We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always stay here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotsford Super 8

Abbotsford Super 8
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abbotsford Super 8 to your Saves list
Abbotsford Super 8
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 Sumas Way, Abbotsford, British Columbia V2S 4L5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Abbotsford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I always stay here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here about 7 times in the past 8 years and always in the main hotel. Every time it has been pleasant and clean and affordable. Staff is always friendly. Pillows are getting a little lumpy and could maybe be replaced. Pool rules are too strict.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    101
    52
    15
    13
See reviews for
127
48
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I would rate this property a 4.5 stars, if Trip Advisor had that option. The folks at this Super 8 are working hard to make this a standout property in its class.

We stay in Abbotsford every time we come up here to visit family. It's a border town located in a breadbasket agriculture area that is slowly moving beyond its once a year airshow as the only serious offering for visitors.

The Super 8 is located a few minutes from the Sumas border crossing, a much faster way to get into Canada. It's on a busy intersection, but removed from the road. Before I extol its virtues, I'll get my quibbles out of the way: we could hear the folks above us romping around (a pet peeve of mine), the bathroom has been remodeled with excellent features, BUT is still pretty small with just one sink. They've allowed space for microwave and fridge outside the bathroom, which is nice, but if you've got a large family, finding somewhere with larger bathroom facilities might make more sense for you. Like many, many other establishments in various classes, this hotel/motel is still not using bulk in-shower containers for its shampoo/body washes, and the breakfast offerings are on throwaway plastic and paper plates. Come on, guys! Beyond just the tackiness of it, it's way un-environmentally friendly to throw all that stuff away every day.

OK that's out of the way. We chose this location for its free wifi and parking, indoor pool/hot tub (with an awesome waterside, no less), fitness room (nice selection of newer machines), and the free breakfast. All lived up to or exceeded our expectations. The newer remodeling was unexpected. The staff was friendly, and when I asked for an ironing board and iron, it was there in about 7 minutes. The room was very clean, and we were only here a few nights, so we did not use the on-site coin laundry, but what a great option!

As a side note, there is a drive through corn stand across the street that is not to be missed, and a Tim Horton's next door. Awesome!

Great value here and not a property to be passed up, if you are looking for something reasonable in the motel class. Good job, Super 8!

Room Tip: We liked the hotel part of it with the 4 stories.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. She made sure to get me the best room to meet my needs and she thought of things I didn't think to ask for. Room was clean and we all had a good night rest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night on our way to Seattle. Great location near border and highway. Lots of restaurants close by. Hotel and rooms are very good and at a good rate. They are doing some renovations but it didn't affect our stay. Pool and water slide were great. However, the breakfast was one of the poorest I've had at a hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbotsford Super 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Super 8

Address: 1881 Sumas Way, Abbotsford, British Columbia V2S 4L5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Abbotsford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abbotsford
#4 Business Hotel in Abbotsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbotsford Super 8 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best hotel location! New hotel addition with 58 new rooms/added onto 41 unit motel / Indoor waterslide/ pool/whirlpool/ fitness centre. Free SuperStart breakfast/Free high speed internet. 10 Mins from Abbotsford International Airport and Tradex. 14 Restaurants within 1 1/2 blocks. Starbucks, 24 hr Tim Horton's, and Abbey Road Taphouse/Restaurant on site. All rooms have fridge and microwave. Some being kitchenettes with sep. Bedroom. How good does it get?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Abbotsford Super 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Super 8 Hotel Abbotsford
Super 8 Abbotsford
Abbotsford Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotsford Super 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.