We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. Relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suit. It was amazing and the beds are so comfortable. We took our little dog and they where so accommodating and really made her feel welcome. The pools and hot tubs are great. We where there in Febuary during the winter festival and it was a great time to be in Canmore. The suits are very well decorated and comfortable. Our suite looked onto the front and we had a beautiful view of the mountains. Huge deck. We will be definately be returning next Febuary. The only complaint is that they need to update the their gym.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Kelly M,

Thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the suite, resort and the town of Canmore. You should really check out the other festivals that the town holds through out the year. My personal favourite is the Canmore Folk Fest in the summer. I will pass along your thoughts about the gym along to the appropriate people. Thank you for the feedback.


Have a great day,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    97
    26
    7
    12
See reviews for
148
123
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Every time I make a trip out to the mountains, I stay at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. This place offers you everything you can possibly need; excellent location, great amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and hot tubs, extremely friendly and warm staff always willing to help out in any way, and convenient underground parking.
I highly recommend this place as it is a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Ziggy444,


It sounds like you had a great time at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. When guests come to visit us we hope that they are able to use all of the resorts amenities to their fullest. I hope that we are able to welcome you home sometime soon. Have a fantastic spring.

Thank you for the kind words,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A nice rental-condo place.
The pool and hot tub were great.
The room was spacious (2 bedroom unit) and sound didn't travel - we have a 19-month old baby who was a bit cranky.
Lacks a continental breakfast, but food places in Canmore are so close, that it's not a major issue.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure your room is ready. We had friends who's room wasn't available until 7p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi luckyphilCalgary,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our resort. I am happy to read that your 19-month old baby enjoyed their stay with us. I hope that the whole family was able to enjoy the amenities such as the full kitchen and pool/hot tub complex.

Have a great winter,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendon, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were at the Blackstone for four nights and were very pleased with the room and service. The two bedroom suite was very spacious and had everything we needed for cooking. The washer and dryer in the room came in very handy. We enjoyed the hot tubs and pool. We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Paula370,

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We always try to provide the best service possible and I am happy you were able to enjoy our gourmet kitchens in the suites as well as our resort amenities. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to the mountains in the near future.

Have a great day,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Things that you just take for granted are not available at the Blackstone - like daily housekeeping! The noise between suites is unbearable and the smell - do not ask about the smells. We would have checked out if we could but it is family day long weekend and nothing was available. We come to Canmore about 4 times a year and will not be back again to the Blackstone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello S J,

Here at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, we offer resort style housekeeping which entails the housekeeping department to come into a suite after the third night and on the fourth day of your stay. Information about our housekeeping is on our website as well as our confirmation that we send out upon booking. I am sorry that there has been some confusion on our style of housekeeping at Blackstone Mountain Lodge and that you were not aware of it prior to your stay. If you come back and stay with us and you would like housekeeping daily, please let us know and we can make arrangements to have it done.

With regards to the smell, if we were notified about the issues, we would have been more than happy to assisting you in making your stay more pleasant with us.

I hope that you enjoyed the beautiful weather while you were in Canmore,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We discovered Blackstone Mountain Lodge through friends, and have been a repeat guest a number of times back to the lodge. The 1 or 2 bedroom suites are perfectly sized for my family when visiting the mountains for a weekend get-away (coming in from Calgary) - well stocked, clean & practical, and contains everything we need to get away and relax.

Whilst the lodge is away from the downtown area, its only a short drive to the amenities (groceries, restaurants etc) and is in a quiet location - ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Colin M,

Thank you very much for choosing us again to stay with us at Blackstone Mountain Lodge for your weekend get-away. We try to make our suites your mountain home away from home. I agree with you with regards to our location. It is far enough away from downtown that it is quite but still nice and close. I would suggest trying to walk downtown next time; it only takes 15 – 20 minutes. I really like taking the boardwalk through the wetlands to get downtown from here. It leads you to the big head on Main Street.

Sincerely,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Myself and my husband and two young boys had the pleasure to stay in suite 314 for a couple days this January. We are avid ski and snowboarders so we do get to try many accomodations in both regions of Banff and Jasper. The stay we had at Blackstone was above and beyond what we expected. Underground heated parking is a huge bonus when carrying luggage and the many items a family requires. The suite had all the ammeneties of home. Should you choose to make a large meal or snack you were able to do so. The 2 bedrooms offer 1-Queen and 1-King bed. Very comfortable. Not what you get with most hotels. The accomodations were very clean and staff were helpful and polite. Our suite 314 over looked the pool with a small deck and a great mountain view. The spaciouse suite with two washrooms was a hit for myself but the heated outdoor pool was the boys. I was sceptical of an outdoor pool in the winter but the temperature was kept warmer then the indoor pools we are accustomed to at other hotels. Robes and towels were made available in our unit which made it confortable to go swimming. The hot tub was just that "nice and hot" great alternative for myself who was not interested in swimming. There was a game room with wii and foosball I believe but we never did play but the option was there if you wanted to. Our suite also had a washer and dryer if you needed to do any of your laundry. I myself am very fond of Canmore as it's quaint with all the shops of the larger town of Banff and the mountain view is spectacular. We spent the day at Lake Louise which was no more then 50mts drive and back for a comfortable soak in the hot tub and movie on the large tv at the end of the day. We had such a great trip that we booked again with in two hours of returning home. Our boys are very excited and look forward to hitting the slopes and the Blackstone Mountain Lodge in a few more weeks.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 314. Balcony over looked the pool and a view of the mountain. Beautiful and gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi KandSFamily,

It is fantastic to read that you and your family loved your stay with us at Blackstone Mountains Lodge. I am happy to read that everyone enjoyed all of the amenities that the resort has to offer. I do agree with you and I find the beds very comfy. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Blackstone Mountain Lodge and the mountains in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Hotel
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta
Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.