We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were the only people without children” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Walnut Beach Resort to your Saves list
Walnut Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We were the only people without children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a great place to take your family and your kids will be entertained by the dozens of other children staying there. However, if you do not have kids, it may not be the type of place you would like to stay. It is generally very loud at the beach and by the pool with children everywhere. While this may not be a bad thing for some, it may not be for everyone who is looking for a relaxing time away. The property is also starting to look quite worn. We have stayed at this property previously and I must say you can tell it is well used. The staff are generally unhelpful and both times we stayed here, we have problems with our reservations (the second time, we were charged two times for our stay, which was fixed, then we were charged twice again).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    157
    80
    21
    15
See reviews for
190
260
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had an incredible experience at Walnut Beach over the weekend.

My fiance and I had a top notch experience from check in to check out. The room was bigger then our apartment in Vancouver and had a great view of the water. The hot tub at sunset was really cozy and the staff were extremely courteous when we took a little extra time after the 10pm close - "just a couple more minutes"! :) Everything was extremely clean and easy to find. Even the wedding reception which was rocking till the wee hours was impossible to hear from our room just down the hall. It was great.

We did wine tasting all day just up the road and having a lux place to go back to after a sunny, wine drinking day in Osoyoos made the whole experience so memorable.

Room Tip: Big room with fireplace, patio, full kitchen, pull out, dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Don't let their website & advertising material fool you into the thought this is a relaxing place to stay. Upon arrival we discovered their was a wedding going on which basically took over the whole property. No problems with that if they had informed us beforehand or have the space available to accomodate both a wedding and other guests...this wasn't the case. Sure, if the hotel is not fully booked it might be ok to stay here but there are lots of alternatives in the area which offer far better value, privacy and service. ...We left after one night to stay at the nearby Spirit Ridge.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to the Walnut beach resort and it was like coming home. from the front end, maintainance staff to management ( Sonya)you always feel welcome. The rooms are very clean and modern and the pool is fantastic. Where else can you go in B.C and have a beach bar overlooking a beautiful lake. We were sad to leave but will be back in August - mexico resort have nothing on this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a great place for families but unfortunately my husband and I were traveling as a couple. It was very clear that the kids there were having a great time in the pool, hot tub and outdoor eating area. Traveling as a couple I think that I would return only during the school year. I would come back in the summer with my grandkids once my kids decide to bless us with them.
The resort is very nice as it is right on the Okanagan Lake though the beach area isn't that large. There is bar service right on the beach which is very convenient. The rooms are definitely four star and had all the amenities one expects of that rating. Outside there are 5 huge barbecues which were well used though some directions would help as everyone seemed stumped as to how to turn them on.
It is a very quiet resort as it is a few kilometers from town. The downside is that if you want to go to town you need to drive. It is a great location to do wine tours from.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at Walnut Beach Resort from July 13th - July 18th and although the weather did not exactly cooperate with us, the resort more than made up for it. We rented the Sauvignon One Bedroom Suite which was perfect for the two of us. The decor was fabulous, all the rooms were clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. One recommendation we suggest is upon booking, request a room facing the left front side of the resort. The view is the best and far enough from the pool that it won't be noisy.

The resort itself was fantastic. Very clean, friendly and modern. The bbq is not on your balcony, but rather in a big area by the pool. It was not difficult to find a free one and the staff kept clean utensils right beside the bbqs. There are servers at the pool for drinks and a lunch menu; drinks were a bit pricey but the service was great. We loved the atmosphere and the attention paid by staff; very accommodating.

We will definitely be returning Walnut Beach next summer and probably extend our stay.

Room Tip: Request front left side facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during a national conference (I'm from Moncton, NB). It was my first trip to Osoyoos and the South Okanagan. It was cool for April, but the warmth of the welcome more than made up for the weather. The rooms are lovely, well appointed with everything you need for self-catering, comfortable bed and gas fireplace to boot. I was on the main floor and could simply walk out to the pool. The views here are outstanding, as was the food and the service. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone wanting to explore Canada's only true dessert region and the great wineries that abound here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walnut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Beach Resort

Address: 4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Spa Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#5 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Walnut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Beach Hotel Osoyoos
Walnut Beach Osoyoos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.