We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Osoyoos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Del Ray B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Del Ray B&B
Save
You added The Del Ray B&B to your Saves list
8949 122nd Ave., Osoyoos, British Columbia 8949 122nd, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Osoyoos B&B and Inns
High River, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in Osoyoos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Phyl and Bob have thought of everything in this wonderful home built specifically as a bed and breakfast. The setting on an orchard overlooking Lake Osoyoos is amazing, better than lots of estates in Tuscany ! The guest rooms are all the main floor of the home, separate from the owners' living quarters. The rooms are furnished with elegant furniture, each with its own patio space overlooking the garden. Outside the guest rooms is a sitting room for guests and a breakfast room where guests can help themselves to bottled water, teas, coffee,fruit, and homemade cookies. Breakfast is a first class meal served in the gazebo, soft music in the background.
Phyl and Bob are friendly, helpful, gracious hosts who make you feel comfortable and welcome. in their home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
181
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buggenhout
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Osoyoos was our first stop in Canada. What a good idea! This place is well located in the wine region of Canada.
We travelled from Seattle and crossed the border with Canada near Osoyoos. We decided to stay one night before continuing our trip to ther Rocky Mountains. We had no expectations when we arrived in Osoyoos, but we were sorry to leave the B&B with a feeling that we could have stayed some more days...

Well, to be honest, there is no other way to start this review with this overall conclusion: this turned out to be the best B&B (or hotel) in which we have stayed during our three week roadtrip through Canada.
Phyl and Robert are the perfect hosts. So whatever you have been reading in the reviews below is all correct.
The high ratings and never-ending drive of the owners in their search for perfection made this place what it is: a little peace of heaven.

The rooms are inspiring and the view on the terrace, surrounded by apple tries, is just perfect. The weather was excellent so breakfast was served on the terrace. We've enjoyed the heavenly two courses with plenty of fresh fruit juices to choose out. The rooms were very tasteful and impeccable.
I cannot imagine a better place to stay and must recommend this place to anyone who is travelling through Osoyoos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We came back, because we enjoyed it so much last year. We actually stayed 2 single days during our trip and each time, everything was perfect. What a pleasure to have breakfast outside in the gazebo, overlooking the orchard. Once again, Bob and Phyl were gracious hosts and made sure our experience was as good as last time. People are coming back here for very good reasons.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. Family members had raved about it so away we went. It was amazing, even better than expected. From breakfasts tailored to our diet restrictions (gluten free) to the basket of goodies when we left everything was top notch. Phyl and Bob are wonderful hosts and I look forward to visiting them again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

There is obviously a reason for consistent, extremely high ratings. This b and b is exceptional. Service is what makes the difference between a great stay and an amazing stay, and these hosts make it an amazing stay. Wine upon arrival (wine that is sold out in the region, we tried to find some after sampling it); a comfortable, spacious room with a private entrance; a quiet location within an orchard; an excellent breakfast serving their own fresh juice. Best receipt I have ever received, it came in a fruit basket with a hand-written personalized thank you card. All of this would add up to five stars on its own, however, when our hosts found out we couldn't find arrangements to the local vineyard for our dinner and concert reservations, they offered to drive us to and from themselves! This is truly hosting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

What can I say about this B&B that hasn’t already been said by 135 other reviewers?
Everything was perfect!

The best breakfasts I have ever had, so fresh, delicious and original.
I would go there just for the breakfast, even if I weren’t staying there (Apparently I would not be the first).

My wife had a dietary request and our hosts totally exceeded her expectations with ingredients that made her breakfast every bite as good as mine.

Evenings were spent outside on the covered patio where one can enjoy the beautiful scenery of the orchards and mountains sipping coffee and eating cookies.

Phyl and Bob were very gracious hosts; they have set the bar very high for all other B&B’s to attain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B before, mainly due to concerns about comfort and privacy. For our upcoming trip to Osoyoos, I thought I'd look at the Trip Advisor B&B reviews just for fun. Of course, Del Ray is at the top of the list with nothing but positive reviews. Between that and looking what other hotels had to offer, we (hubby and I, mid-50s) decided to try our first B&B. Boy, are we glad we did. From the first contact with Phyl to make the reservations to saying goodbye after our 2-night stay (much too short), we had a wonderful, relaxing experience. Everything said in the reviews is true. Bob & Phyl were the perfect hosts: gracious, friendly, genuinely welcoming, but not intrusive. The accommodations were top notch, comfortable, and very clean. The breakfasts were exquisite! Sitting on the patio, sipping a glass of wine while enjoying the tranquility and fabulous view are truly memorable. We both had such a good time. We're wondering if we've been spoiled by the best. I guess we will just have to get out and try some more B&B's to see! Receiving a gift basket when we left was such a thoughtful gesture and much appreciated. Thank you, Phyl and Bob, for your hospitality, and we hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Del Ray B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Del Ray B&B

Address: 8949 122nd Ave., Osoyoos, British Columbia 8949 122nd, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to Nature --- the Del Ray B&B is surrounded by a beautiful garden, surrounded by orchards and boasts an incredible view of orchards, vineyards the lake and the mountains. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Del Ray B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.