We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we found this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeview Motel to your Saves list
Lakeview Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6004 89th St, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H1V1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Osoyoos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So glad we found this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good value for your money. Cheaper than all the other places we looked into when we were searching for a last minute place to stay as we are riding our motorcycle into town. Family run and very friendly, spotless room, great pool, quiet and easy going. The kitchenette was a nice surprise and the and air conditioning cooled the room quickly. We will definitely stay here the next time we are passing through!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh419, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you staying with us.We do not want the reputation of being the cheapest in town as people might think we do not maintain our motel,but as you say our rooms are spotless,well equiped and have excellent AC,s units that motorcyclists like after a long hot ride.Our salt water pool is also well liked during our hot weather.We are owner operated , we do not pay managers etc,this enables us to offer clean affordable accommodation to the travelling public.
My wife and I are always around to make sure it all runs like clockwork.If you need accommodation please call us direct so we can offer you the option that will best match your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    23
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I always look for good value for my vacation dollar and don't like to spend too much on hotels as most of the time we're not even in it. I also look for kitchen facilities to help manage meals so that we're not eating out 3 times a day.

Lakeview is an older motel style with limited parking and a dated feel. Nevertheless, it was very comfortable, well-equipped and quiet. The proprietors are very accommodating. We needed a pizza pan and oven mitts and they gave it to us out of their kitchen.

The salt-water pool was a good size and the hot sun and weather was perfect for using it. The beds were comfortable, the pull-out couch was a futon so much better than a typical folded bed in a sofa.

The motel is on a quiet street off Main Street. Signs are good to for directions. It is close enough to grocery stores, fast food, etc., but too far to walk to. A local beach is close...just across the street.

My only complaint is that the parking spaces are very small and by the time the hotel is full, cars are parked all over.

Overall, a recommended stay for a budget traveler. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has lots of stairs; if you have lots of luggage or can't carry it up stairs, get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh419, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
My wife and I are pleased that you found our rooms well equipend,quiet and comfortable.We offer the travellers clean,well equipped rooms with cooking facilities.Our guests tell us they prefer to cook a harty breakfast in their units before starting their journey instead of inadequate chain hotel breakfasts,plus you can cook an evening meal as well.Our motel have modern kitchens,flat screen TVs etc.As for parking(which is FREE) we are finding guests are bringing more than one car which adds to our problems with a limited space.We have two floors to the property,I am only to pleased to carry up guests cases,coolers and cases of wine if I am asked or indeed if I see the guest strugling with the cases etc.We are here to help and look after our guests.One thing I will say is that having a big modern building does not bode with the fact you do not like to spend to much on accommodation while you are travelling.All these big fancy buildings have got to be paid for by the staying guests.
We find we are catering for the people who want clean,modern rooms with good facilities and a friendly atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the lakeview motel during our trip to the Rockies. This motel is clean, well equipped on a good location. The staff is very nice and they are willing to help you if you have questions. If you are planning to stay in Osoyoos, we recommend you to stay at the Lakeview Motel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh419, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,it is very rewarding for Sandra and I to receive such comments and it makes it all worth while.Thank you again and we hope that you enjoyed your trip to the rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have been touring the Okaganan Valley in BC and one of our most memorable stays was at this spotlessly clean motel. The room was comfortable with two excellent Queen size beds, microwave, fridge and coffee machine. The motel is older, but the rooms and facilities are being continually updated.
It is centrally located and it was easy to walk to the excellent restaurants close by along the lake.
Siam, who welcomed us as we checked in was a delight and gave us great service, as did his mother who we met later.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh419, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
My son,Sion and I are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.My husband and I had gone shopping when you booked in.We are extremely pleased that you mentioned Sions name as our children often help us at our family motel.
It is nice that they feel appreciated by the guests(and us) and that they do an excellent job when we are away.

Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackie, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent 3 nights at The Lakeview over the May long weekend. The owners were very accommodating, the reservation and checkin went smoothly, and the rooms and grounds were very clean and safe. You can really tell that the owners take great pride in their little hotel and offer up excellent service.

My 3 year old was safe playing with other children in the common areas and even rode around on his little electric tractor for a bit. The place is across the street from a nice public beach and within walking distance of a water park and 2 awesome playgrounds at the school nearby.

We will definately be back.

Room Tip: We had the room with a separate bedroom which was ideal for our young kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh419, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
My wife and I are glad that your whole family enjoyed themselves.Your little man certainly enjoyed his tractors.

We do try and keep the motel clean and safe for the children.Its nice that the children can be in the pool and mum and dad can keep an eye on them while they relax as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 3 week travelling holiday, we couldn't have asked for better service or accommodation. Derick and Sandra were fabulous hosts as indeed was their son. The accommodation was great with every facility that we required. It was very clean and comfortable and the pool area is situated right outside the door of the accommodation - fabulous...!!.
We had been living in hotels that were nice but rather impersonal , we felt like we were "at home" as nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.
Would definately recommend the Lake View Motel and, hopefully, I will re-visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh419, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
What is nice about a family run business is that we can offer our guests a personal service.It is nice that guest such as yourselves appriciate what we try and do for them.We are all really glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay here and if you are ever in Osoyoos again please call in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A gem in the midst of Osoyoos. We had booked a studio suite but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite when we requested a one bedroom at check in - at no extra charge and Derrick simply closed the second bedroom door with complete trust. Kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc with full size stove, fridge & mcrowave too. WiFi fast. Pool wasn't open yet but is convenient to all suites. The lake with beach and picnic tables is a short walk and you could easily walk about 15 minutes to restaurants on Main Street. Great location, service and owners who care.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a good view of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welsh419, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
As you say our motel is well located and is close to everything in town and also affords you lovely views of the lake and the vineyards and mountains beyond.
Our kitchen units are fully equipped with everything you need,we also have a back up supply of the little things that guests may require,e.g mixers,hairdriers,iron and ironing boards etc.

Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 6004 89th St, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lakeview Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview combines quality and affordability in a quiet location. We are close to the beach and all amenities. Our heated salt water pool is a summer hit as are the barbecues and patio area. Families love our spacious one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motel Osoyoos
Lakeview Hotel Osoyoos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.