We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Fall Early Bird
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We just keep going back to Blackstone when in Canada. The suites suit our needs, allowing flexibility in your stay.
I understand that there is a new management team in place at the hotel, and you can feel there have been some changes, all to the better. In past trips, the beding had been overly warm, this appears to be have addressed along with some upgrades to the suites inc the replacement of the outdated CRT TV's in the bedrooms.
I am amazed by the negative reviews, I travel a lot with both business and pleasure and this is one of the better hotels, even compared with some of the more up market 'business hotels'.
We've already booked a return stay for next year!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
UkSil, It is with gratitude that I respond to this review from a Top level Contributor. With 268 reviews it is clear that you speak with the knowledge of a respected expert. I too am surprised by the other seemingly negative reviews but as we all know there are two sides to every story. You are correct that we have upgraded all of the linens to a luxury level and the TV's have also been updated. We welcome you on your next trip and as always, do not hesitate to contact us if you require anything above and beyond from our resort. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    113
    29
    9
    12
See reviews for
170
145
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am surprised by some of the negative reviews. We had a wonderful suite that was spotless. Great views as well. I would highly recommend staying here for a get away. We found it so relaxing we didn't want to leave.

The only thing I would change is (yes I realize these are suites with full kitchens) maybe a small commissary, much like you find in high end business hotels. We got in late and didn't have time to grab any food. A small pantry with microwave and dry items would be great here.

Wifi can be slow but it is in the mountains so you cant really complain about that. Free underground heated parking. Big trucks might have a bit of a time getting in. Its pretty tight. Elevator is slow, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Shelly0975, I always appreciate the thoughtful comments and Ideas that Senior reviewers provide and we will take these into consideration as they are great ideas. I am also surprised by a few of the reviews. As you know we always attempt to exceed everyone's expectations, but it seems that this can be quite challenging at times. Please let us know when you "Want to Move in" and we will welcome you back to the Bow Valley, Canmore, Alberta. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel gave my husband and I a once in a lifetime experience. We were staying there while we got engaged in the Rocky Mountains; a place where our relationship as a couple started. Once the Staff found out that we were getting engaged they went above and beyond. I was recovering from a serious car accident that left me in a wheelchair and when they found out they upgraded us to the Biggest Suite in the Hotel at no extra charge! It was one of the best experiences of our life. We now go back every year at least once a year and guess where we stay?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
ThreePupDaddy, At the Resort we always appreciate our Repeat guests and are thankful for the positive reviews that many of our guests post regarding their stays. We attempt to go above and beyond for all of our guests and are gracious that you have recognised this and look forward to your return when your next anniversary arrives. Looking forward to your next stay with us, Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Front desk accommodating. Cleaning staff slow. RAN OUT OF HOT WATER at 1030 in the morning. Had a cold shower. Pool area under construction. Friend noticed door handle broken on patio door.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Leedoll40, Thank you for your comment that the Front desk staff were accommodating, and I do apologise that the one of the outdoor hot tubs was being repaired. I do hope that you were able to use the other outdoor ho tub and full swimming pool as these were fully open during your stay. Please give me a call at your convenience to discuss your comments if you have a moment at 18888308883. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Bay, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stay away from this resort. We thought we did our research to have incredible accommodations in the Rockies to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. We couldn't have been more disappointed. The resort is overcrowded so the amenities ( pool and hot tubs) were not an option. The apartments are dirty, and the hotel service is horrible. To top off the bad experience, we even had to change rooms mid stay because the hotel had booked a wedding reception and the music was so loud our floor was shaking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Louise_and_Dan, thank you for staying with us at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I apologise for the "overcrowded" feeling that you had and can appreciate this comment as we are frequently quite busy as a resort destination in the mountains can be during the summer months. Our Outdoor Pool and Hot tubs are usually of sufficient size for most of our guests but I understand that, being your 10th anniversary you might have been looking for some seclusion. Please call me directly at 18888308883 if you have a moment as I greatly value your feedback and would like the opportunity to discuss further. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 days with a number of my high school buddies (we are all in our 50's now) and really liked the large rooms with full kitchens. We had our own balcony and were treated well by the staff. The underground parking was a plus as was the ease of walking to a couple of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Lance A, I am pleased that you spent the time to post a positive review regarding your weekend with your friends at our Lodge. I will pass on your great comments to the staff as they are always attempting to please everyone with great service in the resort at all times, most with success. The Majority of our rooms all feature private balconies with stunning views of both sides of the Valley Mountains. Please keep us in mind for your next trip out with your friends as we love greeting return guests at the property. Thank you, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Came to Canmore to attend a destination wedding, so got to visit friends and family in other hotels. The Blackstone - where we were staying - was the best value.

We had a large 2-bedroom suite (both bedrooms with King beds), 2 bathrooms, large kitchen, dining area, living area, 2 balconies. The trim level was very high, the staff all very helpful and friendly, and location an easy walk to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Jayaruu, Many thanks to you for choosing the Blackstone while in Canmore, and for being able to view other hotels and staff as well to base your comparison on. It is truly great to see a long time tripadvisor member share honest review with others. Many of our guests enjoy the short walk to main street where there are many restaurants to dine at, and other activities as well. I can see by your established profile that you have travelled to many cities and please remember us on your next journey to the Bow Valley. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.