We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Spacious, Comfortable and Great Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Fall Early Bird
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Spacious, Comfortable and Great Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Blackstone Jan 11-13 in a 2 bedroom unit, very comfortable, great amenities. Very quiet, nice outdoor hot tubs and pool. Great location to ski Sunshine and Lake Louise. Underground parking that would actually fit our vehicle with the ski rack. The Staff was very friendly and the room very clean, with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi C00kie77,

Thank you for staying with us when you came to play in the mountains. In the winter, I find that our underground heated parking is great to have. I love not having to scrape my window in the morning. I hope that you were able to get out and enjoy Sunshine and Lake Louise while you were here and we are able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Enjoy the winter,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    106
    27
    8
    12
See reviews for
158
137
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our 7th year in Canmore for New Years with friends and our 4th year at a Bellstar Resort. It was an ok stay. The staff was friendly enough. The rooms were clean. Underground parking is nice. A couple things bugged us though. The wifi was horrendous. They might as well not even had it. It was 1 bar at the best of times and was constantly dropping out. We were 6 people, but we were put in a corner room which is much smaller than other rooms. Our other friends were 4 people and they received a much bigger room despite us booking prior to them and checking in the day before. Lastly, despite staying with Bellstar previously we were unable to get the frequent guest discount.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Laevyboy,

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have been able to. We are currently working with the property manager to improve the WIFI on the resort. Unfortunately with the tremendous increase in electronic devises that you WIFI in the last year or two has decreased the reliability of our WIFI. We hope to have the bandwidth increased in the future.

I am very sorry that you did not receive your repeat guest discount for your stay. When you come back to stay with us, please contact me directly and I’ll make the arrangements for you.

Thank you,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Blackstone over the new year period. As always we had a great experience. The suit was excellent, very comfortable and well equipped. The staff were helpful and were able to answer all our questions. The room was quiet even on nye and the hot tubs were great (even if it was -10 outside) .
We took a trip to banff on the new bus service which was very convenient and cheap at $6.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi UKSil,

Thank you very much for your great review. I love reading reviews from such a world traveler. The new Canmore/Banff transit system is a terrific new convinces in the Bow Valley. In the summer they will have bike racks on the buses so you can bike to Banff on the Legacy trail or Goat Creek trail, have a great lunch and take the bus back if you have indulged too much.

Thank you,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions in December and had a great experience both times. The suite we had was very clean, spacious and modern and had all the amenities you need. Also enjoyed the outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tubs. Staff where very helpful and friendly and the underground parking was very convenient. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Really liked how spacious and comfortable the suites are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Travel_Juliano,

We are always trying to provide the best service possible for our guests and from reading your review we did so for both of your stay. Your stay sounds like you enjoyed all aspects of the resort and I hope that we are able to welcome you back this winter. The pool and hot tubs is always open and waiting for you.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A great 4 day stay in clean and very well equipped accommodation - including a washer and dryer in the room. We used the hot tubs and pool every day, and the only downside was the night-time noise ... I think that there was a party loving elephant in the room above that went on safari at 03:00 - but maybe as it was Xmas/New Year, we should have expected some disturbance.

And the staff on reception desk were also very helpful with directions, maps and suggestions for visits - thanks Lena !

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the top ( 4th ) floor would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi SteveL007,

Thank you very much for the great words about our resort. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the suite as well as the resort amenities. When you come back in the future, if you have any noise issues, please call the front desk. There is always someone on, either security or a guest service agent, who would be more than happy to speak with the noisy guests.
It is great to hear that Lena provide great service. I will pass along the compliments.

Happy New Year,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a fantastic 3 night, 4 day holiday in Canmore over new years 2012/13. The Blackstone had a great layout (2 bedroom condo) for us with lots of room and good amenities on the property (games room, pool, hot tubs and bbqs; we used all). The unit was quite unclean, however. The carpets were in dire need of a good vacuuming - there were pebbles, dust and dirt everywhere, especially along all the edges and corners. The kitchen was fairly well outfitted but again, could have used a good cleaning. We may consider staying at the Blackstone again but the cleanliness IS an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello SueBedier,

It is great to read that you had a fantastic holiday in Canmore over the New Year’s holiday period. I do apologize about the suite not being as clean as it should have been. We are currently in the process of making some changes in the housekeeping department to increase our standards. I do hope that you are able to come back in the future and see the changes.

Have a great winter,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you want roomy condo-style accommodation for the whole family and you plan on passing out early exhausted from enjoying the Rockies, this place may be for you. You probably won’t be partying it up here - all the nearby families with little kids will hear you and put a stop to it, as the place is not well insulated. It’s not a traditional hotel – front desk is not available between 11 pm and 7 am, and the front door gets locked during that time too, accessible with your card key and a pass code.

Housekeeping gets done on the fourth day. One improvement to this could be a larger kitchen garbage bin and larger recycling bin, as ours got quite full on the fourth day even though we didn’t cook every meal in the room. Cleanliness of the common areas could be improved too. Down the hall from us, someone set out a garbage bag in front of the door, and it was there for at least a day and a half. There were also little pieces of garbage out in the hall that were left for at least a full day too. And more trollies for guests to get their bags from the underground parkade and up into the rooms would help the service score too.

But roomy it is! Our two-bedroom suite had a layout easily suited for two couples or a large family (the pullout sofa could sleep two). I would venture to say there is even excessive storage space, including full size closets in both bedrooms and a two-foot wide pantry (in addition to a full size kitchen, full of cabinets). Not sure how long one would need to stay there to make use of all this storage space. But one could - the kitchen is well equipped with dishtowels, paper towels, teapot, ice bucket and tongs, a full set of Kitchen-aid tools, and even a few serving dishes, in addition to pots and pans and bake ware. Could have used another frying pan, but 8 sets of each of the plates, bowls, and 3 sets of glasses (including plastic kiddie ones), and 2 sets of wine glasses (red and white) makes for a well-stocked kitchen in my books. The table is big enough for a tight four (it has no leaf), but the breakfast bar can sit another three comfortably.

Here are some comments from a nine year old kid’s point of view:

- “The games room is awesome – there is a foosball table there”.
- “I wish the fireplace was a real one”. The electric one turns on with a remote.
- “The pool is outdoor but heated, and that’s really fun to go to”.
- “There are two hot tubs outside. One is hotter than the other”.

A true resort it is not, but roomy it is. It’s average value, if this is the kind of accommodation you are after. But I wouldn’t say it’s good or excellent for the price, based on the lower level of service and cleanliness of the common areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello ProseccoBudget,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our suites and thank you for the 9 year old comments on the resorts amenities. We are trying to not be a party resort and I am glad that you had a calm and restful resort experience. We currently only have the front desk open from 7 am until 11 pm but there is always a security person on site if you ever have any needs or concerns.

I will be following up with the people who are responsible for cleaning of common areas about your concerns which I agree with. I apologize for the garbage not being picked up in a timeline manner.

I hope you have a great winter,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.