We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   462 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Hinton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We agree with other reviews. We had a king room with a 2-person Jacuzzi tub in the room (a free one-night stay from accumulated points), with all the usual HI amenities - mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and even some paper plates, bowls and cutlery to assist with make-your-own food-on-the-run. Check in was swift since we had reserved online, everything was clean and tidy, and the room was the largest HI room we had ever stayed in. Breakfast included cereals, egg/cheese omelet, ham slices, toast, pancakes - with all the fixings. The hotel was set back from the highway, and although our room faced the highway (which was quite busy) noise was not an issue. We carry a foam topper with us when we travel in case the beds are too firm... not needed here. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your recent stay with others. Our Loyalty program Priority Club definately has it's benifits especaially when you get to enjoy a nights accomodation in the Jacuzzi suite. I have passed on the comments from here to the team and as we greatly appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    45
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
51
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

we choose this hotel based on other reviews, as we were not totally satisfied with the choice offered by Jasper. the true distance from Jasper (the town) is approx. 78 k"m and not as advertised. We stayed there for two nights. We've got the opportunity to choose our room and we opted for one at the back of the hotel, trying to avoid the noise of the highway. The view was not very nice, but at least it was quiet and that's what we asked for. Nice, quite new hotel, helpful staff, especially Luigi, nice room and bathroom, well equipped, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Breakfast was OK. They do have an inside swimming pool but when we tried to get in, the smell of the chlorine was unbearable and we left.
It you choose the hotel as an alternative to Jasper be well aware of the time spent driving to and back from all the attractions points. This is the only downside we could find, otherwise everything was just fine.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on our hotel and location. The drive to Jasper can be very scenic and full of wildlife at times making Hinton an ideal stop over for guests looking for that adventure on there trip. You are right we are a 45 minute drive to the townsite of Jasper itself depending on traffic.
I have passed on your feedback to the team and I really appreciate you naming the guests ervice agent who had the most impact on your service you recieved. As he is the newest member to the team he'll be pleased to know that he is giving great service that people remeber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a quick overnight here recently. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff at check in were friendly and efficient. The pool was average but OK. The complementary breakfast was good as these things fare. All in all our stay was fine and I can definitely recommend that it be considered for a stay in Hinton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel with others. We are pleased to hear that your overnight stay was one that you can recommend to others and will stay again because of. I have shared your comments with the team and they look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent one night here prior to an event we attended in Jasper National Park. The room was precisely what one would expect for this chain. We had a single king bed room. It happened to be located across from the exercise room and next to the pool area. We didn't notice any extra noise from this room location. I used the exercise room and found it very adequate. It could use a mat however. The breakfast was very good. The cleanliness level in this facility was very good. A couple of things to consider: Hinton is a paper mill town and the smell of the plant is the smell of money for the community. Also, this location is on the east side of town and Hinton, though a small town, is quite spread out. This will add a few minutes to a trip to Jasper esp. if you're visiting the park more than one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with others. I value the feedback you shared, especially in regards to the exercise room as we don't use the equipment it is great to hear how we can improve the area for our guests. I have shared your comments with the team and we look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice clean hotel. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it. Nice, extra big breakfast room with a typical continental breakfast. There are lots of tables and even a couch or two. We would definitely stay here again. We enjoyed Hinton more than over-crowded Jasper.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our hotel with others. As a 4 year old hotel in the Hinton area we take each season and learn something to becoming a great hotel in Hinton. It's always great to hear the things we are doing well so we can continue on doing it. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Hinton on our way Prince George to Edmonton. The hotel was great. Modern room, really nice bedroom, super comfortable beds. Nice and clean. Really nice place and a surprise as I never had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before. If I ever have to stay at Hinton, AB again I'll stay at this hotel. In fact I think I'll be keeping Holiday Inn Express facilities in mind when booking future places when travelling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us and will continue to try other Holiday inn Express's. We welcome you back on your next adventure through Hinton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

from the very effecient check in by the polite professional staff to rapid check out everything excellent
beautiful appointed junior suite spacious room nice furniture great bed great linens good breakfast included
immaculate property all around. would definetely recommend and would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HintonGMExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent encounter with our team and property. It's so nice to hear that the hotel team members are are effiecient in the day to day operation of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing it with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hinton
Holiday Inn Express Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
Hinton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton Alberta
Address: 462 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Location Highlights this Hinton, Alberta Hotel Surrounded by the beauty of the Rocky Mountains, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Hinton, Alberta treats guests to top-quality amenities and service.The breathtaking landscapes of the Rockies are one of the most popular attractions in Hinton. Our hotel near Jasper National Park gives you easy access to this protected range of caribou and home of the highest mountain in Alberta. You can also take an ATV tour with Canadian Rockies Adventures. Golfers can enjoy playing 18 holes at the Hinton Golf Course, a few miles from our hotel. If you prefer to stay indoors while lodging in Hinton, Alberta, consider stopping by the Parks West Mall for a day of shopping.Business travelers to our Hinton, Alberta accommodations can benefit from our convenient location near dozens of corporate locations, such as Hinton Wood Products, Hinton General Hospital, Kal Tire, Weatherford, Yellowhead Regional Educational Consortium and Syntech Enerflex. Our Hinton, Alberta hotel also has a meeting room, a 24-hour Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access to meet your business needs.We go beyond other hotels in Hinton, Alberta to offer the best amenities such as a free hot breakfast bar each morning. We have a variety of rooms and suites, each equipped with 32' TVs, high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator. Call today and reserve a room at our Hinton, Alberta hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.