We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed microwaved prime rib” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Grill - CLOSED

Sonoma Grill
20598 Fraser Hwy, Langley City, British Columbia, Canada (Douglas)
604 534-2104
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Neighborhood: Douglas
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Douglas
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed microwaved prime rib”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Well what more can I say? The prime rib special was obviously warmed up in the microwave. The service from this really old waiter was a joke. Forgot our drinks. Forgot my salad. Just disappointing

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We held a corporate dinner here in the upstairs dining room. It was definitely a bonus to have the dedicated space and not have to share the restaurant with others.
Nice looking building and interior decor. It's a little dark (for an intimate ambiance?), but you can still detect that time has not been kind and high traffic areas are looking a bit shabby.
However, the menu offers a good selection, and everyone was happy with the choices of chicken, salmon or steak.
Servers were attentive, pleasant and professional.
Sonoma Grill is perhaps still a little above average for a mid-high end restaurant, but let's hope things aren't allowed to slide downhill.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Needs a Gordon Ramsey Overhaul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This restaurant would be perfect for a Kitchen Nightmare's renovation. The carpets are so stained and old...in desperate need of a facelift.

The food is average. The stuffed mushrooms were very good, the spinach dip was bland. The stuffed chicken was just ok. The schnitzle seems to be the most popular dish and was pretty good. The food just seems bland and processed...maybe made the day before. Just not FRESH.

They need to step up the quality for the price they are charging.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Please don't waste your time/money going to this restaurant in Langley. The building may look nice on the outside but on the inside there is nothing nice about it! We went for a birthday dinner earlier this month and were very disapointed. I think 2 people out of 12 were somewhat happy with their meals. The worst was the "sablefish" which was the poorest cut of fish possible(tons of bones, tail end) and very overcooked with a disgusting undercooked gritty sauce.. They also don't know how to cook salmon, steak mashed potatoes,you name it- it was all terrible. The servers didnt seem in the least bit surprised to have food sent back either..The only way that we will be going back to this restaurant is if they hire a new chef!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“60th Anniversary Dinner Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ate here last night to celebrate our friend's parents 60th wedding anniversary. Although it was probably the hottest day of the year, it wasn't unbearable in the upstairs private dining room. The rest of the restaurant was a little quiet, but with it being the long weekend, not unexpected. We had ceasar salad and fresh rolls, then a choice of prime rib, schnitzel, chicken or vegetarian pasta for the entree, with a choice of mousse or cheesecake(Both homemade on site, and delicious)The portions were generous, and the food cooked to perfection. Our servers went out of their way to be quick with everything, running up and down the stairs to accommodate our group. I would definitely recommend this place, I think that many people drive by and don't stop. They have really good specials during the week and their outdoor patio looks inviting. not many places have a nice place to eat outside. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Grill also viewed

Langley City, Langley
Langley City, Langley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.