We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad dining service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hinton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hinton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hinton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   393 Gregg Avenue, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1N1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad dining service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Didn't have a good sleep since our rooms are on the 1st floor and we heard people walking around in the room above us. Front desk people are very nice. However, very bad service in the dining room when we were there for breakfast, even worst than any other fast food place. Server were rude and she make use felt like we were bordering her when we order or ask for the bill. There are much better restaurants around and we won't go back even though kids eat free if you stay at the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton707, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you taking the time to give us some feedback about your recent stay as it is always appreciated. I was very dissappointed to read your review and learn that we did not meet your expectations and that the level of service was far from acceptable. I have personally addresses the staff issue with our food & beverage department and hope that you will accept my sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    32
    14
    5
See reviews for
52
20
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

While there is nothing special to highlight about this hotel, it was a perfectly adequate place to stay. The room was large, well-equipped and clean, the guest laundry was excellent and the front desk staff were helpful, welcoming, friendly and polite.

The hotel is on a main road but as my room was at the back of the hotel I did not suffer from traffic noise.

My only criticism is that it was expensive for the quality of hotel, but I knew the cost when I booked so I cannot complain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton707, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your feed back and I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Everything was clean and comfortable. Just a standard holiday inn, good place to rest your head. Would stay again without hesitation. Bathroom was clean and updated and the shower pressure was good. Good overall stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton707, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our staff works hard to make every guests stay a memorable one. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we do hope you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed here during my visit to Jasper National Park. The hotel was very nice, the staff was extremely friendly and made me feel welcome. I was upgraded to a suite which was a nice touch and the furnishings were comfortable. The only thing I didnt like about my stay was that they use little, designer type pillows for the bed. These were not functional or comfortable for me at all. If they were to swtich these out, I would fully recommend this location. As far as Hinton goes, it is a small town on the main highway (room was not noisy), that seems to get a fair amount of oil and gas contractors and construction crews. There are several places to get food and several nearby grocery stores that one can stock up with lunches and snacks for the national park. The entrance to Jasper Natonal Park is not far from Hinton, but the actual town of Jasper is probably 1 hour away. This can be tiring after a long day, but the drive itself is incredible with beautiful scenery and much wildlife along the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton707, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy that you were able to appreciate most of the amenities that our hotel has to offer and our convenient location just outside of Jasper National Park. It is our hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at this location on July 28, 2012 - chose this hotel on the basis of the reviews I read on line and the overall rating. The spa in the hotel was not operational at the time of our stay and this was important to us. Sat down on one of the beds in the room and the mattress frame was not secure - nearly ended up on the floor!!! Mattress not comfortable. Bathroom small. Lighting could have been better. When checking in were questioned by the clerk regarding the rate that I had been given when registering online - this left an uncomfortable feeling from the onset. Subsequently cancelled our booking at the same location for Aug 4th and 5th - wouldn't go out of my way to stay at this hotel again. Wish my review could have been more positive.

Room Tip: Check to ensure that all amenities are available the day before travel. The spa was important to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton707, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. I do appreciate that you took the time to share your comments in order that we may make the necessary changes for future guests. I do agree that our desk staff should not be questioning rates made through the internet as this is not a professional practise and I will be sure to pass along these concerns. Once again thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good Stay. Loved the mini kitchenette in the room (sink, microwave, fridge) good stuff. Nice sized bathroom. All around nice. one thing I've noticed at a ton of places is that the air conditioning units are always so loud. This was not the case here! I was happy to see that. Free Breakfast was alright. It's a free breakfast kind of standard. Not awful but not great. My one complaint was the couple across the hall was parading their child out by the elevator to some family/friends? it was odd and my room was right next to the action. They were noisy but eventually quieted down. I guess it would be nicer if the rooms were a bit more sound proof but not a deal breaker by any means. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton707, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hinton, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback with other travellers and I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here several times when passing through, no problems. Pool is great, and an excellent place to eat across the road called L&W. No elevator, only two floors though. Staff has always been friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton707, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Always nice to hear positive feedback and I will be sure to pass it along to the team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hinton

Address: 393 Gregg Avenue, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hinton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Holiday Inn Hinton, AlbertaYou're invited to the Holiday Inn Hinton located near Jasper National Park. Our hotel in Hinton, which is considered the gateway to Alberta's Rockies, is located near many great attractions. You'll find that among Hinton hotels we are best suited for your needs. Stay with us in our relaxing family atmosphere and explore the magic of Hinton. Hotels located on the edge of a popular national park grant you fast access to natural beauty. You will find many attractions within your reach, including William A. Switzer Park, Brule Sand Dunes and the Yellowhead Raceway. Let your Hinton travels take you into Jasper National Park where you can spend time at great attractions like Athabasca Falls, Miette Hot Springs and Ski Marmot Basin. Looking at hotels in Hinton for a business trip? The Holiday Inn Hinton is your best choice thanks to a great location and services. Stay with us, and you'll be near Innovista Eco-Industrial Park, West Fraser Timber Co. Ltd. and Teck Mining Company. Take advantage of our event facilities and free high-speed Internet access for your business needs. Don't settle for lesser hotels. The Hinton Holiday Inn is your best choice for comfort and relaxation. You can go for a swim in our indoor pool, splash down our water slide and relax in our sauna and whirlpool. Keep your workout routine in sync at the fitness centre at our comfortable Hinton hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hinton Hotel Hinton
Hinton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hinton Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.