We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices, good portions, fresh ingredients, really surprising!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meeka's Kitchen - CLOSED

Meeka's Kitchen
8515B Main Street, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
250-495-2116
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Meeka's Kitchen is a beautiful Restaurant in Osoyoos, BC which serves delicious Persian and Mediterranean Cuisine. There is so much to choose from from Kabob Platters, to Wraps, and Salads!!Come on in and enjoy the food and the friendly family service!!
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good prices, good portions, fresh ingredients, really surprising!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We came here because of trip advisor only, as it is a small and not very "apparent" restaurant.

It's definitely a family business, they were all sitting and eating when we arrived. But warm welcome an fast service followed as soon as we got in. Prices between 6 an $15 for generous plates, we shared 2 appetizers and a entree, everything was excellent and so fresh! One of the greatest hummus we had and the grape leaves... wow! I am not a fan of these, but there, it was so good! Beef gyros was tasty and excellent as well. Pleasantly surprised about this little restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“No problems but not a "must visit"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Tried this because it is ranked #1 in Osoyoos by TA reviewers. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. The food is certainly fresh and the elderly couple who own the place friendly, but the menu is not much more than you might expect in any Persian-style eatery. The decor is sparse and the place extremely clean. We tried the Gyro wrap which is basically just a donair. Albeit freshly made and tasty, it was not huge and we have enjoyed better. At $9 for just the wrap (no side dish or salad) it seemed pricey, especially for what we received. We saw others with platters that looked more like a meal (chicken leg, rice, potatoe) but at $14, again it seemed a tad steep for what they had. Maybe it's because Persian food is a novelty to holiday visitors or simply because fresh food made on the spot is not common in the town (certainly that tends to be our experience at many places), but we would not rate this the best in Osoyoos. By all means, try it if you want a gyro/donair (the only place in Osoyoos to buy one I think) but otherwise am not sure. Oh, as for the sign out front that says "You Gotta Eat Here", it was not featured on the Canadian TV show of the same name at all. It's there because, according to the owner, a friend made it for them as a promo item. I wonder if the show's producers know that?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Food was OK, Chicken wrap really good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We all had the chicken thighs kabob platter. The chicken was OK, the lemon potatoe was good and the salad was regular. The pita and tzatziki appy was on the small side, good for one person. We came in just before the lunch menu finished. We were the only party in the restaurant and had to ask for a water refill, however at this time the friendly older owners were preparing for the dinner menu. There is no alcohol served.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Based on a recommendation my father had received from a neighbor my extended family (16 of us including numerous children) descended on this very small restaurant in Osoyoos in late July for dinner . The food took a bit of time to prep- we essentially filled the entire restaurant all at once however it was most definitely well worth the wait-appies and all main courses were great- the service was friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“small but delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were in a hurry. It was Monday and it was getting late. Not many restaurants were open. Than we dropped in Meeka's kitchen. No liquors, but the food made everything worthwile. Those two oldies from Iran should be retired, but, please, don't! Who else would make such a fresh and good food?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meeka's Kitchen also viewed

 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meeka's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.