We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste Delights!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Restaurant

Tapas Restaurant
633 10 St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
+1 403-609-0583
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapas Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $41
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Ave
Description: Oted most Romantic Restaurant in the Rockies, we are tucked off Main Street Canmore in a charming character house. Tapas offers the lively fusion of Spanish and Old World flavours created by our kitchen team. We have designed a menu of specialty dishes that are prepared to order from the freshest ingredients available. All stocks, sauces and desserts are made by our Chef Dan Purvis in house. Our menu offers gluten free and vegetarian options. Share several plates amongst friends in the intimate dining room with Spanish style murals and high back leather chairs. We also have an eclectic attic with slanted ceilings and low windows which is great for small parties. Don't forget to visit us in the summer where you can enjoy tapas on our Mediterranean- style deck with lovely al fresco ambiance. And most importantly, be sure to try our house made Sangria (white or red) or choose a lovely Spanish Cava or wine from our Wine Menu. Want to bring your own wine, we offer a $20 corkage fee as well.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Taste Delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went with some friends on a pre-Christmas weekend getaway to Canmore and decided to enjoy a meal at Tapas. We were not disappointed! The portions were generally pretty good for sharing. Each serving was tasty, very unique flavours. Yes, it was a bit pricey, but we were spoiling ourselves. It was worth every penny! Small, intimate setting with great service. We'd go there again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    65
    18
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun, funky and fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a great evening at Tapas in Canmore. No rushing- great suggestions by the staff, generous plates for 2 or a good taste for 4 and wonderful Sangria! Loved the house the restaurant is in- we were upstairs and didn't find the sloped roof an issue but could see how it might be for a tall person. We would definitely go back as there were many dished we weren't able to try. Definitely recommend the mussels in a spicy cream sauce!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not what it once was :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We used to LOVE this place! Now sadly, we are disappointed by the food. The food is very heavy and rich and not as tasty as it once was. Not many options for vegetarians either. It is also expensive. The service, though good, was tainted when our party was asked to leave in order to accommodate the next seating! We were just starting to get into good juicy conversation and had only been there 1 & 1/2 hours. That left a very bad taste in our mouths!
Lastly, the ambience is lovely on the main level but not nice at all upstairs. Sorry. Cannot recommend this place the way we used to.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Value AND I love Manchengo Cheese...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Came here with 3 friends, ordered several dishes, and we were all impressed by the size, good for sharing. Each dish we ordered definitely had enough to go around. Complaint, potas bravas... hashbrowns, highlights, pretty much everything else.
I was following a strict food regimen, and the kitchen was able to accomodate me (altering menu items etc.) which I really appreciated. Would go back, and do recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great sangria, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It is nice to find a good Spanish restaurant. The food is good but not outstanding. I really liked the sangria. I would recommend the restaurant but do not have too high of expectations. I am a spaniard so it is normal to be a little disappointed when you try to match true Spanish food. I had a good time and enjoyed the meal. I would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.