We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place To Stay. Very Modern Suites.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Fall Early Bird
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Place To Stay. Very Modern Suites.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for two days and really enjoyed our time. See below for positives and some very minor negatives.

One Tip:

If you are bringing skis, they don't let you store them in the room. Make sure you bring a padlock and key so you can store them in the building storage area, but you need to use your own lock!

Positives:

- Suites very modern and spacious
- Kitchen
- HDTV's
- Nice Heated Pool and two Hot Tubs (10:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.)
- Friendly Staff
- Lots of tea and coffee provided in room
- Free Underground parking
- Good free wifi
- Good Location


Minor Negatives

- People above our suite was very loud and could hear them walking around and dropping things.
- Shower head had no real pressure

We hope to return soon to a lovely property in which to relax for a couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
ifrit1984, I hope you were able to enjoy the fresh powder that many of the local ski resorts had last week. Thank you for your detailed review and of course for your business. We do have locks available at the front desk but they are limited in supply during the busy ski season. Please phone ahead next time you are coming in a we can put one aside for you if needed. We are anticipating more snow here next week which will be excellent for the skiing and snowboarding customers that are able to take advantage of our packages. Hoping to see you again in the near future. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    122
    30
    10
    14
See reviews for
189
164
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a slightly modernized feel in Canmore. We had a 2 bedroom suite in the far corner of the hotel and heard absolutely no noise from anything. Beautiful views from all the windows, amazing full kitchen, Wonderful beds and the staff went above the call of duty when I had some flowers delivered, they put them all in vases and arranged them and redid the card for me. They also added a bottle of sparkling wine at no cost for us. Great place will be back.

one small negative was the wifi in our room was pretty non existent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Cary_Wells, Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful comment that "the staff went above the call of duty" during your most recent stay. It is comments such as these that motivate us to always strive for the next level of service. We hope to see you back in the near future, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to enhance your stay at our Lodge. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We suddenly realized we needed a room in Canmore on our road trip. Our stay was SUPERB!! Tho very short. Our suite was WOW in every way!!! Beautiful! Clean, lovely view, nice hottub... Loved the king beds. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
happytravelers42013, I am happy that we were able to help out when you needed a room. Thank you very much for your most positive review of our Lodge, and when you can stay longer please do not hesitate to give us a call to book your room. The Ski hills are open now and we have some great ski packages for the winter as well as several others. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It doesn't have an over powering cottage wood feel where everything is knotted pine. It was well balanced wood and stone rooms. Not too far from all the shopping and attractions. There's no room service or restaurant in the building which is quite a negative, who wants to go get breakfast in the cold!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dan C, Thank you for staying with us at the Blackstone and noticing our well balanced interior design. Many of our guests enjoy the kitchens so they can make fresh breakfasts in the room without having to leave the resort and go to a restaurant. On the other hand we have a great selection of local restaurants sure to whet the appetite of all who visit the Bow Valley. Looking forward to your next stay with us upon your return. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Clean Beautifully updated suites with gorgeous full kitchens. Fabulous linens. Parking garage was first class. Staff were friendly. Pool and Hot Tubs were wonderful. Fabulous value and a wonderful stay over all. The only negative is that there was no restaurant on site however suites had a full kitchen so you didn't need one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Grizwaldfam, Thank you for Sharing your views of our Lodge to the community and for Being so Honest in your review. Although we do not have a restaurant on site, Canmore has 75 restaurants, and with all of the variety so close to the resort, this is one of the many reasons to go exploring. Having the Full kitchen in suite is obviously a great advantage and during the summer months, you are able to shop local produce at the market as well. Hoping to be able to welcome you back for your next "Family Vacation". Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get out of Calgary for his birthday weekend and were tired of doing Banff, so thought we would try Canmore for a change of pace... far enough away to escape the city, and still in the mountains. After a search through Hotwire and Hotels.com, and after looking through reviews here, decided to try this place. It looked promising, but have been disappointed enough in the past so decided not to get our hopes up too high. In this case, we could have and still not have been disappointed!
We are staying in a one bedroom suite. There is a comfortable suite area with faux fireplace ( pleasant ambiance, without the obvious hazards and maintenance) large new flats teen and DVD player for evening entertainment, and a charming dining room suite. The fully equipped kitchen has great full-sized appliances, beautiful granite countertops and all the basics including small appliances. Nice bathroom, very comfortable queen bed, another telly in the bedroom and apt sized washer and dryer.
This place is fantastic. Still have a
night left and will definitely come back again. Lovely!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Twyla L. Please pass along a warm Happy Birthday to your Husband from all of us here at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge, and I am glad that everything met or exceeded your expectations. Your description captures our rooms quite well and we have had many positive comments regarding our new upgrades and amenities in the rooms. Please let us know when you are returning to the Lodge, as we are honoured when previous guests become preferred returning guests. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay in the suite- it is all you could want- had lots of room and rooms to have company too. It seemed new and was clean. The staff was friendly. Loved the jacuzzi outside too. One thing to improve would be better movie channels and a better TV.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
DJBLMB, Thank you for joining trip advisor community to post a most favourable review for our Lodge. I am happy to see that we were able to provide you with "all you could want". I am happy to announce that all of our TV's have been upgraded to beautiful 32" and 42" flat screen LCD monitors, and to top it off we now have HD Cable in as well. Once again thank you for your review and for being a customer. Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.