We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home @ Homewood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Bodrington Crt, Markham, Ontario L6G 0A9, Canada (Formerly Homewood Suites Toronto-Markham)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home @ Homewood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Best in class Hilton Properties with a full kitchen.
Before I go into details, let me mention that this is the first time I stayed in homewood suites properties.
Choice and selection: I was looking for a standard hotel near and around Toronto for 3 nights with Kitchen. With a 21 months old baby we preferred a hotel with a kitchen. I looked for homewood suites and mariott residence inn properties, out of all this one gave me the best rate. Though Markham was a little far away from Toronto Downtown, I did not mind much. First reason is the price they offered for a King bed suites and markham being a known place ( had been there for 3 weeks in Markham Hilton Suites). Booked the hotel over phone, requested for a late check in. It was confirmed.

Hotel room and amenities : Reached hotel well past midnight. Very nice and cosy room, king size bed with kind of bed that suits our sleeping preference. LCD TVs are in both bed room and living area. Kitchen is small but good enough for two. Microwave, dishwasher, dining table, sofa, working area very smartly designed.

A full platter breakfast to start the day. Hotel also provide complimentary light dinner between Monday - Thursday, which takes away the dinner worries from business travellers.

Out of the box : As we reached hotel very late, we needed milk for our baby. After reaching hotel, I thought I would pick up milk from nearest Walmart super centre or any other 24hrs shop. To my surprise, the hotel guest manager told me there is no such 24hrs grocery store. Either I have to go to gas stations or forget it. When I explained him that the milk is a must for the baby, he opened the kitchen and gave me a sealed bottle. Amazing. This is something I would remember forever. This is what is called service.

The internet never worked in the room. I spent alomst an hour with the tech support guys and finally realized they do not have expertize to resolve the issue for that night. Manager offered me a different room to switch over next day. Pleasure.

Would definitely like to go back, not just because of the amazing experience also because of the friendly nature of staffs which makes it a BIG difference

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    77
    35
    10
    2
See reviews for
105
33
10
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had never stayed with Hilton Homewood brand.
Booked two-bedroom suite online, six weeks in advance.
Arrived with sedated dental surgery patient more than an hour after posted check-in time.
Room not available for her.
Dental patient wanders around lobby while I negotiate with desk. Shrugs.
Begging works, as does mention of call to Amex.
Go to unready suite with one functioning bathroom. Towels missing.
Arm falls off desk chair.
This is a very generic suites hotel, tucked in back of a shopping mall.
You may need your GPS to find it.
For two bedroom suite here, one night, $300 with tax.
A two bedroom suite at Staybridge nearby is $196.
You be the judge.

Room Tip: Beware the broken desk chair in suite 411.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel rooms are very well appointed and have everything you could ever want. Unit had a full sized refrigerator, stove, microwave and more than ample dishes for short or long stays. Room was very comfortable and despite being directly along the hwy 407 it was totally quiet and my room was on the 5th floor directly on the highway. Didn't have the opportunity to enjoy their evening "dinner" which was complimentary but the breakfast was very tasty and well presented. Workout room was sufficient for a short stay. Overall I woudl return and stay there on a future stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Homewood is another line in the fantastic Hilton line . Our stay here was very enjoyable. Supper and breakfast is included and both were very good . I liked the fact that once you arrive you dont have to leave to find resturants.Staff is very friendly and knowledgable of the area. If you are going to Toronto Zoo with a group, you could sleep 6 here with a 2 bedroom suite.We always stay at Hilton's and will continue

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

First, this hotel is not in Toronto, so don't be fooled by the name. This hotel is located quite a ways from Toronto. Have your car ready at all times because you're located in the heart of little Asia and there are quite a few businesses that advertise only in Chinese, especially most of the nearby restaurants.

After saying that, the hotel has a great location to the nearby major road system. You have an interstate system that can take you almost anywhere you want to go in less than 30 minutes.
The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful upon check-in.

I checked into my two-bedroom two-bath suite and notified the manager that my room had a strange smell and they immediately fixed the problem.

This hotel is one of the few that offers you a hot breakfast and a hot dinner included in the price.
The breakfast wasn't bad, but not great. It did the job, you have to remember that all of the other restaurants tend to offer a continental breakfast and this one actually had real meat canadian bacon along with waffles, eggs, etc.

We enjoyed the breakfast and the dinner was a surprise, they serve an actual dinner. During my three-night stay we enjoyed their offerings for dinner even the nights we ate out. They offer dinner and breakfast for a long period of time.

If shopping is your thing you might want to shop in Toronto and not the immediate area.

The pool was warm and it was cleaned every day while we were there.

The hotel configuration is very strange, it is a L-shaped with only two elevators (side-by-side) for the entire hotel. Of course the elevator is near the entrance and my suite was as far away from the elevators as possible. So if you get a family suite prepare for a walk.

The grounds are well kept and very nice with plenty of free parking.

The staff was always alert and willing to do whatever to make our stay pleasant.

Cheers
Maryland Vacation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent two nights in room 115, a handicapped accessible room at the far end of the hallway. Not only was it a hike to the lobby, but the staff workroom was right next door, and the door was the thinnest we've ever seen in a Homewood: we heard constant noise starting at 7AM. It's also right an off-ramp of the 407, so we heard a lot of truck noise constantly. I'd avoid rooms 113-115 at this property, as well as any of the rooms on the highway side of the building.

The staff were pleasant and friendly, and the place was well-maintained. As others have noted, the area is pretty barren other than a ton of Asian restaurants, but parking was plentiful.

Other nits: the door by room 115 ("Door B") had a card reader, but it didn't work throughout our stay, despite telling several staffers about it. It would "see" the card but flash red, even though the card worked in our room (and I did try several cards). One staffer tried his master card, which worked, but that didn't help us any. Fortunately (sort of) the door didn't latch easily, so when running stuff to the car, I was able to get back in. Of course, that's a security issue as well.

The diverter in the shower was broken; I told a staffer, who seemed interested in getting it fixed. I didn't realize it was broken until the second morning (didn't try to switch the water the first day), so they had no opportunity to fix it for us.

The TV was too small for the room, and too far from the bed, but given the abysmal non-digital cable service, it didn't matter, as we wouldn't have watched it anyway.

Breakfast was the usual Homewood overcooked, overheld, previously frozen eggs. They did have good thick-cut bread, but the muffins were gluey. There's a Tim Horton's nearby, however!

Overall, I can't give it high marks, but it wasn't that bad, other than the noise issues.

Room Tip: Avoid the south side and rooms 114 and 115!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YTOSOGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. We apologize for the malfunctioning of the key and the shower diverter and have reported these issues to the maintenance team. I do hope that the next time you are in Markham you will consider staying with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The great - very clean & friendly. Just minutes from Canada's Wonderland - this was really the perfect location. Free parking (nice & kind of rare in the area). The kitchen was really handy - the full size fridge, burners, utensils, plates - the kitchen was great, even for a short stay it was nice to have cold drinks in the evening without trying to find a vending machine. Bed was comfy. The 1 bedroom suite was actually a 1-bedroom suite; some suite hotels now offer a short dividing wall, but this Homewood Suited is done correctly.

The breakfast was a step up from usual. The food was really pretty good and there was some variety. They also have an evening dinner, but we weren't there to try it; but it is a very nice touch for business travelers or if traveling with families.

The only downside: the internet access (free!) would give a weird error after about 11 pm, saying 'too many guests were logged in'. Now, I know what the problem is (I'm a computer engineer), so I could tell them that they need to reset it OR I knew I had to wait until midnight when it reset. They need to get someone there to redo their service. If you stay there and run into this problem, call and ask them to reset the router or just wait until midnight.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YYZHWGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for the feedback on your stay, we are constantly trying to improve our product so that everyone has a great experience everytime. To date we are about two third's closer to rectifying the internet user issue. Thanks again for helping us to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham

Address: 50 Bodrington Crt, Markham, Ontario L6G 0A9, Canada (Formerly Homewood Suites Toronto-Markham)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Markham
#3 Family Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in town for a weekend stay or an extended stay, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham is the ideal all-suite hotel for you. Enjoy our spacious suites with a fully equipped kitchen, separate living area and bedroom. Take advantage of our complimentary breakfast served daily. For those in town for business utilize our business centre and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Despegar.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Toronto-Markham Hotel Markham
Homewood Suites Markham
Homewood Markham
Markham Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Toronto-Markham Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.