We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Pre Pay and Save!
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Blackstone for our "babymoon" after finding a great deal on Expedia and reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Blackstone certainly did not disappoint! Our one bedroom suite had ample space and was very modern - some of the features included flat screen TV with DVD player, fireplace, Playstation 3 (in the bedroom), and a nice patio that could be accessed from the living room or bedroom. We also spent an afternoon relaxing by the outdoor pool and took a quick dip in the hot tubs as well - there are two hot tubs next to the pool. Another nice feature of the lodge is the heated underground parking....very nice especially if you are there in winter.

One of the negative aspects of the reviews we read pertained to the service at Blackstone but we found the front desk staff to be quite friendly at check in, check out and when we arranged for a late check out. They were nice enough to allow us two extra hours to check out since we were departing on a Monday and there weren't a lot of arrivals that day.

Having stayed at similar accommodations (Falcon Crest & Silvercreek Lodge) in Canmore, I would recommend Blackstone as it is a little more modern and the outdoor pool is a nice feature that the others did not have. Overall, a nice relaxing place to stay and we would love to return!

Room Tip: Would recommend requesting a room opposite to the pool side of the property (you get a mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    125
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
196
174
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

By sharing your experiences you're helping travellers make better choices and plan their dream trips. Thank you!Our family headed to Canmore for what was intended to be just a simple short week stay – for one of our birthdays. Originally, we chose the Blackstone because it was pet friendly and allowed us to bring our puppy. It was a terrific experience from the moment we walked thru the front doors. The condo was spotless, comfortable and just all around inviting. One of the biggest differences were the staff. Weeks before I had spent another weekend in Canmore down the road at a competitor and although the condos were also very nice and comparable the staff at the Blackstone made the difference for us. Thanks Rob, thanks Blackstone for such a terrific experience – we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were actually suppose to stay at another property but they'd messed up our reservation so we were sent to the Blackstone. The room was very cozy and had a great view of the Three Sisters. Its the perfect place for a family because the suites are apartment size and include a full kitchen for your own cooking. Instead of staying in a hotel and renting multiple rooms I'd say go here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite (311A) during the last week in September. 311A is on the Hwy 1 side of complex but we never heard any highway noise with the windows closed. If you want to sleep with the windows open get a suite on the side away from the hwy. views of the mountains will probably be blocked by the condos across the street but noise will be significantly less. The free internet is available via a cable or wireless. Didn’t evaluate the wireless but the wired service was very good for a hotel with 6mb/s down and 1mb/s upload speed. Unit was extremely clean and kitchen was very well equipped with full size frig, oven, big microwave, etc. Living area has smallish HD LCD TV with HDMI and component inputs if you want to review your vacation videos or photos. Input connectors are on the bottom of the TV and you may need a mirror and flashlight to make a connection. Bedroom has a large tube TV but the picture quality is ok.
Housekeeping and front desk personnel were extremely friendly and responded to requests quickly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife an I had another great weekend a Blackstone. The suites are very spacious and are still in an excellent condition considering it has been a few years ago since we first visited.

We have read some resent reviews especially with issues around housekeeping. I think people must remember this is a condo resort with the emphasis on a spacious well equipped condo and is not a hotel in the truest form and consider the relative low price you pay for for such a great space.

We will definitely be back on our next trip to Canada.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Wow! Booked a 2 bedroom suite for one night and wished we had booked longer (this was a pit stop between Calgary and Jasper).

Such a spacious and comfortable suite and right on the doorstep of Canmore town (which is small but sweet).

Good secure underground car park. Full kitchen. Entire suite spotless. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We visited Canmore in mid-September 2011. We were in a 2 bedroom suite (with another couple) for 3 nights then in a room with 2 queens for 3 nights.

Overall, the Blackstone was great. Awesome staff, accommodating when we made requests, nice heated pool & hot tubs.

Nicely appointed suites, same goes for the rooms though ours was a bit small.

Only negative comment is that housekeeping only comes on the 4th day - so we never got to see it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.