We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal motel and location for health trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Beach Motel to your Saves list
Sandy Beach Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6706 Ponderosa Drive, Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal motel and location for health trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Ideal Motel & Location for Health Trip

I would strongly recommend this motel, particularly to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Okanagan for health reasons. As “Canada’s only desert”, it’s a dry environment that is ideal for anyone getting away from allergies or for other health-related reasons – it’s an excellent place for a “locations effect” experiment.

I stayed here for 2 weeks this fall after carefully doing my homework beforehand. This motel is exactly as advertised on their website – not one unpleasant surprise. The buildings and grounds are meticulously maintained. You can’t beat the location right on the beach with its view directly north onto the lake – a view that each unit has. The second floor units have balconies that provide your own outdoor space, a very nice plus. The units have a full-sized fridge, stove and well-equipped kitchen. Everything is absolutely clean, including the dishes, cutlery, pots & pans. After one week, housekeeping came in, which was just the right timing. It’s easy to sweep up after yourself given the ceramic floors and so you really don’t need daily housekeeping (although you can opt for it separately if you wish) and then you are not disturbed at all. I am sensitive to chemicals and so the unit was aired out for me before my arrival – no scented air fresheners required.

If you are female and staying on your own, you feel added security because the owners live on the property as well. Brent and Sherry are just fantastic, as is their staff. They are professional, friendly and infinitely helpful, incredibly hard-working. When they say you’re considered family, they mean it!

The other guests were respectful of one another and so the atmosphere was very comfortable and relaxed. I met guests who have returned annually for 8 years, and I heard of others who were also staying for health reasons. If I ever get the chance to return, I will.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachmotel, Owner at Sandy Beach Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback! We love it when people feel at home here because we consider our guests as family. Glad to hear you are felling better, and would welcome you back anytime. Thanks again. See you soon!

Brent & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    26
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
61
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

As a business-couple who travel regularly it is refreshing to find a hotel with such outstanding customer service. The owners go out of their way to accomodate you and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean and the price is right. We are going to try and reschedule our route so we can stay here more often.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachmotel, Owner at Sandy Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Wow! We truly thank you for the compliment. We strive to make every guest experience a fantastic one, whether family or business traveller. Welcome to the Sandy Beach family!
Hope you are able to reschedule for another visit soon. Thanks again.

Brent & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The surrounding area and street entrance was a bit of a construction site so we were slightly disappointed with this, but that was the only negative thing we encountered. Really nice welcome from the guy on the desk, really made is feel at home, also gave us a few tips on where to go and what to see during our short stay. Clean and comfortable room at a good rate, believe the reviews here as this is a gem.

This place is cared for by the owners and staff, and you can tell, if only everywhere you could stay could be like the "Sandy Beach Motel"

Room Tip: Pick an upper level room with a balcony, ground floor have less privacy an no seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachmotel, Owner at Sandy Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor audience. We really appreciate the great staff that we have at Sandy Beach. Your compliments will be passed on to them as well. Thanks! We apologize for the inconvenience of the construction, trying to access our property. Hope to see you again!

Brent & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Clean comfortable room, reasonable rates, family owned by caring accommodating managers. We wished we could have stayed longer. Close to beach and the suite had everything we could want. Books were available to read, good fishing nearby, advice cheerfully given. What is not to like!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachmotel, Owner at Sandy Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We try to provide the things that we look for when we travel. Clean, comfortable and reasonable rates are what you get at Sandy Beach. Glad you enjoyed our library! We appreciate you sharing your review in this forum. You all come back now!
Thanks!
Brent & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Could not have been treated better. We were made to feel welcome right from the start.

Location and facilities excellent. These people really care about what they do. Offered to lend us kayaks and gave a guide to all the restaurants close by.

If only all hotels offered this amount of service.

Location perfect and right on the beach. Picturesque setting and right on the lake.

Look no further, just stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachmotel, Owner at Sandy Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We like to treat all our guests as family, so welcome to the family! We do enjoy what we do and strive to make every experience here a great one. Thanks for the great review.
Please come and stay with us again when you're in Osoyoos.

Brent & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Perfect gateway. Our kids had a blast at the beach and the playground. Suites were very clean, the owners super accomodating and friendly. Overall, it was a great and relaxing week-end! Next time our family goes to Osoyoos, we'll stay @ the Sandy Beach Motel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachmotel, Owner at Sandy Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Glad the kids enjoyed there time here, as well as relaxing time for Mom & Dad. Love to have you back again! Thanks for the review.

Brent & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved our stay here. We stayed in room 112. Room was very clean and has a great view .
Staff was great . Donna at the desk was very helpful . I wish other motels had people like her. Short walk to the beach and everything that you need is close by. We'll be back

Room Tip: room 112 worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybeachmotel, Owner at Sandy Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We are happy that you enjoyed Sandy Beach Motel. We are very privileged to have such great staff at Sandy Beach. We appreciate you sharing your experience through this review! See you again soon.

Brent & Sherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Motel

Address: 6706 Ponderosa Drive, Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#2 Best Value Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a little Mediterranean in Osoyoos. We are a family oriented resort located on a beautiful sandy beach. We offer lakeview studio and two bedroom suites with full kitchens. Amenities for all ages include playground, tennis & volleyball courts, horseshoes pits, canoe, kayak. Complete smoke free property including our beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandy Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.