We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Fall Early Bird
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here midweek for a kid-free vacation. I am beyond impressed with this place. It was immaculate and the our one bedroom suite was huge. The kitchen was beautiful and we really enjoyed being able to have breakfast in the room and make picnics for our hikes. The pool and hot tubs were fantastic. I was concerned that our room backed onto the highway and pool, but I couldn't hear the highway at all (and I'm a really light sleeper), and the pool closed at 10pm every night so it was super quiet. The front desk was pretty rude when we arrived but they redeemed themselves with excellent service later. They also have a selection of DVD's if you want to stay in and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Jenn R.
Thank you for your positive words towards our Resort in the Mountains. I hope that you were able to see just how many different hikes for all abilities Canmore has to offer. I am glad that you were able to see the front desks true character shine during your stay and apologise for the initial feeling you were given. On your next trip back let us know and we can have some up to date trail reports ready for you from the locals who take hiking to the next level in the Valley. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    106
    27
    8
    12
See reviews for
158
136
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed almost everywhere in Canmore and most places have great facilities but poor rooms or poor facilities and great rooms. Blackstone has it all, and is the most spacious 1 bdrm unit I have ever rented, anywhere.
The service was fantastic, facilites were all clean, room was amazing. My family and I will definately chose this as our 1 choice for Canmore from now on!
Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Jen N. I am most grateful for your positive review of our property from a senior Trip advisor member. With the New TV's in most suites, and the New Linen arriving shortly you are sure to be impressed again on your next return. If there is anything we can do at the Resort to assist you in any way for your next stay please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you once again. Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this property for a weekend away - there were 4 of us.
When we checked in we got a suprise that we were upgraded for my friends bday. We were shocked when we reached our room and it was a beautiful Penthouse suite. Each one of us had our own bedroom as well as our own bathroom. Everything we needed was in the suite, very comfortable unit. The only complaint if I had one was that we couldn't figure out how the ice worked inside the freezer!
There is even a front load washer and dryer and covered deck that came in handy when it rained.
An inebriated gentlemen tried to get access to our room on the Friday night but we called security and it was dealt with quickly.
Thinking about going back with our partners and renting the suite - absolutely stunning if you get the chance to rent it!
One thing to keep in mind is that the pool is quite busy with little ones but it is summer vacation so the hotel was busy.

Room Tip: Definately the penthouse suite facing the Solara units - the mountain views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
DG1970,
Thank you for your most kind, positive review which I share with all the staff for a Moral boost from a sincere guest who is also a senior reviewer with Trip Advisor. On your next visit we can provide an ice machine operators course if you like so that we can ensure you have no complaints in your experience. My apologies for the individual who over indulged at one of the local breweries or possibly one of the 75 different restaurants that Canmore has to offer. I am glad that our Security acted with expedience and resolved the situation to your satisfaction. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our part of the Rockies. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just spent six nights at this property in a hotel room, not in one of the condos. The location is excellent, but there is definitely room for improvement on the housekeeping front. 1. The bedding was quite heavy - a sheet and then a heavy duvet. For summer, some light to midweight blanket is needed. 2. The toilet in our bathroom was not seated properly - it rocked a bit when one sat on it. 3. The housekeeping staff always seem to short us on facecloths - we had to ask the front desk for additional facecloths 3 times. 4. The water pressure in the shower was inadequate - perhaps this is a deliberate water-saving feature? 5. There was no literature in the room about the property layout or amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Barbara B,

I agree with your comments regarding the heavy linen and am pleased to inform you that we are receiving Brand new Luxury linens very soon. Here at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge, we definitely do our part to stay green. This includes using low flow rain drop shower heads in our guest rooms. Your maintenance concerns have already been addressed and when you stay with us in the future please let us know during your stay and we can resolve most immediately. There are many changes that we have in store for the resort, one of them an updated guests directory. I hope that the rest of your trip is memorable and welcome you back on your next visit to the beautiful Canmore area. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I along with our 25 year old daughter booked 4 nights here. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo which was beautifully appointed. We had a balcony with a view of mountains along with several rabbits in the yard. The front desk staff was excellent. We were happy to have an air-conditioned room. The underground parking was convenient. Our only problem was that we had difficulty using our key card to open the garage several times. This inconvenience was minor considering the wonderful convenience of the washer and dryer and full kitchen. While in Canmore, we did the walk to Grassi Lakes, one of my two favorite spots on this two week vacation. While moderately strenuous for us, it was definitely worth it. Don't miss it! The commute to Banff was an easy 20 minutes. We also saw Yoho NP with Emerald lake and Takkakaw Falls. Animal lovers will enjoy a visit to the Northen Lights Wildlife Wolf Centre in
Golden, B.C., but call at least 3 weeks in advance in order to do the hike with the wolves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Good day ljacksonod,

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a magnificent stay with us at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I am also glad that you had time to visit some of the amazing National Parks in the nearby area’s, and even the Wildlife centre. We strive to provide guests a comfortable, and fully equipped home away from home when staying with us. As amazing as technology is, unfortunately sometimes it can fail us and with that apologise for the key card event. Please think of us when you return this way as we welcome the opportunity for repeat guests to enjoy the experience all over again. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We rented a condo at Blackstone Mountain Lodge on vrbo from an owner and it was awesome. The condo was immaculate, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the pool, hot tubs, grills and game room are excellent. There wasn't anything we didn't like about this lodge.

Room Tip: This is a great value for the Banff area. The town of Canmore is adorable and offers lots of great r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Good day gillian419,

It is wonderful to hear from a Senior Reviewer that you had such a great time with us at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We are definitely enjoying these beautiful, sunny busy days in Canmore! We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Blackstone Mountain Lodge again soon in one of our Many room types and Views available. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here mid week and found it close to downtown Canmore as well as a short drive to Banff and all it has to offer. There was parking underground and an awesome view from our room. The room was spacious bright and clean with nice furniture and décor. The kitchen was larger then I have at home with all appliances including a dishwasher, and there was a full sized washer and dryer which, though we didn't require on this trip will be great to have the next time when we stay a bit longer. the beds were comfortable and there was extra bedding as well lots of towels in the bath. All the staff we dealt with were great and the manager even introduced himself and gave us a tour of the outdoor facilities including the pool, hot tubs, and a BBQ area where larger groups could gather. A definite recommend to my friends and family, and I look forward to the scenery from the deck this winter ski season!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Leondg,

Thank you very much for the kind review that you have submitted. I toured several guests around the property over the past while, but I remember you inquiring about some of our great ski packages that we offer closer to the ski season. I hope the rest of your trip was great. As you mentioned you will be returning closer to winter and am confident that you will find our new luxury linens and large TV's a pleasant compliment for your great days at one of the 4 world class ski mountains in the area. Thank you, Andrew S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.