We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Blackstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Pre Pay and Save!
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Mpls
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Loved the Blackstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights. We had a wonderful suite that was a little dusty. We had a large 2-bedroom suite 2 bathrooms, large kitchen, dining area, living area. We had only booked a 1 bdrm. Loved the extra bathroom, so both of us could get ready at the same time. Great views as well. I would highly recommend staying here for a get-away. We found it so relaxing we didn't want to leave. Wifi worked fine for us, but no connection in the gym. Free underground parking was nice. Front desk staff was indifferent. Loved having the kitchen to help cut costs. Washer/Dryer in suite was also very nice. Most days made all meals. The one night out at Grizzly Paw was $50.00 and we just had basic sandwiches. I would stay again if ever so lucky to get back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Love2TravelMpls, Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted of our property. Many of our guests take advantage of the kitchens in their suites which as you pointed out reduces the costs of a vacation in the mountains. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the stunning views, work out in our fitness centre and relax during your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to beautiful Canmore, Alberta. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    125
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
196
174
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent two nights here recently and overall the accomodations are 'fine'. Dusting is an afterthought as one rub of your hand along the headboard top will attest to in our unit, as well as quick dusting in the main living room. Furniture starting to show some wear. Front Desk Staff just don't seem happy to be there, upon entering the building they kind of look up but no greeting at all unless you initiate it yourself. Balconies need a good sweep. Did not use the pool facilities but were able to see the yellow tape attesting to a small closure area between the pool and the hottub.

Room Tip: higher up you are the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
tofino, Thank you for your recent review of our property. Being a top Contributor, I do value your opinion and will share this review with all departments to let them see how various items can affect a guests stay with us. We strive to make an enjoyable experience for all guests and this obviously starts with the front desk, and continues through out the resort. Our doors are always open for your return to the property, and please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable during your next stay. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We just keep going back to Blackstone when in Canada. The suites suit our needs, allowing flexibility in your stay.
I understand that there is a new management team in place at the hotel, and you can feel there have been some changes, all to the better. In past trips, the beding had been overly warm, this appears to be have addressed along with some upgrades to the suites inc the replacement of the outdated CRT TV's in the bedrooms.
I am amazed by the negative reviews, I travel a lot with both business and pleasure and this is one of the better hotels, even compared with some of the more up market 'business hotels'.
We've already booked a return stay for next year!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
UkSil, It is with gratitude that I respond to this review from a Top level Contributor. With 268 reviews it is clear that you speak with the knowledge of a respected expert. I too am surprised by the other seemingly negative reviews but as we all know there are two sides to every story. You are correct that we have upgraded all of the linens to a luxury level and the TV's have also been updated. We welcome you on your next trip and as always, do not hesitate to contact us if you require anything above and beyond from our resort. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am surprised by some of the negative reviews. We had a wonderful suite that was spotless. Great views as well. I would highly recommend staying here for a get away. We found it so relaxing we didn't want to leave.

The only thing I would change is (yes I realize these are suites with full kitchens) maybe a small commissary, much like you find in high end business hotels. We got in late and didn't have time to grab any food. A small pantry with microwave and dry items would be great here.

Wifi can be slow but it is in the mountains so you cant really complain about that. Free underground heated parking. Big trucks might have a bit of a time getting in. Its pretty tight. Elevator is slow, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Shelly0975, I always appreciate the thoughtful comments and Ideas that Senior reviewers provide and we will take these into consideration as they are great ideas. I am also surprised by a few of the reviews. As you know we always attempt to exceed everyone's expectations, but it seems that this can be quite challenging at times. Please let us know when you "Want to Move in" and we will welcome you back to the Bow Valley, Canmore, Alberta. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel gave my husband and I a once in a lifetime experience. We were staying there while we got engaged in the Rocky Mountains; a place where our relationship as a couple started. Once the Staff found out that we were getting engaged they went above and beyond. I was recovering from a serious car accident that left me in a wheelchair and when they found out they upgraded us to the Biggest Suite in the Hotel at no extra charge! It was one of the best experiences of our life. We now go back every year at least once a year and guess where we stay?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
ThreePupDaddy, At the Resort we always appreciate our Repeat guests and are thankful for the positive reviews that many of our guests post regarding their stays. We attempt to go above and beyond for all of our guests and are gracious that you have recognised this and look forward to your return when your next anniversary arrives. Looking forward to your next stay with us, Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Front desk accommodating. Cleaning staff slow. RAN OUT OF HOT WATER at 1030 in the morning. Had a cold shower. Pool area under construction. Friend noticed door handle broken on patio door.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Leedoll40, Thank you for your comment that the Front desk staff were accommodating, and I do apologise that the one of the outdoor hot tubs was being repaired. I do hope that you were able to use the other outdoor ho tub and full swimming pool as these were fully open during your stay. Please give me a call at your convenience to discuss your comments if you have a moment at 18888308883. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Bay, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stay away from this resort. We thought we did our research to have incredible accommodations in the Rockies to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. We couldn't have been more disappointed. The resort is overcrowded so the amenities ( pool and hot tubs) were not an option. The apartments are dirty, and the hotel service is horrible. To top off the bad experience, we even had to change rooms mid stay because the hotel had booked a wedding reception and the music was so loud our floor was shaking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Louise_and_Dan, thank you for staying with us at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I apologise for the "overcrowded" feeling that you had and can appreciate this comment as we are frequently quite busy as a resort destination in the mountains can be during the summer months. Our Outdoor Pool and Hot tubs are usually of sufficient size for most of our guests but I understand that, being your 10th anniversary you might have been looking for some seclusion. Please call me directly at 18888308883 if you have a moment as I greatly value your feedback and would like the opportunity to discuss further. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.