We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Fall Early Bird
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Canmore
North Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our third trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our annual trip to Blackstone is something we look forward to. Canmore is charming and Blackstone is a wonderfully relaxing place. We prefer a one bed condo for the convenience of being home away from home and as usual it did not disappoint! Spacious with every amenity you could need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi tupeloNorthWales,

Thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your third stay with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back for a stay in the Canadian Rockies.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    108
    28
    8
    12
See reviews for
163
139
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed in other properties in Canmore but this was our first stay at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We stayed in a two bedroom unit (room 334) from November 2 - 5.

First the pros - very nice kitchen and overall the unit was spacious. The outdoor hot tubs and heated pool were quite nice and a big hit with our kids! Room faced the "Three Sisters Mountain" range (nice partial view) and was quiet. Also, stayed in room next to elevator and never heard a thing! Heated underground parking was also a plus and elevators were quick.

Cons - The greasy hand prints and dirt on the hallway to the bedrooms and in the 2nd bedroom was a little disgusting but generally speaking the room and linens appeared clean. Furniture was basic at best and the unit seems to be getting well used as unit is showing its age. Fireplace did not work, window in the master bedroom was left open upon arrival and handle was broken so we were unable to close it. The two decks are both very small and thus really not functional. Also, the TV's in the bedrooms are very old as they are the CRT type and thus they are quite large and they take up the entire top of the dresser in each room. The DVD player and TV in the main living area are not much better as neither were high definition and no HDMI port to plug my laptop computer in.

In regards to the service I can offer the following comments - check in was fast and efficient, staff were friendly and courteous. The front desk is not 24 hrs and closes for the night at 11:00 pm (I think) but there is a security number that you can call if there are any issues. Also, there is no maid service unless you stay for a period of greater than 4 days. I didn't have an issue with these things as I was aware of them from their website and reading Trip Advisor reviews, however, I thought it worth mentioning as an FYI to anyone reading this review as this is quite bothersome for some people! Lastly, upon checkout the front desk did not have the correct rate information for purposes of finalizing our bill. Fortunately I had a copy of the pricing I was given through my on-line booking and was able to straighten out the pricing reasonably quickly although I get the sense it may have been a bigger issue if I had not been prepared!

So to conclude I would suggest that this is a nice place to stay if outdoor hot tub and swimming pool are your thing, however, if you are looking for a nice room then I would suggest you look elsewhere as there are certainly better properties in Canmore for this price point.

Room Tip: I would not advise getting a room facing the North (highway) as there appears to be a significant am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hello Derek C,

I do have to apologies that the wall in the suite not in the state that they should have been. I will be following up with the housekeeping department about your concerns that you had during your stay.

With regards to TV’s/DVD player in your suite, we are currently working with the owners to upgrade the TV’s to be flat screen TV’s that are the expectations of guest. We are hoping to have the upgrades by the spring.

Thank you very much and have a great winter,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for four days. Place is well finished. We stayed in a two bedroom unit with 5 people.

First thing we found out was it is cheaper to book directly with the hotel than through Expedia.

There are two sides to the condo complex one overlooks the pool and has unobstructed views of the mountains.
The other looked on to the back of the Solara resort. Still has nice views.

The front desk staff were friendly and appeared new to the job. They didn't always have the answers to our issues.

The Internet did not work in our room for our whole stay despite taking to staff on a number of occasions. Out room was at the extreme end of the complex so if Internet is a priority the. Try to get a room closer to the reception. I a here at the moment and have good reception.

The gym consisted of a treadmill a recumbent bike and an elliptical. There was a weight machine as well as adequate free weights. If you want more the sister complex has an amazing gym called one wellness.

The use of the pools is intermittent. The note we received said that guest services had to remove the cover and yet some of the reception staff said we could do it.

Overall , a good stay

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hello Mikey000,

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review for us on TripAdvisor. I do have to say that you are correct that the front desk staff are fairly new but I believe that since you visit you will notice a significant change. I am glad that they were friendly and I hope that they made you feel welcome to the resort.

With regards to the internet in the suite, it does sometime stop working. This is mainly caused by the WIFI not being able to handle the demands of streaming video. I will forward your concerns to the appropriate person.

Thank you for letting me know about the conflicting information on the resort about the opening of the pools. I make sure all information is consistent.

Have a great day,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A solid option for Canmore. Suites are spacious and well arranged, with good kitchen and laundry facilities. Bed was very comfortable, and the linens and towels were clean and good quality. We made use of the gym which had a good variety of equipment.

We were there in the summer, so walked into town, an easy 15 mins, along the boardwalk if you ask at reception for how to find the end of the path.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello nellpapa,

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay this past summer. Thank you for the kind words. I hope that sometime in the future we will be able to welcome you back in the winter so that you are able to enjoy the mountains in the winter as well.

Have a great day,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was a great location. Off the beaten track enough to enjoy some down time but close enough to downtown to walk to many great restaurants and shopping. I would highly recommend for a family get away or just connecting with friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello Jody M,

Thank you very much for visiting us in the Rockies. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our cozy suites. I hope that you were able to enjoy the hot tubs and pool while you were here.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have been to Blackstone a couple of times before and have always had an excellent experience but this time around we were a little disappointed. The suite was just as comfortable as we have come to expect but there were a few maintenance issues. On our first night we were using the microwave and the plastic vent cover above the door fell off - on further inspection we discovered that someone had attached it with duct tape after it had obviously come off before. Also the water dispenser on the fridge did not work and the TV remote had a broken battery cover. Fairly minor issues so not a big deal but on our second morning the shower would not work - we could get water from the faucet but the nozzle to switch to the shower head no longer worked.

We reported these issues before we checked out and in all fairness to Blackstone, Kiley at the front desk was very apologetic and offered a fair discount on our stay. Customer service is always top notch at Blackstone and for this reason we will give it another try. We really enjoy it there and hope these issues were an anomaly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello StrawberryJ-V,

I do apologize for your stay not being what you have experienced in the past and not what it should be. Since talking with you on check-out, all of the maintenance has been fixed and we are also checking all of the other suites to ensure that it does not happen to other people.

Thank you very much for the feedback and I hope you have a great fall,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The stay could not of started off worse. When checking in, they place a hold on your credit card. However I booked on Expedia and it was only supposed to be for incidentals. But instead they place the hold for the entire price of the stay(plus for incidentals). Although the staff members tried everything they could to fix the mistake, they're was nothing they could do. Let's just say, it caused a couple headaches. The room it self was very nice. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. The large bathtubs are awesome. Lot's parking. The pool area was also nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hello Beejmcgillashaw,

I am sorry that we put a pre-authorization on your credit card for the full amount when you had already paid Expedia prior to your arrival at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. This is not the norm and I will be following up with all of the guest service agents to ensure this does not happen again on the future. For reservations booked through a third party are only supposed to be pre-authorized for incidentals only.

I hope that you will think of us again in the future so that you can experience the resort without any problems and enjoy the resort as you should have.

Thank you for the feedback,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.