We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Canadian Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Best Canadian Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Canadian Motor Inn
386 Smith St., Hinton, Alberta T7V2A1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
WABAMUN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My daughter and I and her volleyball team recently stayed at the BCMI in Hinton. Our rooms were $99/night and included a continental breakfast (basic but sufficient). The hotel was very clean, comfortable beds & pillows, large rooms, mini fridge and microwave and best of all Keurig Coffee Makers (Yay!). There was a pool and waterlside and hot tub. The kids had a lot of fun at the pool, although the hot tub is small. The only drawback of the hotel is that the walls are thin and you can hear what goes on in the room beside you. We were lucky because the first night we heard nothing but the 2nd night the kids next door were a bit noisy. However, as they were with our group we were able to deal with it very well. This location has two buildings - the Hotel and the Motel (one allows pets). There is a great restaurant/pub (Ranchers) half a block away within walking distance and they deliver too). We would stay here again, cause the value was really good, and we felt safe & clean here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wireless internet is important to my sister and I when we're on our annual sister trip because we like posting our daily pictures to share on Facebook. When we got there my laptop would work in our room but my sister's would only work in the lobby. At first they said that's just how it is but after we asked to try a different room they actually installed a new system and it worked fine after that. The pool and changing room were very nice but a strange layout. You had to go down to the basement and then back up the stairs to the pool area. I'm not sure what they do if you're handicapped. The staff was very nice. There was a refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker in the room and a complimentary breakfast which started at 5am. Not the fanciest but good. It's about 45 minutes outside Jasper. The road between Hinton and Jasper is very scenic and had lot's of wildlife including a moose, elk and big horn sheep so we didn't mind and the cost was about 1/3 of what Jasper is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloyne, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There was lots of choice in Hinton Ab, but we selected this place because of its reviews. The hotel was quite new and had a flat screen tv. The breakfast was good and included hard boiled eggs and saugage and egg muffins as well as cereals, bagels and waffles. Even had cappucino available.
However, I'll try to be discrete. The toilet bowl had urine spatters. It was not cleaned after the last guest. Not a good impression.
All In all I would probably not recommend BCMI at the $109 we paid.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel on the back away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

BCMI Hinton Ab

Nice hotel. Nice pool and waterslide, gym and hottub. There is a concept 2 rowing machine in the gym...nice to ease the pains of hours of driving. The pool fitness centre has large dressing rooms/showers so there is no need for walking through the hotel dripping wet.

An RV park is on the property allowing these patrons access to the services in the building. The contnental breakfast is basic with waffles, cold cereals, muffins and bagels. If that just gets your appetite going, Ranchers, next door will fatten you up!

The room was large with a 6 foot long desk and power above the desktop. Lots of light wherever I needed it, and the closet/suitcase nook was big enough for my huge bag to lay open. Didn't see ethernet cable jack in the room but will check out the business centre as I leave. Forgot to look for ethernet jacks, but may be from one of the computers connections? My room was on the back side and I heard zero traffic noise, although I could hear people in neighbouring rooms. The tap water is sweet, the fridge having enough space for my 1 litre ice bottles.

Overall...a very good hotel accomodation.

Room Tip: I only had breakfast at Ranchers and it was amazing. They had a $4.99 special, but I had the Rancher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I could go on forever! Beautiful huge room with a KEURIG coffee maker in it! Lots of electrical outlets too. Spacious lots of parking. Desk staff rocks - friendly, helpful and courteous. Pool and fitness change rooms are amazing. Nice new equipment in fitness room. 24 hr coffee in the lobby - good coffee. Pool is only 0.9 m all the way around - good for little kids not so much for adults. Just a really really great place to be. Great value - same price as the days inn next door and a million times better.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Booked a suite after rolling into town rather late-ish without calling ahead on a Friday! Anyway, nice rooms, very clean. I thought breakfast was really good compared to other places we've stayed at, plus the staff was bending over backwards making sure everything was well stocked. People were all super nice. No complaints! :) job well done!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Reasonably clean, breakfast was OK (just open the fridge and get some boiled eggs, sausage and heat up yourself with microwave).
Noise insulation was not good: sounds from the neighboring room can be heard easily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Canadian Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Canadian Motor Inn

Address: 386 Smith St., Hinton, Alberta T7V2A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Canadian Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Canadian Motor Inn Hinton, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Canadian Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.