We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room, helpful hosts, tasty breakfast, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview & Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverview & Main
918 8th St. (Main St.), Canmore, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Canmore B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely room, helpful hosts, tasty breakfast, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a find: We had a large, clean, attractive room with a queen bed (comfortable mattress) and a private “ensuite” bath. Breakfast was good – fruit, rolls, eggs, bacon, etc., served hot and with friendly old-fashioned politeness by Japanese owners Yuki and Peter. I am baffled by otherwise comments. No nighttime noise from the highway or trains, since the house is on the other side of town. There is a private TV/sitting/breakfast room downstairs for the use of guests. Yuki has lots of information on the area which she is generous about sharing. It is a 1½ hour drive to the Calgary airport. On our last morning, we had to leave at 7am and thus miss breakfast – Yuki packed some sandwiches, etc., for us to take, which was very nice.

The town of Banff is hyped because it is in the national park, but, frankly, we found it crowded and overpriced. Canmore is 20 minutes away, just outside the park. Our room, in August 2012, was $135/night, with no taxes. We stayed here at the beginning and at the end of our trip. The local Safeway has everything you want at good prices; we stocked up at the start. And Canmore has some great restaurants and shopping. For us, it was ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are delighted that you had a nice stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it. It was very lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again.
Peter & Yuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Room was beautiful, comfortable bed, nice deck. Food.... Sad, insipid, disrepected. I could've had a better breakfast spending the night in the drunk tank in jail. Not entirely welcoming, but not unkind. If one is dedicating their interest and effort into running a bed and breakfast, please try harder.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Hayzues,
We deeply regret the experience you had with our breakfast. Our hot breakfasts change daily especially if you are staying with us for a few nights so as to not bore your tastebuds. Most breakfasts will include fresh home made bread and or home made pastries, fresh seasonal fruit from the market, eggs, and some sort of meat, with potatoes. Some days we will offer home made pancakes with maple syrup. We offer your choice of coffee or tea, and orange juice for beverages. We also try to accommodate any food allergies, or special requests from gluten free to vegetarian.
We apologize if this was not up to your standards, and welcome any recipies and or recommendations to spice up our menu.
Best Regards,
Riverview and Main B & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed at this B&B in Canmore, Alberta and were disappointed with it. The room was really pretty with an adjoining communal balcony and TV room. We stayed 4 nights and the hosts, Yuki and Peter Shimizu never once cleaned the bathroom or room or emptied the garbage. We ended up taking out our own garbage! On 2 occasions the supposed hot breakfast consisted of cold fried eggs, etc. They put the breakfast out before the guests hit the table so by the time we got there ( and we were there at the time we requested) some of the food was cold. Cold fried egg is gross!! Also, the host Peter seemed suspicious of us and watched over our shoulders as we filled out the guest registration form. They say they have been operating the b&b for 7 years. They live on the other side of the house and if you want to contact them you have to ring a bell on a table. One morning we had to contact Peter twice and he would answer "yes?' in a whiny voice, like he was fed up with us. They also have a jewellery cabinet above the dining table so we figure they want to get further money from the guests by hoping they will buy a piece of jewellery. There are no prices on the jewellery as we could see from the cabinet so I guess they are hoping for a good offer. Also the room and house was cool at night. They set the temperature at 18 degrees celsius. It is central heating that they control.There are also lots of signs all over the place telling guest what to do and what not to do. Sounds like they had a lot of trouble with other guests.

We would not stay here again unless we could not find other accomodation. We sure didn't enjoy getting served a cold breakfast by a grumpy host. Yuki was a bit more pleasant. We considered getting our own breakfast at one point but decided it was a bit more convenioent to have the breakfast there.

Room Tip: Shop around for a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverviewmain, Owner at Riverview & Main, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Sheri S.,
We deeply regret the experience that you had with us. We try to operate in an environmentally friendly manor while respecting people’s privacy. If asked, we are more than happy to clean rooms, provide fresh towels and linen, or any other services that you may require. Breakfasts are served at the time requested by the guest and we can usually accomdodate any last minute changes within reason. In an effort to make you feel at home we have provided you with control of the thermostat in the B & B common room and extra blankets are provided upon request.
We appoligize if this wasn’t clearly communicated to you, if you have any other recommendations please let us know.
Best Regards,
Riverview & Main B & B Canmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Ontariio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

WE stayed at Riverview and Main B&B, which we found quite easily at a nice quiet end of Canmore, close to all shops and restaurants. Yuki and Peter, were very good hosts and prepared delicious breakfasts. The rooms were clean and bright, we had the back bedroom with the ensuite and my sister and bro-in-law had the front room, this room had a bathroom immediately outside their room, so privacy was not an issue. We were the only couples upstairs and there was a coffee and tea set up on the first landing which was handy, plus Yuki was available for any requests. There is a sitting room donstairs where we entered the house and we had use of the television and seating, it was very relaxing. We think Canmore is a good location to use as a base and go visit all of the surrounding sites. We wthought the B&B was good value and centrally located, but quiet to sleep at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I had the good luck to find this lovely Bed and Breakfast for a long weekend away with my sister last weekend. We were pleased with the location, the decor and most especially the food! We were made to feel like family when we were invited to partake of birthday cake during a celebration for a friend of the hosts who was celebrating her 80th birthday! Thank you. I want to thank you so much for a most enjoyable stay and I will recommend Riverview and Main to others for sure!

Room Tip: We had The Three Sisters room because it had two beds; if we came back, we would choose the ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I don't understand why there are not more great reviews of this lovely place.
We have just spent 5 days in the wonderful care of Yuki and Peter. It was great. We too stayed in the room described by the other reviewers. There is a walk-in wardrobe, excellent bathroom and a lovely balcony where you can sit and have a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the mountains. Perfect!

Downstairs, is a very comfortable lounge with TV and a dining area, facilties for making tea/coffee and microwave etc. for preparing meals if required. The breakfasts were different every day and just perfect with freshly baked bread and pasteries among the offerings. We noted that Yuki was able to cater for the special dietry needs of the other guests which was great.

The location is perfect, being 2 minutes stroll from the Main St. yet in a quiet location overlooking a small park and close to the river. Canmore itself is a lovely town and very convenient for visits to Banff and Lake Louise.

All in a wonderful stay, highly recommended. Thank you Yuki and Peter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The previous review (and the only one) was posted in 2002. My husband and I stayed in this B&B for 5 nights in July 2009 (in the same room!). Everything remains true since 2002. It's a hidden jem for people that seek privacy while on vacation. Thank you so much again to the owners of Riverview & Main!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverview & Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview & Main

Also Known As:
Riverview & Main Canmore, Alberta
Address: 918 8th St. (Main St.), Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview & Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverview & Main to your Saves list