We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Time Not A Charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off Fall Early Bird
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“3rd Time Not A Charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have been to Blackstone a couple of times before and have always had an excellent experience but this time around we were a little disappointed. The suite was just as comfortable as we have come to expect but there were a few maintenance issues. On our first night we were using the microwave and the plastic vent cover above the door fell off - on further inspection we discovered that someone had attached it with duct tape after it had obviously come off before. Also the water dispenser on the fridge did not work and the TV remote had a broken battery cover. Fairly minor issues so not a big deal but on our second morning the shower would not work - we could get water from the faucet but the nozzle to switch to the shower head no longer worked.

We reported these issues before we checked out and in all fairness to Blackstone, Kiley at the front desk was very apologetic and offered a fair discount on our stay. Customer service is always top notch at Blackstone and for this reason we will give it another try. We really enjoy it there and hope these issues were an anomaly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello StrawberryJ-V,

I do apologize for your stay not being what you have experienced in the past and not what it should be. Since talking with you on check-out, all of the maintenance has been fixed and we are also checking all of the other suites to ensure that it does not happen to other people.

Thank you very much for the feedback and I hope you have a great fall,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    121
    30
    10
    13
See reviews for
185
154
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The stay could not of started off worse. When checking in, they place a hold on your credit card. However I booked on Expedia and it was only supposed to be for incidentals. But instead they place the hold for the entire price of the stay(plus for incidentals). Although the staff members tried everything they could to fix the mistake, they're was nothing they could do. Let's just say, it caused a couple headaches. The room it self was very nice. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. The large bathtubs are awesome. Lot's parking. The pool area was also nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hello Beejmcgillashaw,

I am sorry that we put a pre-authorization on your credit card for the full amount when you had already paid Expedia prior to your arrival at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. This is not the norm and I will be following up with all of the guest service agents to ensure this does not happen again on the future. For reservations booked through a third party are only supposed to be pre-authorized for incidentals only.

I hope that you will think of us again in the future so that you can experience the resort without any problems and enjoy the resort as you should have.

Thank you for the feedback,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This condo has beautiful decor with a magnificent view and a bottle of wine and you have yourself a small piece of heaven!! Within walking distance to lovely restaurants, or so close to Banff if you so desire to walk around there!! You won't regret your decision to stay here...a total package of luxury!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello Gwen S,

Thank you very much for all of the compliments. All of your comments bring a smile to my face. I am glad we were able to make your stay in the Rockies great. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This property far exceeded our expectations!! The condo was so peaceful and the view of the Rockies from the balcony (as well as all windows) was spectacular. Martin at the front desk is just a "gem". He told us all about the fabulous places to see wildlife away from the hoards of tourists. He was so right because we saw two moose on the out of the way gravel road he mentioned. We would never have found it on our own. The place is top notch and the staff just can't be beat. If you're thinking of visiting Banff/Canmore please give Blackstone a try. All your stress will just vanish.......well for a couple of days anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Wanda S,

I am happy and kind of surprised to hear that you were able to see two moose while you were here. Sometimes they can be very elusive and I generally only see one every couple of months. I will pass along your compliments to Martin.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Canadian Rockies sometime soon to help you relax and enjoy the beautiful views.

Thank you very much for the review,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room was amazing, much nicer then I had expected. The property was further outside of Banff then I had anticipated but the local area surrounding the hotel was very nice. I booked the Safari Package which the hotel did not honor because a lack of attendance; the trip was actually cancelled. This was very disappointed. Nowhere in the reservations did it say anything about a minimum number of people. Otherwise a VERY nice property. The beds seemed a little cheap. I loved the balcony feature. Had problems with management returning my calls. I finally had to call corporate to get resolution. Fortunately, they took care of everything to the best of their ability. Regardless of the problems, I would still return to the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hello FlaChris83,

I am very sorry for the rafting trip was cancelled by the tour operator due to attendance and you were not informed prior to your arrival. I will make some changes so that this does not happen in the future. It is good to hear everything is now taken care of. I am kind of surprised that you did not like the bed in your suite. We very rarely have guests stating that they did not enjoy their sleep. Unfortunately if the softness of the hotel bed is different from what you are used can affect your sleep.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our resort and I am very happy that you would return to visit us again if you come back to the Canadian Rockies.

Have a great winter,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pleasant experience. Room was a bit small but everything was nicely decorated and neat. It was a great place with a good price to curl up at while we explored Canmore and Banff. No extras or anything particularly unique. You feel a little jammed packed amongst the other condominiums in the area but we stayed for the room, not the particular environment as we ventured out into that daily. Would recommend it to others needing a cozy place to hide away and unwind after a day of adventure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your stay at Blackstone Mountain Resort. We appreciate all feedback and it is nice to see that you found our rooms cozy and of good value. We pride ourselves of being a home away from home that everyone can enjoy.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. We do hope to welcome you back once again to Blackstone Mountain Resort.

Sincerely,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager,Canmore
Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I don't usually moan about places but this stay just didn't sit right with me.
We've stayed in Canmore numerous times in different hotels, with family and friends, and quite honestly this wasn't our best experience, especially given the price point.

We stayed in a 2-bed suite which was very spacious, modern and overlooked the Three Sisters - can't complain there!

For some reason they've decided to equip the beautiful kitchen with the cheapest small appliances. The toaster and coffee making machine were the budget brand and they had seen better days. The coffee machine was in pieces and was still half full from the previous guests! Needless to say, it didn't function properly and neither did the toaster.
We decided to use the oven grill for toast instead but there wasn't a grill pan or baking sheet to be seen. We spoke with front desk and they eventually turned up with a baking sheet that needed to be cleaned.

There are no private BBQ's on balconies (communal ones are available by the pool area) but this is standard in other Canmore suites at this price point. Our balcony had a broken wobbly table and seating for only two (in a 2-bed suite for 4 people).

My final 'grumble' was do with the cleanliness of the bed throw. We noticed the next morning that it was stained pretty heavily with dark blobs of what looked like blood (but this is just my opinion and I'm not saying for sure that someone was axe-murdered here). It grossed us out quite a bit and we removed it immediately.

They may only seem like small issues but rolled into one and the fact we were paying top dollar just annoyed me given the other places we've stayed in Canmore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear trip_AJD

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your stay at Blackstone Mountain Resort. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continually guide our staff and improve on our level of service to our guests.

After reading your comments I would first, like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. Second, I have brought the issues to the attention of the Department Managers in order for this to be corrected immediately. We work hard to maintain exceptional standards at Blackstone and are always disappointed to hear when we have failed to provide that to our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. We do hope to welcome you back once again to Blackstone Mountain Resort.

Sincerely,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager,Canmore
Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;