We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience, dirty, rundown, manager would not help” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday inn Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday inn Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7906 Main Street | PO Box 1026, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Osoyoos
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible experience, dirty, rundown, manager would not help”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed here for several years due to the great location, even though the hotel has had ongoing issues. They screwed up the reservation despite sending us a confirmation letter. This year was horrible, the rooms were filthy, the bedroom door had a hole punched in it, the grounds were dirty, beach longers broken, the patio was cracked and the stairs were pulling away from the patio, garbage was left on the lawn, We were awoken in the night by a group of men yelling, swearing, intoxicated, and the smell of drugs wafting down on our suite. Manager Ravi failed to address the issues despite it being brought to his attention. We asked to speak with the GM he has never returned our repeated requests. Holiday inn franchise managment has done its best to assist and they apologize on behalf of the Holiday Inn Save your money book somewhere else because this hotel management team does not care. The town is so busy they don't have to worry about cleanliness, service, manners, or honesty.

Room Tip: Stay at the Watermark Hotel around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPrakash_2013, Manager at Holiday inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos for recent stay.

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay at Holiday Inn & Suites, Osoyoos. We are committed to ensuring all our guest enjoys their time with us. Our Management team is dedicated in addressing all reasonable guests concerns and feedbacks and does the best to resolve the concerns. I will request you to respond to our private message at your convenience.
Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Regards

Ravi Prakash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    88
    53
    28
    43
See reviews for
74
82
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Our family had a great stay. The room was a nice size and clean. We had a suite on the third floor on the front entrance side. The view was really nice even though we had the road below us. The balcony was nice with a patio table to sit and drink a coffee or have a glass of wine. The hotel has a door leading directly to the beach which is a nice feature. Staff there were polite. This location is within walking distance to stores. My only concern would be the indoor pool ..it was really dirty. I noticed a lot of people coming in covered in sand from the beach and just jumping into the pool. The hotel needs to post a sign to ensure people use the shower before using the pool or something. I suggest to just swim at the beach..it is a beautiful area. The hotel also offers free use of kayaks if you are a guest. Most holiday inns have the kids eat free plan and this one advertised that but when we asked at The Shores restaurant they did not give the free kids meal. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPrakash_2013, Manager at Holiday inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos for recent stay.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate your comments about resort facility, location and services.

We would like to see you soon again.

Regards

Ravi Prakash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMLOOPS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'll repeat what has been said elsewhere: the location is what you principally pay for with this hotel: it's got a great beach (especially for kids), a great view from the beach, the warmest lake in Canada, a short stroll to the grocery and liquor stores, a marina to rent water craft, etc. etc. There are always a few things that can use improvement: beach chairs are in short supply, and to make matters worse, there is this unwritten rule that if you get to a chair first thing in the morning and drape a towel on it...that chair is yours for the day (all day - need to go for lunch? leave your towel on the chair! Canadians are almost too polite sometimes...). People get up at daybreak just to claim their chairs. There were a lot of broken chairs this time around, which didn't help the chair shortage, but I noticed they were starting to set them aside so perhaps a major repair run is happening.
There is a small retaining wall built near the beach, which should create more level-ground chair space. Unfortunately, it is filled mainly with gravel (hard on the bare feet) and it seems to be used as the de factor ash tray, judging by the butts laying in it. A scattered number of rocks that had been left on the grassy area (probably by kids) laid there for several days before I finally moved them aside so people wouldn't step on them. Only one barbecue by the beach was working. All this suggests there is not a person assigned to inspect everything on the beach each day and effect repairs.
BUT, as I said, it's a great location in a great little town. We've stayed there probably 10 times or so now. Hopefully they keep on fixing these small problems and making the stay even more enjoyable. The staff were very pleasant this time around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPrakash_2013, Manager at Holiday inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos for recent stay.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate your comments about resort facility, location and services.

Your feedback is valuable to us and we would like to assure you that necessary action will be taken to make all of our guest stay more engaging and enjoyable.

Regards

Ravi Prakash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay with children. The beach is fantastic. There is a marina with boats and seadoos and kayaks for rent.
The rooms have been upgraded and are reasonable. The kitchens are decent.
We've stayed there many times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPrakash_2013, Manager at Holiday inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos for recent stay.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate your comments about resort facility, location and services.

Regards

Ravi Prakash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Holiday Inn was a pretty nice place. The location was beautiful with a nice deck viewing the beach. Right off our deck was a stairs right down to the beach for easy access.

The room was average and it had comfortable beds. It had a handy kitchenette. One light bulb would not work above our queen bed but they had very nice service at the front desk.

I would recommend staying here. It was very nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPrakash_2013, Manager at Holiday inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos for recent stay.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate your comments about resort facility, location and services.

Regards

Ravi Prakash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were boating on the lake and stopped by the gas station we went in to get an iced cream treat and the people were snobby and we had to tell them to stop swearing In front of the young children then they were grumpy and gave us a evil look and we haven't actually stayed in the hotel the only reason for this review is because of the service at the gas station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPrakash_2013, Manager at Holiday inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest

I want to apologize to you for not meeting and exceeding your expectations at our marina gas station. I would to thank you for the feedback and would like to assure you that necessary action will be taken to eliminate this sort of issues at the Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos premises.

Regards

Ravi Prakash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First off, we were told check-in time was 4pm. Our room still wasn't ready by 4:45pm, and the front desk offered no reason why the room wasn't ready. When the room was ready at 5pm, we discovered it was on the parking lot with a concrete barrier separating the "patio" from the parking lot. Just a little underwhelming for the high price. When we complained, Ravi was able to offer us a room on the lake side, and what a difference that made for our Osoyoos experience. But beware of the "free" breakfast. The eggs, waffle and french toast may be free, but the coffee and orange juice are not. This breakfast isn't worth the $10 they charge per extra person. Great location, but the sandy beach is very narrow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPrakash_2013, Manager at Holiday inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Osoyoos for recent stay.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate your comments about resort facility, location and services.

It was unfortunate that you have not been made aware about the guest room location and view upon reservation. however your valuable feedback will be shared with all the team members, so that all the guests can be informed clearly about the room description and view upon booking the room with us.

Best Regards

Ravi Prakash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday inn Hotel & Suites

Address: 7906 Main Street | PO Box 1026, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday inn Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Finest Lakeside Hotels in British Columbia Let us offer you a warm welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos, located on Canada's warmest lake in the South Okanagan town of Osoyoos. With our prime location by one of the busiest Canada / US border crossings and at the junction of two major highways #3 & 97, this is the perfect spot for business travelers. With all of the traffic coming through, guests can take advantage of many business opportunities in town. This lakeside Holiday Inn has some of the best options for meeting venues, including two restaurants, boardroom, lounge and spacious patio. Located on a peninsula, our Holiday Inn Hotel offers views of Lake Osoyoos from every room. In keeping with the resort theme, we have our own private beach and marina, offering boat rentals (canoes, kayaks, ski boats and more), moorage, fuel and access to many water sports like parasailing. Nearby there are many world-class wineries, golf courses and plenty of good skiing. Leisure travelers will not be short of ideas for their exciting Osoyoos vacations. Our Osoyoos hotel's amenities include an indoor pool, Health & Fitness Centre with hot tub, business services and barbecue areas. With great lake views, our restaurants are rated among the best dining in the South Okanagan area. Whether in town on Osoyoos vacations or business trips, guests will find that the Holiday Inn has everything they are looking for and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Hotel Osoyoos
Holiday Inn Osoyoos
Osoyoos Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday inn Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.