, a fitness facility, and a good size outdoor pool and hot tub. The downtown of Canmore is 2 minutes away, and there are food options, convenience stores and gas stations within walking distance. Beautiful Spray lake is but a 10 minute drive.

Nothing comes to mind to taint the experience, and I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway to the beautiful Rocky Mountains!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.