We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The School Restaurant

The School Restaurant
4121 14th Avenue, Markham, Ontario L3R 0J2, Canada
905.477.1161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 475 Restaurants in Markham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Roseneath, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Service & Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a change and we found it in Unionville.
I had Sea Bass and my wife Mediterranean Seafood Salad. Both excellent.
Caesar Salad was Top Drawer too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Always good for an excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I generally find the atmosphere of the School a little dull for an evening dinner; not enough bustle. However I frequently select this restaurant when wanting a good lunch and privacy between tables. This last lunch was no exception. The sea bass was really excellent. The service is professional and efficient and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Service food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Went to the restaurant a few days ago. Service was very good and they tried very hard to make the experience enjoyable. Unfortunately the food was average at best. Not sure how this can be the number one restaurant in Markham. Maybe the chef was on vacation. Will try again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The meal was quite nice, and the ambience was very nice. Service was very good, unfortunately, for the location, value was average to slightly below average. While the food was nothing to complain about, it was very middle of the road, so great for anyone looking for a consistent, elegant, inoffensive meal. Not for the adventurous.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for those special occasions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had not been to 'The School' in a while but finally had a chance to go back for dinner last week. Great food and service from start to finish and deserving of "fine dining" label. We shared their signature Caesar salad and both went for filet mignons and they were each done to perfection. We will be back again soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The School Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The School Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The School Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.