We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but more info needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
EDMONTON
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but more info needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotels.com. Had we been informed that not all services at this hotel would be provided, we would have booked elsewhere. As seniors, we look for and expect what is advertised and appreciate the amenities we pay for. We should not have had to pay full price for not all the amenities advertised.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was not as great as you would have liked. Over the Holidays we give our team some time off to share with their families and advertise it on our websites. As a third party website was who you booked through I will look to better this service in the future to avoid situations where our customers are not told about the limitations at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    59
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
56
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at hinton on our way to Jasper for one night. This is a very nice new hotel on the way to Jasper. Very nice king room with very professional staff, we even had a follow up call after chech in to sewe if everything was ok. I really appreciated this call and it is a nice touch to make sure you are welcome. Very comfortable bed and clean room. Breakfast was very good and their are lots of dining options in town. i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upper floor and at the back. You may get road noise if facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. It's nice to hear the positives about the hotel as well as what you recommend to others for an enjoyable stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel while you traveled in the Hinton Jasper area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights during the Canadian Thanksgiving holiday, and we loved our stay. The room was clean and spacious with complimentary Internet access. We loved the breakfast a lot, and I think they are ideal for non big eaters like us.
The only "drawback" is it's 1 hour driving from Jasper. But no complaint from us: the scenery was so beautiful and we saw lots of moose/elk/deer when driving to/from Jasper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with others. We value the feedback we get from our guests and what makes their stay enjoyable. We are very happy to hear about all the wildlife you seen on your drive to the park daily. It definately makes the drive shorter when you get to enjoy the view as well.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us as we know there are many choices to lodging in the Hinton and Jasper area. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We agree with other reviews. We had a king room with a 2-person Jacuzzi tub in the room (a free one-night stay from accumulated points), with all the usual HI amenities - mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and even some paper plates, bowls and cutlery to assist with make-your-own food-on-the-run. Check in was swift since we had reserved online, everything was clean and tidy, and the room was the largest HI room we had ever stayed in. Breakfast included cereals, egg/cheese omelet, ham slices, toast, pancakes - with all the fixings. The hotel was set back from the highway, and although our room faced the highway (which was quite busy) noise was not an issue. We carry a foam topper with us when we travel in case the beds are too firm... not needed here. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your recent stay with others. Our Loyalty program Priority Club definately has it's benifits especaially when you get to enjoy a nights accomodation in the Jacuzzi suite. I have passed on the comments from here to the team and as we greatly appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

we choose this hotel based on other reviews, as we were not totally satisfied with the choice offered by Jasper. the true distance from Jasper (the town) is approx. 78 k"m and not as advertised. We stayed there for two nights. We've got the opportunity to choose our room and we opted for one at the back of the hotel, trying to avoid the noise of the highway. The view was not very nice, but at least it was quiet and that's what we asked for. Nice, quite new hotel, helpful staff, especially Luigi, nice room and bathroom, well equipped, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Breakfast was OK. They do have an inside swimming pool but when we tried to get in, the smell of the chlorine was unbearable and we left.
It you choose the hotel as an alternative to Jasper be well aware of the time spent driving to and back from all the attractions points. This is the only downside we could find, otherwise everything was just fine.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on our hotel and location. The drive to Jasper can be very scenic and full of wildlife at times making Hinton an ideal stop over for guests looking for that adventure on there trip. You are right we are a 45 minute drive to the townsite of Jasper itself depending on traffic.
I have passed on your feedback to the team and I really appreciate you naming the guests ervice agent who had the most impact on your service you recieved. As he is the newest member to the team he'll be pleased to know that he is giving great service that people remeber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
190 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a quick overnight here recently. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff at check in were friendly and efficient. The pool was average but OK. The complementary breakfast was good as these things fare. All in all our stay was fine and I can definitely recommend that it be considered for a stay in Hinton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel with others. We are pleased to hear that your overnight stay was one that you can recommend to others and will stay again because of. I have shared your comments with the team and they look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent one night here prior to an event we attended in Jasper National Park. The room was precisely what one would expect for this chain. We had a single king bed room. It happened to be located across from the exercise room and next to the pool area. We didn't notice any extra noise from this room location. I used the exercise room and found it very adequate. It could use a mat however. The breakfast was very good. The cleanliness level in this facility was very good. A couple of things to consider: Hinton is a paper mill town and the smell of the plant is the smell of money for the community. Also, this location is on the east side of town and Hinton, though a small town, is quite spread out. This will add a few minutes to a trip to Jasper esp. if you're visiting the park more than one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with others. I value the feedback you shared, especially in regards to the exercise room as we don't use the equipment it is great to hear how we can improve the area for our guests. I have shared your comments with the team and we look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton

Address: 462 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Location Highlights this Hinton, Alberta Hotel Surrounded by the beauty of the Rocky Mountains, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Hinton, Alberta treats guests to top-quality amenities and service.The breathtaking landscapes of the Rockies are one of the most popular attractions in Hinton. Our hotel near Jasper National Park gives you easy access to this protected range of caribou and home of the highest mountain in Alberta. You can also take an ATV tour with Canadian Rockies Adventures. Golfers can enjoy playing 18 holes at the Hinton Golf Course, a few miles from our hotel. If you prefer to stay indoors while lodging in Hinton, Alberta, consider stopping by the Parks West Mall for a day of shopping.Business travelers to our Hinton, Alberta accommodations can benefit from our convenient location near dozens of corporate locations, such as Hinton Wood Products, Hinton General Hospital, Kal Tire, Weatherford, Yellowhead Regional Educational Consortium and Syntech Enerflex. Our Hinton, Alberta hotel also has a meeting room, a 24-hour Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access to meet your business needs.We go beyond other hotels in Hinton, Alberta to offer the best amenities such as a free hot breakfast bar each morning. We have a variety of rooms and suites, each equipped with 32' TVs, high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator. Call today and reserve a room at our Hinton, Alberta hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hinton
Holiday Inn Express Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
Hinton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.