We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a disgrace to the Choice Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotsford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abbotsford Hotel to your Saves list
Abbotsford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2073 Clearbrook Road, Abbotsford, British Columbia V2T 2X1, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Abbotsford
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“This hotel is a disgrace to the Choice Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We decided to stay there because of the standards of the Choice Hotels. Unfortunately this hotel is far from meeting these standards. Upon entering the lobby there is a smell ... it stinks. The check-in is going good and the clerk was so courteous and helpful. We enter in our room and the same smell in the lobby is found in the room. We open the windows and left the door open to ventilate the room. Cleanliness is the minimum. My wife suffers from allergies has trouble breathing. Comfortable bed. The bathroom is to use "eyes closed" not to see that there is mold around the bath. Breakfast is really the only positive note of this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasabbotsford, Manager at Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. Here at the Comfort inn we strive to provide superior service to all of our guests and I sincerely apologize that we failed to do this during your stay. I only wish that I had been aware of the problems you were experiencing while you were still with us, as I would have taken immediate action(s) to ensure you had a more enjoyable stay.
My staff, here at the Comfort Inn, strives to do their best to attend to all of our guests and their lodging needs. Therefore for the future, if you feel the room is dirty or just not what you were looking for, you can always ask for a room change immediately and the front desk clerk will be more then pleased to assist you. Therefore, if you had informed the front desk clerk they would have taken immediate action.

Since receiving your complaint I have spoken with Maintenance staff and assure you that in the future you will not encounter any problem(s) of this sort. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations, and we once again thank you for bringing these concerns to our Housekeeping and Maintenance department.

We appreciate and also thank you for the time you have taken to inform us of your experience. Therefore, we would like to offer a 10% discount off your next stay at the Comfort Inn, Abbotsford. We look forward to welcoming you again and showing you the improvements that have been made as a result of your review.

We are rennovating our property and will be completing this winter.

If you require any further assistance, please feel free to get in touch with me. I am in the off
ice Monday – Friday: 07:00 to 15:00.


Regards,


Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    11
    12
    23
See reviews for
20
21
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

stopped here because of convenience along the highway while en-route. front staff was nice and upgraded our room for no more $. there was an extra fee for pets, but aside from that there was nothing pet-friendly about the place. there was virtually no "pet comfort area" to be found, and no treats or water. we explored a bit and found a park about 1.5 blocks away though. room was pretty nice, not too noisy for its location (except for the party at the rugby club down the street). Free breakfast was poor though, a couple of muffins, some old cheerios and raisin bran, a bit of bread and coffee

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

stumbled across this hotel by accident and it was a bit difficult to find the way in, but, it was certainly worth it! The rates are the best I've seen in the area for such a great hotel. It is very clean, rooms are extra large, bed comfortable and they provide a decent breakfast. If you prefer to have a full, restaurant breakfast (or any other meal) it is through a doorway in the lobby area. All amenities you would expect and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackie, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were traveling home from Vancouver island and were hoping to get to Hope, BC the first night. We were tired so w decided to get a hotel in Abbotsford.

We were traveling with our dog so the hotel needed to be pet friendly, which this hotel is. We were also traveling with our 13 month old son.

We checked into the hotel at around 11:45 pm and declared the dog and agreed to pay the pet surcharge. We all got settled in and got my son back to sleep when the phone rang - reception was asking if we had a cat. My wife told them, 'No'. Of course, this woke up our son.

10 minutes later, the idiot at reception called again to confirm f we had a cat with us. This time, I made it very clear to him that we were not traveling with a cat, we only had a dog and a baby which he had now woken up twice!

The rooms were average, the breakfast was lousy but what one would expect from one of these discount hotels. The Internet was not working in our wing (the only wing) of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasabbotsford, Manager at Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. Here at the Comfort inn we strive to provide superior service to all of our guests and I sincerely apologize that we failed to do this during your stay. I only wish that I had been aware of the problems you were experiencing while you were still with us, as I would have taken immediate action(s) to ensure you had a more enjoyable stay.
My staff, here at the Comfort Inn, strives to do their best to attend to all of our guests and their lodging needs. Therefore for the future, if you feel the room is dirty or just not what you were looking for, you can always ask for a room change immediately and the front desk clerk will be more then pleased to assist you. Therefore, if you had informed the front desk clerk they would have taken immediate action.

Since receiving your complaint I have spoken with Maintenance staff and assure you that in the future you will not encounter any problem(s) of this sort. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations, and we once again thank you for bringing these concerns to our Housekeeping and Maintenance department.

We appreciate and also thank you for the time you have taken to inform us of your experience. Therefore, we would like to offer a 10% discount off your next stay at the Comfort Inn, Abbotsford. We look forward to welcoming you again and showing you the improvements that have been made as a result of your review.

We are rennovating the propert and will be completing this winter.

If you require any further assistance, please feel free to get in touch with me. I am in the off
ice Monday – Friday: 07:00 to 15:00.


Regards,

Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We ended up in this hotel because there was a volleyball tournament going on and everything else was booked. We arrived around 2:00, but our room wasn't ready yet. The front desk called housekeeping who started right away cleaning the room. We watched the housekeeper from the parking lot. Once she was done, we went into get our keys. We walked from the lobby to the room (maybe a minute) opened the door (using the key) and there was someone else in the room! She said it was her room!!! Oh, and we had requested a non-smoking room which that room definitely was not. We went back to the front desk. The clerk never explained what happened or why there was someone in our room, but immediately gave us the keys to another room.
Upon entering that room, we found out that the fridge was broken and one of the light switches would not stay on. I mentioned the fridge problem to the front desk person, but she did nothing to fix it or even offer.
There was no air conditioning and the room was warm, so we left the window open at night. The traffic noise wasn't too bad, but there was a woman somewhere outside (maybe at the restaurant behind the hotel) who was obviously drunk and yelling most of the night.
If we had to do it over, we would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I don't even know where to start! Upon entering the room, we reached for glasses to use and all four were filthy. We took them to the front desk where we waited for service for 10 min's. Our glasses were replaced. Once we were settled we realized we'd made a big mistake! The toilet became plugged twice, the lamp was broken, the mirrors were filthy, the blanket on the bed had food on it, the shower curtain was filthy, there was coffee stains on the walls behind the coffee maker, coffee pot had to be washed before we could use it, the ceiling had water damage in two large areas directly above both beds, there was peeling walllpaper on the corners of the walls and the fridge froze $20 worth of fruit and veg's we had stored in it. That is only the room! It took a great deal of pushing to get the sauna door open and once we did we discovered it was broken. The workout room had one tv and a treadmill that was out of order. It appeared there was a new treadmill in a box holding the door open?? We did ask for management to come and witness all the damage and filth in our room before we left and were told there was 'no management' on Sundays. What kind of establishment in a Hotel Industry has no management on Sun's? Instead 2 women from housekeeping came, they listened but I'm not sure what they understood as they couldn't speak any english?? I requested that they call the front desk and let the clerk know what they saw. They did as I asked, said they were sorry and left the room. When we arrived at the front desk I had to tell the front clerk AGAIN what we'd been thru. She said "oh, are you room 108"? to which I answered "yes". Then I had to ask if we were going to be compensated for all of the trouble. She did discount our room from $89/night to $57. I'm not imbelishing when I say that this room wasn't even worth $57 but at the time I'd had enough and so we left. I'd like to say I think it's an atrosity that in this convenient location where there are several very decent hotels within min's of each other for the same price or slightly higher that this hotel is still in business!! I'm really questioning whether " BC Health Standards" are being met here and so felt obliged to let people know before they choose in this area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed here, as we were attending Abbotsford Air Show. Was super easy to find, right off of highway, and close to Airshow. It was just okay. Rooms were quite dated....hallway REEKED of cigarette smoke... we drove to dinner as Ricky's wasn't appealing to us--Me 'n Eds was a short drive away in Abbotsford. Don't think I'd stay here again, although I'm glad I was able to only pay $88.00 before taxes for room---which was a great deal in August during Air Show.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasabbotsford, Manager at Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. Here at the Comfort inn we strive to provide superior service to all of our guests and I sincerely apologize that we failed to do this during your stay. I only wish that I had been aware of the problems you were experiencing while you were still with us, as I would have taken immediate action(s) to ensure you had a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Hotel

Address: 2073 Clearbrook Road, Abbotsford, British Columbia V2T 2X1, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Abbotsford
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Abbotsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbotsford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our newly renovated property located centrally on Hwy #1 and Clearbrook Exit. We are 9 minutes away from the Abbotsford Airport and Tradex Center. We welcome bus tours, sport teams and wedding groups. Complimentary meeting room for your group meetings or meals. We are confident that our new bedding with triple sheeting features will ensure a comfortable sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Choice Canada, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn, Abbotsford Hotel Abbotsford
Abbotsford Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotsford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.