We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale mountain stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Fall Early Bird
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Upscale mountain stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Myself and my husband and two young boys had the pleasure to stay in suite 314 for a couple days this January. We are avid ski and snowboarders so we do get to try many accomodations in both regions of Banff and Jasper. The stay we had at Blackstone was above and beyond what we expected. Underground heated parking is a huge bonus when carrying luggage and the many items a family requires. The suite had all the ammeneties of home. Should you choose to make a large meal or snack you were able to do so. The 2 bedrooms offer 1-Queen and 1-King bed. Very comfortable. Not what you get with most hotels. The accomodations were very clean and staff were helpful and polite. Our suite 314 over looked the pool with a small deck and a great mountain view. The spaciouse suite with two washrooms was a hit for myself but the heated outdoor pool was the boys. I was sceptical of an outdoor pool in the winter but the temperature was kept warmer then the indoor pools we are accustomed to at other hotels. Robes and towels were made available in our unit which made it confortable to go swimming. The hot tub was just that "nice and hot" great alternative for myself who was not interested in swimming. There was a game room with wii and foosball I believe but we never did play but the option was there if you wanted to. Our suite also had a washer and dryer if you needed to do any of your laundry. I myself am very fond of Canmore as it's quaint with all the shops of the larger town of Banff and the mountain view is spectacular. We spent the day at Lake Louise which was no more then 50mts drive and back for a comfortable soak in the hot tub and movie on the large tv at the end of the day. We had such a great trip that we booked again with in two hours of returning home. Our boys are very excited and look forward to hitting the slopes and the Blackstone Mountain Lodge in a few more weeks.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 314. Balcony over looked the pool and a view of the mountain. Beautiful and gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi KandSFamily,

It is fantastic to read that you and your family loved your stay with us at Blackstone Mountains Lodge. I am happy to read that everyone enjoyed all of the amenities that the resort has to offer. I do agree with you and I find the beds very comfy. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Blackstone Mountain Lodge and the mountains in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    122
    30
    10
    13
See reviews for
186
155
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was our first time travelling with our infant and with all the spacious room, we really felt like we were at home. The downfall is that there is no restaurant on-site and the cleaners only come once every 3 nights, however, they are very prompt if you ask them to replenish towels, bedding etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi kkortz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. I am happy to find out that your first trip with your infant went well and we were able to make you feel like you were at home. I hope that we are able to welcome you back home in the near future

Thank you,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Found a great deal on their website for a prepaid stay. Stayed in a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen. Very spacious and well furnished. Really enjoyed the two days.
The only con is that it is a little on the edge of town, but that was o.k. as there is free parking in town if you don't want to walk.
Thanks! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi CanTravel1001,

It is great to read that you were able to take part in our pre-pay deal that we had ongoing for the month of January. Thank you for all of your compliments on our resort amenities.

I do agree that we are not right downtown Canmore but there is a great path to walk downtown that follows the wetland that sneak through town. Next time you come to stay with us, I would recommend trying it.

Enjoy the winter weather,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Blackstone Jan 11-13 in a 2 bedroom unit, very comfortable, great amenities. Very quiet, nice outdoor hot tubs and pool. Great location to ski Sunshine and Lake Louise. Underground parking that would actually fit our vehicle with the ski rack. The Staff was very friendly and the room very clean, with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi C00kie77,

Thank you for staying with us when you came to play in the mountains. In the winter, I find that our underground heated parking is great to have. I love not having to scrape my window in the morning. I hope that you were able to get out and enjoy Sunshine and Lake Louise while you were here and we are able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Enjoy the winter,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our 7th year in Canmore for New Years with friends and our 4th year at a Bellstar Resort. It was an ok stay. The staff was friendly enough. The rooms were clean. Underground parking is nice. A couple things bugged us though. The wifi was horrendous. They might as well not even had it. It was 1 bar at the best of times and was constantly dropping out. We were 6 people, but we were put in a corner room which is much smaller than other rooms. Our other friends were 4 people and they received a much bigger room despite us booking prior to them and checking in the day before. Lastly, despite staying with Bellstar previously we were unable to get the frequent guest discount.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Laevyboy,

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have been able to. We are currently working with the property manager to improve the WIFI on the resort. Unfortunately with the tremendous increase in electronic devises that you WIFI in the last year or two has decreased the reliability of our WIFI. We hope to have the bandwidth increased in the future.

I am very sorry that you did not receive your repeat guest discount for your stay. When you come back to stay with us, please contact me directly and I’ll make the arrangements for you.

Thank you,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Blackstone over the new year period. As always we had a great experience. The suit was excellent, very comfortable and well equipped. The staff were helpful and were able to answer all our questions. The room was quiet even on nye and the hot tubs were great (even if it was -10 outside) .
We took a trip to banff on the new bus service which was very convenient and cheap at $6.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi UKSil,

Thank you very much for your great review. I love reading reviews from such a world traveler. The new Canmore/Banff transit system is a terrific new convinces in the Bow Valley. In the summer they will have bike racks on the buses so you can bike to Banff on the Legacy trail or Goat Creek trail, have a great lunch and take the bus back if you have indulged too much.

Thank you,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions in December and had a great experience both times. The suite we had was very clean, spacious and modern and had all the amenities you need. Also enjoyed the outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tubs. Staff where very helpful and friendly and the underground parking was very convenient. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Really liked how spacious and comfortable the suites are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Travel_Juliano,

We are always trying to provide the best service possible for our guests and from reading your review we did so for both of your stay. Your stay sounds like you enjoyed all aspects of the resort and I hope that we are able to welcome you back this winter. The pool and hot tubs is always open and waiting for you.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.