We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious suites, excellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blackstone Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Spring Stay
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spacious suites, excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Enjoyed our stay here. Great family location, but ideal for couples also. Only 17 km from Banff np. Could easily stayed here for full two weeks of our holiday. Kananaskis country is underage, Smith-Dorrian trail was superb for wildlife, good types required for this though, we had a jeep.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    140
    32
    11
    15
See reviews for
217
195
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed here for the second year in a row with my mother and young son for a get-away. Last year we had housekeeping service daily, with fresh towels, beds made, coffee & toilettries topped up, etc. This year there is no daily housekeeping service, unless you want to pay extra. For the amount of money the suites cost per night, I would expect daily housekeeping service. Also, when we opened the cabinet under the kitchen sink where the garbage/recycling bins are, it smelled very strongly of an ash tray. Not very nice, especially for a suite that is non-smoking.

Other than that, we love the 2-bdrm, 2-bath suites. Plenty of room for us and I like that each bedroom walked out to the patio. The decor was really nice, I like the slate tile around the fireplace and kitchen backsplash. I thought it was odd that the living room had a (small) flat-screen TV, but each of the bedrooms had larger TVs, but they were the old-fashioned tube TVs. The furniture was nice and we found the bedding and pillows very comfortable.

In-room robes were a nice touch, especially for going to the pool. The bathtubs are very deep, which made it difficult to bathe my son, but would be nice for an adult to have a bath. The shower heads have pretty low water pressure, but I guess that is to save on water consumption.

The outdoor swimming pool was nice, and the temperature was fairly warm. I like that there are 2 hot tubs, but each of them had ceramic tiles falling off around the inside borders.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I have been here numerous times for skiing to hiking and never regretted staying here!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a gorgeous property with well-equipped, spacious suites in a great location in Canmore (approx 15 minutes east of Banff), walking distance to downtown Canmore. The underground parking is a nice feature. This suite was perfect for our family with two young children. The beds were very comfortable and the resort was very quiet.

The pool was on the small side and backing onto the Transcanada Highway which made for heavy traffic noise,, but it was clean and the temperature was perfect. The hot tubs were also wonderful, although the ceramic tile appeared to be chipping off, which is a huge safety issue.

The staff and service is where this hotel/condo is lacking. Firstly, our room was not ready until 1.5 hours after the check-in time of 4:00. When travelling with young children, this is a much bigger inconvenience than it may sound! We finally were up to our room by 6:00, and were shocked to find it was not very clean. There were pools of water on the bathroom floors and the one bathroom stunk so badly of must that we kept the door closed and did not use that bathroom. Half the light bulbs were burnt out. There were also crumbs on the kitchen counter and living room floor, making us think it hadn't even been vaccumned. There were also no toiletries or even hand soap or dishwashing soap..no coffee, nothing. We immediately contacted housekeeping, and were basically told "we're sorry" but nothing was done to rectify it.

You should know that housekeeping is only available every four (I believe?!) days, however they claim garbage is removed from the rooms daily. Not once was our garbage removed, and there was also garbage in the hall the entire duration of our three night stay!

There is a bbq area and while that was a huge convenience, it too was not well maintained as it was very dirty and in need of repair.

Verde Spa offers services on site and my husband and I each booked a massage with Nicole. The massage was wonderful! Note that if you do this, you pay the hotel directly and there is an automatic gratuity added.

In short this hotel has great potential based on the location, rooms and amenities, but it is not very well maintained nor staffed at the moment.

Room Tip: Booked through VRBO for half the posted rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights as a quick last minute getaway from the city with my fiancé. We've both never stayed in Canmore before as we normally head across the B.C. border into Radium Hot Springs or stay in Banff. Chose this particular property because of the previous positive tripadvisor reviews and a $99/night special on their website. We booked the hotel room, or lockoff, as everything else wasn't available with short notice. Room was clean and of average size for this type of condo hotel.

However, there are a few negatives that we experienced which will keep us from coming back. First and foremost the beds were AWFUL!!! We both woke up every morning feeling like we had been worked over the night before, making it very difficult to get a good nights rest. We were given a room on the second floor so I don't know if those particular rooms are rented out more often which would contribute to the extremley poor condition of the matteresses. Secondly, as this was a "lockoff" there was an adjoining door to the suite next door which was poorly insulated/soundproofed. We could continually hear people talking/laughing and dishes being bashed around, particulary first thing in the morning. Not so great for sleeping in after a night of tossing and turning on a uncomfortable bed. We've stayed in other properties which have similar layouts for their suites with adjoining lockoffs and never experienced problems with noise from the other unit(s). The last few issues are minor: the free wifi in the rooms is nonexistent; AC/heating was difficult to figure out and overall room temp was hard to regulate; window only opened an inch and a half and had extreme noise from the highway; had to phone twice to get extra towels and landed up having to go down to the front desk to pick them up after waiting 3 hours; and finally the jets in both the outdoor hot tubs were not working. We could have delt with the last few issues with minor grumbling and been relatively happy, but in combination with the first two made our stay barely tolerable. The included underground parking was a plus, but not enough to justify another vist.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the resort. I am sorry that the stay did not meet your expectation, and want to assure you that we always want all our guests to have a great stay. As part of our partnership with the unit owners, we all want to ensure that all our guests have a good nights sleep. We have not had a great deal of negative feedback on the bedding at Blackstone, however, will keep this in mind as we start to speak about possible furniture replacement in the future. As for the problem with getting towels replenished, we have reviewed this comment with our Rooms Division to see what can be done to increase the speed of delivery for these types of items and have asked for a plan of action to make sure that these items are taken care of within a reasonable amount of time. Finally, the internet in Blackstone was having some challenges recently, and we have since had our provider in to ensure that the service is in proper working order. Some adjustments were made, and it appears that this issue has now been taken care of. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and we hope that we may be able to see you once again in the future.

Sincerely
R Noble
Area Director - Canmore
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I thought the Lodge was a great value for the money. Well equiped for a vacation. Upon check in, I was told that there would be no house keeping. Apparently house kepping comes on the 4th day and we stayed 3 days. Friendly customer service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thanks you for your nice comments about Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We do have a Vacation Style housekeeping, and if you desire, you may request additional housekeeping services from our Front Desk. Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
R Noble
Area Director - Canmore
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here while visiting Banff for 3 days. We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children. Very spacious two bedroom suite with two bathrooms. Each room had a queen bed. One of them with an in-suite bathroom. There is also a sofa-cama. We did not use the kitchen but everything is there for you to cook. There is also a washer/dryer.
We really enjoyed our stay here. Very comfortable. Friendly and attentive staff. Definitely would stay here again next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your nice feedback. I will be sure to pass this on to the team at Blackstone and let them know how you felt about your stay there. It is great to positive feedback on this, one of the perennial favourite places for families to stay in Canmore. The units are very well equipped if you desire to cook, and Canmore is also a great place to spend the nights out on the town for dinner and meals as well. Once again thank you for your comments, and I hope we see you here again soon.

Sincerely
R Noble
Area Director - Canmore
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.