We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOO HOO - WHAT FUN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours

Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours
109-829 10th Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C3, Canada
1-888-311-6874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 Activities in Canmore
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours, the famous forerunners in sled dog touring and racing in the Bow Valley, created the first dog sledding tours over a quarter of a century ago. With over 30 years of experience and expertise in touring, racing and conservation; we are extremely proud of our Canadian and Albertan roots and look forward to sharing our exceptional experiences with you!Our mission is to educate, entertain and provide our guests with a “once in a lifetime experience!” We employ the most qualified instructors, the friendliest and most beautiful, authentic touring huskies who all receive the best possible dog care. We provide guests with the safest tour offerings, all while ensuring the utmost comfort and superior attention to customer service and detail. Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours excels in its commitment to offer the most genuine dog sledding experience in the Canadian Rockies
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOO HOO - WHAT FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I did the tour whilst our adult children where skiing and boarding. What a fun outing and great to see we even feature in your promo pix. The bickies and hot cider a real treat after. The dogs and staff outstanding. Recommend to everyone.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    9
    2
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Blindin Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Went with my son and my lady over Easter holidays, we were blown away with how beautiful the dogs are. The staff treat the dogs with the uptmost care, respect and love. My son, who is 10 fell in love with Optimus Prime and in the second half of the tour was allowed to steer with me, which made his year and has not stopped bragging to his mates about it. We saw an Owl with a wingspan that was longer than me. The owner who gives you your instructions is a great laugh, a great bearded Canadian who loves what he does and truly adores his doggy mates, remember two feet on brakes, hike, easy, whoa, run with the dogs when going uphill and be enthusiastic with the dogs. Do not go with other tours this is an experience of a lifetime, with staff that can't do enough for you ,the scenery is breathtaking. Thank you Snowy Owl for making our last day in Canada a perfect day.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impromtu Dog Sled ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Driving along the Spray Lakes loop, we happened upon some dogs....lots of dogs. They were the Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours. We were admiring the dogs and to our surprise they had one team left that wasn't going out. We were asked if we would like to go for a ride. Wow!!! What a Rush!!! we felt like we were in the middle of the "The Yukon Quest or The Iditarod". Carlin one of the owners took us out with her team.....what beautiful dogs!!!! Thank you Carlin, It truly was amazing!!! I am telling everyone, See your guys and team of dogs at the West Edmonton Mall, in Edmonton, Ab on the weekend of April 28 & 29/12

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A great experience with informed guides and the best way to look at snow trails and frozen lakes.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Went on the monthly moonlit tour in beautiful Spray lakes mountains, driven there and back to a staging point on a bus with excellant friendly informative bus driver. Wonderful experience with very nice friendly staff. We are so glad we went, very romantic.
Just a few issues though, when my wife came in early and tried to book with debit she was told NO she had to use a credit card, ok rather not, but ok, and then when we showed up for our tour we saw other people on our tour paying with a debit card??
Also apparently every third dog sled will have a guide riding on one skid while the guest has to stand on the other skid. I requested several times if I could drive the dogsled alone with my wife who was sitting up front and perhaps the guide could ride with obvious drunken guest that was operating a sled behind us by himself, (he was very slow and was slowing the whole tour down). The guide said yes to my request several times but never did allow me to operate the sled alone??? Kind of disappointing.
Appetizers and refreshments around the fire afterwards were delicious.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnowyOwlTours, Owner at Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback – we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us!

We do allow our valued guests to pay by debit card however, if you requested to pay over the phone with your debit card, our reservations personnel would have had to decline. The reason for this is because of course, you have to physically be present to enter in your pin and account whereas with a credit card you do not. It is not our policy to decline a debit card if you were physically in our office.

We would very much like to investigate the matter of the intoxicated guests you have mentioned in your review. We have sent a private message to you with a few questions as we do take this very seriously and we certainly hope to hear back from you regarding this matter. Based on the level of knowledge, professionalism and experience of our Instructors – we are very confident that if these guests were a liability to any aspect of our operation we simply would not have allowed them to drive a dog team at all.

As mentioned, we have sent a private message which also includes questions regarding your concerns of not being able to drive a dog team. In order for us to look into this further, we will require a bit more information.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.