We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Come Here Unless its Peak Season” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Walnut Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 5 more sites!
Walnut Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Osoyoos
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Come Here Unless its Peak Season”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decide to stay here because of the excellent reviews the Walnut Beach Resort had received from other Trip Advisor users. How wrong we were! Its late spring - the second week in June and we find that everything here is closed. I expected that we could have had a drink in the evening overlooking the lake and then a nice dinner. We thought that we could have eaten breakfast in the morning. However the restaurant is closed, there is no breakfast. even the bar is closed. To top it all off, the restaurant in town recommended by the receptionist is also closed. All we have is a room ( perhaps a nice one at that), but this place is like a mausoleum right now. And the information in our room says that they aim to 'deliver service beyond your expectations'. Not tonight, Mister! Our expectations are totally unfulfilled and we feel that we have had very little value during our stay here. What a disappointment!

Room Tip: Just make sure that the resort is fully open before making a booking here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    78
    46
    14
    10
See reviews for
115
154
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wow, as a first time visitor to Osoyoos, we were blown away by the beauty of Osoyoos. The initial impression of the Walnut Beach was a little subdued due the reception being upstairs and therefore no warm welcome. Also there was no-one at the desk so we had to wait. Our room was spacious and well equipped, also very clean. The view was sadly lacking, ok so we didn't pay for lake view but our mountain view was more of houses nestling in the hills than of the mountains. If you must have a view pay the extra.
Having travelled all day we were happy to go out to the pool and get a cool beer, this is where we were let down and the resort lost is 5* status for us. The restaurant was closed a private function and therefore they were unable to sell alcohol. No cold beer for us then. If we had known in advance about the closure we would have bought supplies in with us. As it was the various emails we received leading up to the trip didn't mention it and we were unprepared.
If it hadn't been for the receptionist who responded by offering complimentary sodas and snacks we would have been stuck.
Later we took up her restaurant recommendation, about 20 mins walk away, Campo Marina, see separate review.
Overall a great stay after a disappointing start.
Would definitely stay again and next time bring supplies - guest BBQs! -

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade to a lake view, it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

An April getaway worked out to our favour as it was low season and we got to take advantage of an "anniversary rate" for the hotel. Unfortunately, as we arrived on Easter Monday, the restaurant was unavailable for us to dine at and we had not anticipated the lovely suite and full kitchen - it's was as big as my friend's apartment in Burnaby!
The pool & hot tub area was a highlight for us to enjoy exceptional weather in April (in CANADA!) so that it felt like Cuba again. However, don't go for the breakfast service as the cereal and old store-bought muffin was not worth $13. Jo-Jo's Cafe in town is the place to go for good coffee and food, even though you have to drive.
Overall, we would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Lower level means you can walk direct from your room to the pool and hot tubs. Upper levels might ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Life is good at Walnut Beach spent a few days with different friends on two trips in the last two weeks , one the resort held a function which was amazing went off without a hitch once again ... A lot of credit has to be given to all staff and Sonya who is the go to person whom will bend over backwards to help you stay be fantastic ! The units themselves are very nice and compy pool hot tubs lovely and clean 5 guest BBQ which is a great place to meet fellow guests . Our second trip was more quiet mon tue and was just as fun , kudos to Rick for checking with me on the pool temp every day to make sure our stay was perfect ! It's a fantastic place to stay for fun or just relaxation !!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

what a great place the staff is so helpful right on the beach swimming pool near the beach excellent food and luxury room.the views from the lake are stunning and the cleanliness is upmost.the massage facility and staff are experienced and helpfull

Room Tip: the lake view is stunning.the spa was so relaxing and the staff very helpful you cant beat this val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Thanks to all the great staff for helping to make our wedding spectacular. From the moment we arrived to the extra day we tagged on, we had a most memorable time. Sonja and Leanne did everything in their power to make our wedding perfect, except call the mayor to have the lake emptied a few feet! Plan 'B' for our ceremony was on the lawn and it was every bit as romantic and beautiful as the beach. All of our guests were treated like royalty and loved the resort as well. Our reception meal was perfect. We are definitely returning for our anniversary and maybe a sneak away in between. We loved our penthouse suite and the view was incredible. Can't wait to return, thank you to the 'Nut's' Team.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the beautiful Walnut Beach Resort. Last minute trip for just one night but forgot how much I love this area. Our stay at Walnut could not have been better. Our room was overlooking the lake and was gorgeous. We had a wonderful meal cooked on the BBQ. Steak, spuds, veggies and a very tasty ceasar salad. Again the staff was friendly and helpful. Up early for golf (not so good score). Would highly recommend this resort to anybody going to Osoyoos and the Okanagan. Thanks again Walnut!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walnut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Walnut Beach Hotel Osoyoos
Walnut Beach Hotel
Walnut Beach Osoyoos
Address: 4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#5 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Walnut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.