We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for an overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn
828 Carmichael Lane, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1T1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good spot for an overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was the third of four Best Western Hotels we stayed in during our week touring around Alberta. This was simply an overnight stay on our way back to Edmonton. It is a very affordable option to staying in Jasper but is about a hour drive from the town of Jasper itself.

The other four Best Westerns had been the “Plus” brand, this was not. This is an “Inn” so we weren't expecting the same amenities. It’s a two storey building with no elevator and all rooms are accessed from outside. The lobby is fairly small. Only one gal at the front desk and it happened there were others checking in at the same time so there was a bit of a wait.

Our room itself was huge. We had the two queen bed room, it was V shaped with a bed in each end of the V and a very large bathroom in the notch. The room was quite clean and well maintained. Beds were quite comfy.

We had trouble with the WiFi but it was pretty much crap at every Best Western in which we stayed.

My only compaint, and what takes it down a notch for me, was the size of the breakfast room. As others have stated, it's way too small. The food itself was typical of an included breakfast. We ended up taking our breakfast back to the room. If the breakfast room can not be expanded, I would suggest they at least make take-out containers available to make it easier to take the food back to your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, it is a great way to help us improve to better your stay and others. I really like the idea of the "take out" containers. I will be sure to pass this along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
45
26
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over the Labour Day weekend with my wife, kids and parents. Check in was good, nice Scottish lady processed our booking quickly and explained everything well. Room was fair, nothing special, seems as if some single rooms have been combined to provide a one bedroom suite, room was quiet, facing away from the road and beds were comfortable. Bathroom very small with sink outside in the main room.

My main complaint was breakfast, nothing wrong with what was on offer - standard Best Western fare - but the room in which all this was on offer was TINY! Any more than 10 people in the room you were tripping over each other - lucky everyone seemed to be able to choreograph their way through. There were four tables barely able to sit 4 people each, all of this made the usual scramble for a complementary breakfast at Best Western a pretty stressful affair. My party ended up grabbing what we could and went back to our room to eat.

Check out was less friendly than check in, a different lady took my money gave me my receipt and didn't even wish me a good day. Perhaps the she had tried and failed to squeeze into the breakfast room and get something to eat that morning.

So overall, probably one of my worst Best Western experiences, not a disaster, just not that good. One suggestion - please extend your breakfast room!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your responce by letting us know how we can improve we can work to better your stay. I have addressed your concerns and hopefully this is something that we can remedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock Bc Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Perfect stop-over on our road trip to Edmonton from Vancouver BC. This Hotel had all the amenities required, the place was clean, the bedroom large, and the location on the ground floor excellent for our creaky knees. The staff were very helpful, and check in and out was faultless.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the review I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We are not yet booking our room...Right now we are just trying to call the customer service to confirm if we could bring our dog with us. After a cold voice of "please hold" and 15 minutes waiting, we gave up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I am sorry that you were treated like that by someone representing Best Western, unfortunately without knowing when you called or whom you called I can not deal with this to ensure that it does not happen again. Please feel free to call our hotel direcltly with all your questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Yes the hotel may not be the newest but is still a very good choice for everybody entering or leaving the National Parks that way. We found everything clean and in fine working order. The room was quiet and in the morning there is an adequate breakfast waiting. We had a good night sleep and would use this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. This lets us have a better understanding of what we can do to ensure that our guests have a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My great aunt and I stayed at the hotel during Victoria Day weekend. The hotel was clean and well maintained and quiet. The front office checked us in efficiently. Our room was large, comfortable and airy. The hotel is at Rockies foot hill. Hinton town is very small and only has a few eating establishments.
The hot pool was clean, hot and well kept. We slept well as the rooms were comfortable. The continental breakfast was good. Coffee was excellent. Checkout was good

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Got here late, just passing through, nice quiet clean place. There's a 24 hr IGA just down the road, nice to stop and get something fresh instead of fast food over and over. Kids were sad cause no swimming pool but they're fresh out of a day at the west Emonton mall waterpark so they'll survive. Parking stalls are a little tight on the west side of the building.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn

Address: 828 Carmichael Lane, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Wolf Hotel Hinton
Best Western Hinton
Hinton Best Western
BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn Hinton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN White Wolf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.