We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable 2nd Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Pre Pay and Save!
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable 2nd Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Blackstone in the Fall of 2011 and decided to return in March 2012. We had a one bedroom suite with mountain view and we were just off of the elevators on the 3rd floor. We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and the accommodations were comfortable. Even though we were there on a weekend and had a room by the elevators, we never heard any noise in the hallways or from other suites. My wife found that the bed sunk a bit in the middle and the TV in the living room was quite a bit smaller than in the suite we had last year - minor items that would not prevent us from returning. The price was right and we were also given a 2-for-1 entree voucher for local restaurant The Iron Goat - a nice bonus!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Hello StrawberryJ-V,

Thank you for coming back and staying with us for a second time. I am very happy to hear that you heard nothing in your suite even though you were close to the elevator on a weekend and the front desk staff were friendly.

We are currently planning to upgrade the TV's in the suites in the near future. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future with a larger TV waiting for you.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    123
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
194
167
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to stay it's comfortable, clean and all around nice. If you are looking for a great place to take your family you will not be disappointed, it's not too far from downtown area though in some cases it can be pricy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hello Nick-Antonini,

It is very good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I hope that you were able to enjoy the pool and hot tubs while you were here.

Thank you,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom condo, which had a fully equipped kitchen and well planned floor plan. The unit was very clean. Although we backed the highway, this building is surprisingly quiet. No noise from other units was also a bonus. Our 8 year old loved the outdoor pool...during the winter. The staff is wonderful and very professional. We've stayed in other condo units in Canmore and by far, this place ranks top notch.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Hello SawyTraveller_10,

It is nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the kitchen in the suite and I am very happy that you did not hear any noise from the highway even through you backed onto it. We try to provide the best customer service possible to our guest and owners. I hope you are able to come back and enjoy the mountains with us in the future.

Thank you,

Kiley Dare
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

One bedroom suites was very room, large modern kitchen, walk in closet in bedroom, very comfortable living area with fabulous view of mountains through the large liviing room windows. . The room was much more spacious and modern than a one bedroom at the Falcon Crest where we have stayed several times.  Very friendly and helpful staff.  Two hot tubs and heated pool very comfortable way to spend a winter afternoon...only drawback is that you can hear the trans canada highway traffic in the courtyard area.. Also there is no refunds if you cancel your reservation.Otherwise its a great place to stay..  If you get a room on a special deal which we did then you can't go wrong.  Looking forward to returning...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Good Day 1kisa,

Thank you for the great review. I am glad that you liked our suites better than our competition and you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to our cancellation policy, you received a special rate which was subject to a special cancelation policy. Please be aware that our regular deposit policy is that we require the first night as a deposit and if you cancel 48 hours prior to arrival, we issue a full refund of the deposit.

Thank you,

Kiley
Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

It was not what it seems, it had the smallest and oldest TVs so no watching it cause you cant see it and i have 20\20 vision
the bed must have been old, cause it was one of those old springs in ur back and so firm ur body achs and im not and old lady with aching body isues, but in this situation i couldnt sleep cause my hips hurt.
the sliiding doors by the bed had a draft that was so bad my nose was cold and i have mild allergies, mild, but in the bed my eyes itched so bad the whole time and i got stuffed up, hmmmmm.

Room Tip: there are better ones in canmore, we stayed in one before, near by, that was great but cant remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Hello Melanie G,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. With regards to the small TV's we are aware of this problem and they will be replaced in the new future. With regards to drafty door and bad bed that should not happen. We have not had any complaints about the beds. I would greatly appreciate if you could email or message me the suite number that you stayed in so that we can fix both problems.

Thank you,

Kiley
kileyd@bellstar.ca
Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at Blackstone. As with the first stay we really enjoyed our weekend and find the rooms very comfortable. The full kitchen is nice if you want to stay in and have a relaxing evening at home. There is plenty of space and separation in a 2 bedroom unit for 2 couples. As mentioned in other reviews its odd to have old TVs in what is otherwise an upscale property. Free wifi/parking is great. There was also an issue with low water pressure in the shower (room 307). Look forward to returning a 3rd time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Hello brently55,

We love being able to welcome guest back for repeat stays and I am glad to hear that you are planning on coming back for your 3rd stay. In the future, if you have any problems with your unit, like the low water pressure, please let us know at the front desk and we will get it fixed right away.

Thank you for staying with us,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

To call this a hotel is a bit of a misnomer. They are individually owned condos that are rented out, similar to booking a hotel for a night. If you know an owner, you may be able to get a good deal. Otherwise, prices are comparable to a rather high end hotel, but the amenities are much better than a hotel.

We (my spouse and I) have stayed at Blackstone twice – once two years ago for four nights in a one-bedroom and then again this month, also for four nights, but this time in a two bedroom. Both places were very similar with the exception of the size and number of bedrooms & bathrooms. The first place overlooked the pool and hot tubs and was a nice view. This most recent place faced the direction of Three Sisters, but since the newer condo, Solara, was built, Blackstone no longer has the great views of the Three Sisters it once did. However, that wasn't really an issue as we could see the mountains outside.

The suite has all the amenities you need for a stay. There is a full-sized kitchen and round table that seats four; the breakfast bar provides additional seating. A washer and dryer is also there although for a short stay, it wasn't used. There are two packets of coffee (one regular, one decaf) and four or so teas. Salt and pepper are included, but that's it for food type items.

There is a rather smallish wall-mounted TV in the living area, and there is a TV (not flat panel though) in each bedroom. Each bedroom has a king sized bed that was pretty comfortable. There is also a hide-a-bed with extra linen and pillows. Each bedroom has two nice, white, fluffy bathrobes which came in handy. (Because who has room for a bathrobe when packing a suitcase?)The fireplace wasn't working on our arrival but someone came up to fix it very shortly after we contacted the front desk.

Each person we came in contact with at the front desk was helpful and personable. There are movie DVDs you can borrow from the front desk, but most were quite old.

We used the hot tub one night (one of the coldest nights so far this winter) and it was a nice, hot temperature. Most people seem to wear their bathrobes out to the hot tub. Good quality towels are provided in the change rooms when using the pool or hot tubs, and there are lockable lockers in the change rooms also.

Everything was nice and clean – both in the suite, the lobby, pool area, etc. The underground parking is very handy. You have to remember to drive on the left when entering and exiting the parking area (as you need to use your room card to access the reader to enter), but it's easy to get the hang of that.

The negatives are few and minor: The one item that could have been provided perhaps was a small container of laundry soap (as I've seen in some similar accommodations.) No one thinks to pack laundry soap and it would be expensive to buy it in town. A nightlight or two would be handy too (although I do travel with one). The shower head had very low pressure. Someone, in another post, said that it was a rain head, but if it is, it isn't like any big rain head shower I've ever used.

We thoroughly enjoyed both our stays there and would happily return there if we vacation in Canmore again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Hello Kiammo,

I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all of the amenities that we offer here.

We are currently in the process of changing the amenities in the suite have a single use box of laundry soap on check in and also we are currently in the process of having the TV’s upgraded in the suites. I would greatly appreciate if you would be able to let me know which suite you stayed in so that we are able to fix the water pressure in the shower. The water pressure should not be low.

Thank you and enjoy your winter,
Kiley

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
kileyd@bellstar.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.