We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Pre Pay and Save!
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pleasant experience. Room was a bit small but everything was nicely decorated and neat. It was a great place with a good price to curl up at while we explored Canmore and Banff. No extras or anything particularly unique. You feel a little jammed packed amongst the other condominiums in the area but we stayed for the room, not the particular environment as we ventured out into that daily. Would recommend it to others needing a cozy place to hide away and unwind after a day of adventure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your stay at Blackstone Mountain Resort. We appreciate all feedback and it is nice to see that you found our rooms cozy and of good value. We pride ourselves of being a home away from home that everyone can enjoy.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. We do hope to welcome you back once again to Blackstone Mountain Resort.

Sincerely,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager,Canmore
Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    125
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
196
174
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I don't usually moan about places but this stay just didn't sit right with me.
We've stayed in Canmore numerous times in different hotels, with family and friends, and quite honestly this wasn't our best experience, especially given the price point.

We stayed in a 2-bed suite which was very spacious, modern and overlooked the Three Sisters - can't complain there!

For some reason they've decided to equip the beautiful kitchen with the cheapest small appliances. The toaster and coffee making machine were the budget brand and they had seen better days. The coffee machine was in pieces and was still half full from the previous guests! Needless to say, it didn't function properly and neither did the toaster.
We decided to use the oven grill for toast instead but there wasn't a grill pan or baking sheet to be seen. We spoke with front desk and they eventually turned up with a baking sheet that needed to be cleaned.

There are no private BBQ's on balconies (communal ones are available by the pool area) but this is standard in other Canmore suites at this price point. Our balcony had a broken wobbly table and seating for only two (in a 2-bed suite for 4 people).

My final 'grumble' was do with the cleanliness of the bed throw. We noticed the next morning that it was stained pretty heavily with dark blobs of what looked like blood (but this is just my opinion and I'm not saying for sure that someone was axe-murdered here). It grossed us out quite a bit and we removed it immediately.

They may only seem like small issues but rolled into one and the fact we were paying top dollar just annoyed me given the other places we've stayed in Canmore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear trip_AJD

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your stay at Blackstone Mountain Resort. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continually guide our staff and improve on our level of service to our guests.

After reading your comments I would first, like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. Second, I have brought the issues to the attention of the Department Managers in order for this to be corrected immediately. We work hard to maintain exceptional standards at Blackstone and are always disappointed to hear when we have failed to provide that to our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. We do hope to welcome you back once again to Blackstone Mountain Resort.

Sincerely,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager,Canmore
Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at blackmountain lodge in canmore for the first part of our honeymoon. We had a mountain view suite at 3 nights for the price of 2. The room/suite was spotless, the bed was massive, a tv in the bedroom and lounge area. We had a balcony with two seats so we could sit and enjoy the view of the mountains! The staff were so helpful, being from the UK we did not know much about the "must see" places and they took the time to explain and point out interesting places to see. The car park was very good and easy to use..directly into the hotel. The hotel location is perfect. We thought Canmore was a better place to stay than Banff itself as it had a true canadian feel rather than being full of tourists! If you are thinking of hitting the rockies we would definately suggest the Blackstone Mountain Lodge!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Boomilky,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. The Team at Bellstar Resorts and Hotels strive to excell in the best customer service possible. We are pleased to see that you benefitted from this and would love to welcome you back. The majestic Rockies are truly special and we are proud to call this home.

Sincerely,

Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here two nights in a two bedroom condo. The condo was absolutely beautiful, clean and the location was so great. Close to downtown Canmore and all other areas. Could not have asked for a better two days. Underground parking, so you did not have to worry about your vehicle. Nice pools etc. Go visit this place you will love it, guaranteed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi Amor3,

Thank you very much. I hope that since you like us so much that we can become your home in the mountains when you come. Enjoy the beautiful fall weather that we are having and have a great day.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! We paid for a 2 bedroom condo and upon arriving couldn't stop gushing about the room. The kitchen and bathrooms were spotless. The dining area was more than enough space for the two of us. The balcony view was picturesque. The hotel staff were friendly and courteous. No complaints! we would definatley stay here again. Well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi prariegirlCanada,

Thank you very much for the glowing review. I am very pleased to hear everything was perfect for your stay with us. I hope that you are able to come back in the future and maybe enjoy some skiing or snowshoeing in the area over the winter.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay at the Blackstone Moutain Lodge was wonderful. The spaciousness of our 2 bedroom suite was luxurious plus the view out our balcony of the mountains was awe inspiring. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the Canmore/Banff area. This is a fantastic place to stay, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hello Liliana R,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I hope that the mountains inspired you to go and play in them. Enjoy the beautiful fall weather and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the mountains.

Thank you,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Everything was great here. The unit was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for our three day stay, even enough soaps and shampoo and cleaning supplies for couple of days. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great for a day trip to Banff and Lake Louise. Lots of stores and restaurants and even a theatre which we didn't get a chance to attend. It is an hour and a half away from calgary which was an ok drive even to return to Calgary for a day.

Room Tip: great value/ for good internet get unit closer to lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi Canada052,

It is nice to read that your stay with us was great. I hope that you enjoyed the beautiful mountain views while you were in the Rockies. We are currently trying to get better WIFI connection for the resort so I do hope that when you come back that it will be much better.

Thank you and have a great fall,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.